We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of Alila Manggis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alila Manggis
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Dempassar
1 review
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We had a really super three night stay here. Our suite was really perfect and had fantastic views over the sea. The food in particular the breakfast was quite excellent. Make sure to use the spa if you can. It was a real highlight. The therapists were outstanding and the treatments out of this world.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExtonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    327
    75
    17
    9
See reviews for
196
702
47
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights before leaving Bali. The hotel is in a great setting with really nice lawns and palm trees surrounding a huge pool. The rooms are all situated in blocks around the lawns, and all have either a balcony with built-in seat or a porch that opens onto the lawn.

Staff were excellent - even driving into town for some medication for me when needed. They were very attentive and friendly and not too pushy with the tours 'sell'. The tours seemed very good - but also very expensive for Bali.

Rooms are good and well furnished. The staff even offered to set up mosquito netting on the balcony so that my son could sleep out there - which he really enjoyed.

The pool is great and never busy, and the complimentary tea and sweets served on the lawn in the afternoon was also a nice touch. Badminton net and equipment also available if you feel energetic. The only downside is no beach.

The restaurant was pricy but very nice. We chose to explore nearby Candidasa using the free hotel shuttle. Candidasa small but has some good eating places and bars. Breakfast at the hotel was freshly cooked, and we sat down by the waters edge under the palms - a great setting for breakfast!

Would recommend.

Room Tip: Upstairs has nice balcony overlooking the pool, palms and sea, downstairs are open to the lawns &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voight-Kampf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We had a great time at the Alila We had 2 days there before going to Nusa Lembongan, Lovely Hotel set in a Coconut Palm Plantation, Really nice breakfast .had Dinner once at the Restaurant at the Hotel, very nice but small portians and expensive for Bali . Staff very friendly and efficient.It is in an isolated location Halfway between Padang bai and Candi Dasa but transport was not a problem. If we went to The east coast of bali Again would probably stay a bit closer to Candi Dasa

Room Tip: ground Floor rooms have a Lovely outlook over the grass to the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jwb_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We visited Alila Manggis for a wedding, extraordinary is the only word I can use to describe this place. The hotel itself is amazingly beautiful with fantastic facilities and the most incredible food! The staff were brilliant with impeccable service, nothing was too much trouble and they even remembered our names. The wedding went off without a hitch, the decorations were beautiful, the food delicious and the management and staff went above and beyond the call of duty to assist in any way they could. I have been recommending this place to anyone who will listen! Spoil yourself - stay at Alila Manggis - you deserve it!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sena1974_12, General Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Debbie,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review and delighted to learnt that you enjoyed your stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team, we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future

Warmest regards,
Sena & Alila Manggis's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turnhout, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

This hotel is a member of the Mr and Ms Smith guide.
After a long trip to Indonesia, it is a good place to rest with excellent service.
The hotel offers Deluxe rooms upstairs and Regular rooms on garden level, which is great when you travel with kids if they have a separate room.
The hotel offers many trips, like diving, hiking, fishing and cultural activities. Mountain bikes are free at your disposal. Even cooking classes are available. Impossible to get bored here.
We did a hiking trip, deep fishing, diving and cooking classes. All are guided with excellence and attention.
The restaurant is more than OK, where the executive chef Satika visits you now and then at your table. Also, he is the one who gives the cooking class, after a visit to the local market in Klungkung. When you go out on deep fishing, and you are lucky to come back with fish, he prepares it.
Overall, when you want to hide away in quitness and peace, east Bali is a good choice, stay at this hotel.
One remark, you have to pay only the rooms when you book. Just a policy of Alila hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beerse, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have recently stayed at the Alila Manggis in Bali .
We traveled as 3 families , 13 people in total : we can truly say it was a remarkable experience . Alila Manggis is a great place to stay , gorgeous location , the rooms are spacious and either location [ on the first floor you have a marvelous balcony , on the ground floor you can walk straight to the pool ] the rooms offer everything you may expect . Hygiene and cleanliness is key to the management of Alila and compared to European standards you may say that Alila Manggis is an extremely well maintained property . The Manager Sanjiva is always around and overlooking the premises .
The staff is very friendly and helpfull and will do everything to make you feel at home !
There are a lot of activities , so if you don't want to relax at the pool , anything from biking , cycling ,cooking classes , can be planned .
We also attended the cooking class , and chef Santika is really a great cook and a warm and entertaining person,who is always asking for feed back and is very much interested in the way guests appreciate his outstanding cooking .
Overall one may say that Alila Manggis is certainly worth visiting and the price / quality ratio , including the vast array of activities , is perfect .
Geert DZ- Belgium
Thank you CHEF SANTIKA ! for the introduction in Balinese cooking

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The hotel staff told me this was our 7th visit to the Alila. Says it all, really.

For once the website pictures are an accurate reflection of this beautiful hotel. In fact, the pictures can't convey the sense of peace and well-being this hotel delivers to guests.

Rooms and suites are well thought out (without being over the top) and comfortable but cannot be described as luxurious. If you can, get a deluxe room - the day beds are worth every extra cent! To lie outside, looking over the beautiful lawns and pool, listening to the breeze rustling through the coconut fronds is one of life's small treasures.

I can't speak highly enough of the staff. Professional but always friendly they are genuinely interested in your comfort. Front desk (including the lovely Dewi) are a happy and helpful crew. Restaurant staff know their business and everything tastes better because of the beautiful smiles that accompany every dish. Housekeeping cannot be faulted and the cleanliness of the rooms is excellent.

The large open air restaurant offers good food in a beautiful setting. It features many East Bali dishes (the megibung platter is a must if you get the chance) but all the dishes we sampled were thoughtful and well presented. You can eat more cheaply in Candi Dasa but, given the setting, never so well.

The grounds give the hotel a wonderful feel. Vast expanses of carefully tended lawns and barricades of flowering shrubs frame the large square swimming pool which is surrounded by numerous sun beds and large umbrellas. The pool staff move the beds anywhere you like, provide freshly laundered large towels & bring iced water - all with a smile and a happy greeting.

A free afternoon tea is provided daily, featuring Balinese cakes and confections. Watching the ocean whilst seated under a coconut palm with a mug of "Bali Kopi" was a real pleasure.

My wife tells me the Spa delivered a 1st rate treatment.

To be truthful Allila Manggis is the reason we keep returning to Bali. It's restful, beautiful, small (54? rooms/suites) and utterly delightful. Go now.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe room - they have a day bed that will make your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank robbwill_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.0 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
785 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
574 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
Alila Ubud
Alila Ubud
#4 of 9 in Payangan
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Manggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Manggis

Property: Alila Manggis
Address: Buitan, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alila Manggis 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Hospitalities includes Complimentary Yoga, Tai Chi, and Afternoon teaAlila Experience includes Cultural learning, Conscious Living, Couple Celebration, Active Spirits, Culinary Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Alila Manggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Manggis Hotel Manggis
Alila Hotel Manggis
Alila Resort Manggis
Alila Manggis Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing