We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing staff, lovely grounds”
Review of Alila Manggis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alila Manggis
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing staff, lovely grounds”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Alila Manggis probably has the best staff at any hotel I've stayed at. Everyone was friendly, helpful and GENUINE. We had a small issue with our room, and Dewi and others went above and beyond. The staff made our visit here.

We were upgraded to the suite for a day, then moved upstairs so we stayed in every room type. The rooms are adequate but not luxurious. (It was a tough transition for us, as we came from a giant villa at Alila Ubud). Storage for two people with large suitcases was not the best but we managed. As others noted, there is ONE electric outlet, which is a bit tough in these days of several devices.

The rooms upstairs (deluxe) has a lovely balcony with a daybed that was a great place to relax and read a book, or take a nap. The lower floor (superior) was very convenient to the pool.

The suite was the size of two rooms, with a large bathroom as well as living and dining area, plus a wrap around balcony with two of the heavenly daybeds.

The food was quite good, and the special dinner with satay was worth it. I quite enjoyed the corn fritters with chili sauce were my favorite lunchtime snack. We saw some other guests taking a cooking class with the chef that looked quite fun.

The pool is probably the highlight. It's a large square pool in the center of the property, with plenty of comfortable, roomy chairs at all times. A staff member tended to your every need. Depending on the time of day, there could be a fair number of kids at the pool, so it would get pretty loud. There's a nice pagoda as well to enjoy the views of the ocean. The beach is quite rocky so it's okay for a walk but not really for sunbathing. We did see a pair of cows wander on to the beach one evening! If you want a beach experience, you should head to "White Sandy Beach."

The hotel also had daily activities you could arrange, and a free yoga and tai chi class. Our guides on the trek through rice paddies and the jungle were great. The town was just a 10 or 15 minute ride away.

We also enjoyed the spa on the property. The balinese massage outside with the waves crashing was heavenly and quite a bargain.

Room Tip: For standard rooms, pay a bit more and choose the deluxe option. This is on the second floor and has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenbirdistheword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    725
    334
    77
    17
    9
See reviews for
202
707
48
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We came to Alila Manggis for our honeymoon and, quite honestly, we couldn't have imagined a better place in the world to have chosen!! We were welcomed with champagne and flower petals scattered over our bed, and, as if that weren't enough, our room looked over the ocean AND the swimming pool, just steps away!! One of the most amazing things about Alila Manggis was without question the staff who worked there. They were incredibly attentive, kind and welcoming, they remembered our names and room number off the top of their heads and were always ready to help us with anything from organising custom-made bicycle trips to bringing water to our room at the slightest request. Most of all, one had the feeling that they loved their job, and that they genuinely enjoyed talking to us and helping us get the absolute most out of our holiday. In fact it's one of the things we remember most - they were always smiling! :)

Another aspect of Alila that we just loved was its sustainability and eco-friendliness. It wasn't too much, but then it's the little things you really notice: homemade delicious-smelling bath and shower products refilled in gorgeous ceramic pots to save plastic waste; divinely fresh food produce in the restaurant; organic & natural products in the spa that made you feel like you were being covered in flowers! The Balinese massage was to die for - a lovely experience as a couple, or by yourself, listening to the pounding of the sea on the shore.

And, speaking of food - we can't praise the chef enough!! He came around our tables every evening to check how we liked our food, and even organised a private romantic dinner for us by the beach with what is quite possibly the best menu we've ever had! We couldn't get enough of the fresh seafood, vegetables and homemade ice cream - the white chocolate and cardamom was divine!

Last of all were the experiences. We made several trips - snorkelling, biking to the nearby Bat Cave Temple, and climbing Mount Batur to see the sun rise. The last was absolutely magical - being on top of a volcano and watching the sun rise over the clouds and sea is something we'll never forget, and it was a wonderful way to say goodbye to Bali. The hotel organised everything flawlessly and, quite simply, made the trip of our lifetime possible. We couldn't recommend Alila Manggis more highly, and can't wait to visit some of the other Alila resorts around the world!! Thank you so much for a wonderful stay!!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor are amazing as you can walk right out of your floor-to-ceiling window to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sena1974_12, General Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Hi Emily H,

Thank you so much for the positive review and delighted to learnt that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Alila Manggis.

I am excited to share this with the entire team especially those whom have extended the genuine care and make you feel home here with us. I know our team will be equally happy to read your positive review.

Once again thank you for enjoying Alila Manggis and East Bali, and please do not hesitate to contact me personally should I can be helps with your future Alila stay experience or perhaps returning back home at Manggis.

Warmest regards,
Sena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Good bits:
- Excellent staff, made us feel welcome and at ease. Attentive but not too in-your-face.
- Great activity options - snorkelling close by, day trip to Mount Batur exceptional.
- Restaurant lovely and authentic.
- Cookery class fabulous.
- Rooms clean and have what you need
- Great massages by the sea. Try the ice treatment for something different!
- Cute little area tucked away by the sea to practice yoga
- Comfortable, relaxed atmosphere.

Less good:
- Rooms a little on the basic side. We booked the deluxe rooms (upper floor with balcony) and it still didn't feel luxurious at all - though perfectly fine.
- As other reviews mention, there are industrial boats out at sea within view of the hotel. Don't let this stop you coming to the hotel though - they stop the views taking your breath away but no more than that.

Room Tip: Go deluxe - nice balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EfuaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for two nights at the end of our trip, and found it to be a comfortable and comvenient place to stay. Though this is a large hotel, we found it managed to keep an intimate feel. Breakfast was very good. We did not test the restaurant as we had a car and prefered exploring the street food options in the area. Pool is also delightful, and the afternoon tea a real plus. Staff is kind, helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I were first here 5 years ago (by chance), and got sold on the Alila lifestyle. We decided to return to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The experience only got better! The staff is exceedingly well trained and fluent in English (a real plus when holidaying in the region), all of whom took some time out to interact with us, asking us how our day has been, or sharing their own stories. This included the assistants and General Manager - how many can boast that they were sent off by the entire resort management at the close of their vacation? But I'm being slightly too quick. One cannot neglect mentioning the care Chef Santika and his staff take in preparing their extensive and colourful and supremely delicious breakfast and dinner menus. During the five days we were there, we noticed that the good chef, just like the resort managers, frequently interacted with his guests to find out what they liked or what could be improved. Don't get me wrong, there wasn't a whole lot of intense interaction - they knew discretely when a guest wanted attention and when he wanted to be left alone. The place felt more like a home than a mere hotel. This is small luxury hotelling at its pleasurable best. We'll be back for a third and fourth visit and more.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolyrager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is our 6th year visiting Bali and stayed with different resorts and hotel. Alila manggis is truly exceptional! We regret staying for only 2 days. It is about 1.5 hour from the airport but that only means you get to see and experience that true Balinese culture. The resort has a beach access but during the time we were there the tide was high but you don't really miss it as they have a stunning pool.

Food is top of the line. We loved their Balinese food it was authentic! Chef santika has made one really good menu! Their complimentary afternoon tea is great, they served local tea and coffee with local cakes!

The staff exceeded our expectations. Their spa is heaven and a must try! Ratna fixed my sprained ankle. We had their Balinese massage and facial.

Pak dewa made sure we enjoyed our stay. The resort is a place to relax, it has all the elements to make one truly amazing experience .

Room Tip: Get a private car for tangenan, the resort offers complimentary shuttle and will pick you up after 2...
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Krylov1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this resort. The weather was perfect which always makes a difference but the beautiful large pool and the lawns leading down to the water made for a great setting. However there is no beach in Candidasa so nowhere to go for a walk and the town is ten minutes by car. But the hotel provides an occasional shuttle so getting there - the town - is not a problem and local restaurants run a free pick-up and delivery service.
The staff were very accommodating which was good because we had a couple of small issues. The electrical plugs in the first room we were offered on arrival had faults and we were subsequently moved. The Balinese cooking course was good but we mistook the price and although an adjustment was made this would have made an expensive exercise had we paid the full price. So where there was something not quite right the staff were quick to rectify the problem.
We follow other reviewers to confirm that the food was generally good but portions small. The service always with a beautiful Balinese smile!
If you stay at this resort don't forget to visit the Spa - a truly invigorating experience. See specific review.
I would definitely stay at Alila Manggis again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.0 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
800 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
587 reviews
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
489 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
Alila Ubud
Alila Ubud
#4 of 10 in Payangan
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Manggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Manggis

Property: Alila Manggis
Address: Buitan, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alila Manggis 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Hospitalities includes Complimentary Yoga, Tai Chi, and Afternoon teaAlila Experience includes Cultural learning, Conscious Living, Couple Celebration, Active Spirits, Culinary Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Alila Manggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Manggis Hotel Manggis
Alila Hotel Manggis
Alila Resort Manggis
Alila Manggis Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing