We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back”
Review of Alila Manggis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alila Manggis
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We will be back”
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This was our second stay, the last was in 2003. We had forgotten what a great place this is.
From the personal greetings by Dewa and his amazing team to chef Santika and his superb menu and desire to ensure that everyone is catered for. We had just had a less than mediocre food experience at another hotel so upon arrival at Alila we were thrilled to see a menu that included fantastic local dishes as well as fusion and some staple western dishes (but done with style). We soon learnt that a lot of the ingredients are organic and locally produced. The breakfast menu is exceptional and there are daily specials. We tried as many different dishes as possible without a disappointment.
We encourage Alila to produce a cook book, Chef Santika has a lot to offer!
This Kerry Hill designed resort has not dated and looks fresh if not better after sixteen years. It is a good size and does not feel crowded even when at capacity. The large central pool is pleasant with attentive service and it is also worth grabbing a sun lounge over by the beach and taking a dip there don't be afraid of small amounts of seaweed.
Alila also has an interesting environmental program including an initiative to encourage recycling education and waste collection in the local community. It would be good to see more information about progress and achievements of this program posted regularly on the Alila website.
This hotel is excellent value and worth a long weekend mini break return soon.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelbourneRichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sena1974_12, General Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Good Morning MelbourneRichie,

Delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay experience with us at Alila Manggis and truly appreciate your positive review.

We are thrill to have the opportunity of welcoming you back and will share this feedback with our brilliant team as well as Dewa and Chef Santika.

Wishing you a happy and prosperous new year

Warmest regards,
Sena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    717
    327
    75
    17
    9
See reviews for
196
702
47
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Alila Manggis is a fabulous resort. I am a foodie and this place hits all the right notes. The chef here is fantastic and the food was superb from the sticky pork spare ribs in Balinese spices to the chocolate ravioli. The rooms are lovely (we were in 205 which had a fabulous view of the sea) and have everything you need. The pool is a big square pool - big enough to avoid other guests. It is also a small resort so it never feels crowded. The other thing that sets this place apart is the service - it was our wedding anniversary and we were treated to some very special surprises (thank you!). The spa is also fab - we had treatments in the bale by the water - heaven.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarahxxxAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Writing my review while overlooking the Alila's well kept grounds and after a spa treatment. So I am very relaxed. The staff, the room,(we are in a unexpectedly large room 222), the pool are quiet lovely. The food is spectacular, and I love how the dining area overlooks the water. We are looking forward to taking the cooking class tomorrow. They offer a multitude of treks, all kinds and classes. As stated in their literature there is no beach. It is beach of large black rocks, that disappears at high tide. But this was not a drawback to me, as the sound of the water and watching the locals cast out their fishing nets ( at 6: 30 AM) was really perfect. Really enjoying my stay.Oh and there is no fitness center....I did not mean to rate it.

Room Tip: Corner suite is large and sunny,with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1103travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We last visited Alila twelve years ago when it was The Serai. It was great then and still is. We stayed in an upstairs Deluxe room so we could relax on the balcony overlooking the pool, ocean and restaurant. The included breakfast was excellent, with a choice of daily set menu with some subtle Balinese/Indonesian touches, or select from the a la carte menu. The management and staff were friendly and helpful. We did not take advantage of the activities available, other than the complimentary mountain bike service which came in handy to work off a few of the hard to avoid calories. Also used the shuttle service to Candi Dasa for a quick look around but spent the majority of our time at the hotel as that was the type of holiday we were after, and it was too nice not to. We'll be back.
Restaurant Tip: The Sea Salt restaurant at the Alila is excellent, as is the Bali Asli near Amplapura.

Room Tip: We prefer the upper level rooms have a nice private balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hejomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We loved the Alila and would return in a heartbeat.The programmes offered can be as energetic or relaxing as you wish. We chose to go fishing then an afternoon cooking class for our catch. Luckily someone in the kitchen was more skilled at fishing than us....we managed to not even get a nibble in 3 hours. The trip was wonderful and we got to see a little of the coastline.
The food was the best and wouldnt even bother going to Candidasa nothing could be better than on offer at the Alila. The Bali breakfast is a wonderful start to the day....there is always something different each morning. Yum!!!
The rooms are smallish but lovely and the outdoor area is really your sitting room.
Make a point of speaking to the new manager...a Balinese chap and an absolute inspiration.
The staff are wonderful and so happy and helpful.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor and just had to walk a few steps to fall into the pool....bliss!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pta54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I loved the Alila. I typically hate "resorts"- huge, sprawling complexes that obstruct beautiful coastlines and mar otherwise undisturbed landscape. But the Alila is a well-done, exquisite boutique resort. With only 50 or so rooms it is far from sprawling and the rooms are situated in tasteful 2-level structures. After spending the rest of our Bali vacation at off-the-beaten-path nature retreats, the Alila was exactly what we needed. While the location isn't ideal for sightseeing, if you are looking for plush luxury, pampering, and a designer feel, this is your retreat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The C and the O P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

An understated elegance and peacefulness prevails throughout this lovely property, enticing you to just stay put and not venture further afield. And that we did! The caring staff and management, cleanliness, overall attention to detail, quality of food and spa products, comfortable beds, sumptuous linens, view and overall ambience contributed to a magical stay! We cannot wait to return and highly recommend Alila Manggis!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Contessa-travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sena1974_12, General Manager at Alila Manggis, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Contessa-Travels,

Good afternoon from Sunny East Bali, Alila Manggis
Delighted to learn that you are now home, safe and well.

Thank you for your positive review and importantly that you enjoyed your stay with us at Alila Manggis. We are thrill to have shared the peacefulness as well as the overall charm that Alila Manggis has to offer.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back in the very near future

Warmest regards,
Sena
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.0 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 20 in Candidasa
782 reviews
2.9 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 20 in Candidasa
574 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.6 mi away
Fairmont Sanur Beach Bali
1.4 mi away
Rama Candidasa Resort & Spa
20.5 mi away
Alila Ubud
Alila Ubud
#4 of 9 in Payangan
1,893 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Manggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Manggis

Property: Alila Manggis
Address: Buitan, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alila Manggis 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Hospitalities includes Complimentary Yoga, Tai Chi, and Afternoon teaAlila Experience includes Cultural learning, Conscious Living, Couple Celebration, Active Spirits, Culinary Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Alila Manggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Manggis Hotel Manggis
Alila Hotel Manggis
Alila Resort Manggis
Alila Manggis Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing