We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxed, friendly and enjoyable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alila Manggis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alila Manggis
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Certificate of Excellence
Northants, UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxed, friendly and enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Stayed here for 5 nights on our first visit to Bali and it proved to be a great choice. The hotel is quietly located about 10 mins from Candi Dasa and seems a long way from the more commercialised south west of the island.
The Alila Manggis is quite modest in size (which we like) and consequently service remains highly personalised as well as friendly. We were greeted with a cold towel and drink after the transfer for the airport (about 1.5 hrs). Out room (we went for the deluxe) was perfect, secluded but looking out to the pool and the sea beyond. A large bed, couch, walk in shower (no bath), large balcony with table chairs and lounger to contemplate the sunset. There's no beach here but we knew that beforehand and the pool area is fine. No problem finding loungers, with clean towels and chilled water. Poolside drinks and food are promptly available. Free tea and cakes are available poolside between 1500 and 1700.
Our deal included breakfast and this was a real treat in the Salt restaurant with views to die for. The menu choice was really good with specials (local and international) changing daily as well as an extensive a la carte choice of Indonesian and international items all freshly prepared. The fruit, juices, smoothies, eggs (with bacon if you want) etc. was freshly prepared, delicious and beautifully presented.
Candi Dasa has a limited (but growing) number of eating places which meant we ate dinner in the Salt restaurant most nights. This is no hardship! The hotel has a fine reputation for its food (even running cooking courses) and it lived up to it in every way. Not the cheapest place in town but no doubt excellent value for the quality provided from but nightly specials and regular a la carte items. WIne is fairly pricey but no more so than any decent restaurant in this part if the world. We could not fault the food in any way.
There were some renovations taking place in one of the accommodation blocks but great efforts were made to shield guests from any disruption and noise was minimal. This work is due to finish in mid December. The spa (relocated due to the above work) continued to provide a good service and we found the massage and cosmetic treatments professional and also good value.
Also worth noting is the excellent and reasonable value tour programme run from the hotel using private cars with driver. This is comprehensive and flexible and we visited several sights (Tenganan, Ujung, Tirtagangga, Lake Batur etc) with our very knowledgeable and professional driver 'Budi')
All in all we loved this place and would love to return. Thanks to everyone for a great time.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are on first floor with balcony overlooking pool and upgraded shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YTF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    309
    72
    16
    9
See reviews for
177
663
40
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Axbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The staff at the Alila are its biggest asset, smile’s all day long. The location is lovely although if you’re after a good beach this won’t be the location for you. However the sea is very close and the sound of the waves crashing makes up for the poor beach. The rooms are good but not outstanding but the restaurant is very good we stayed 12 nights and on nearly all of those had very good food, breakfast is a particular highlight. Most trips and activities are overpriced but the one exception is the “Organic Garden Cooking School” with Chef Santika, this is an amazing experience in a wonderful location about 4 miles from the hotel. Chef and the staff are fantastic and are delighted to share their knowledge, this is a must do activity! The hotel spa is very good and as you would expect from a good standard hotel, however the spa across from the main entrance to the hotel called “Andre” offers great value if not quite the same level of refinement. This is the same location as an excellent Taxi driver called Sudi who will be able to transport you on day trips to any location, he was a real find and could not have been nicer sharing his knowledge of Bali and its culture with us.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0003AJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Alila for two nights. If you plan to stay here, do so for more than two nights and book any activities in advance. Almost everything requires 24 hour notice including cooking classes, cruise, fishing trip, etc. My husband and I were able to take advantage of snorkeling and the spa. The spa special is excellent! Our room was on the lower level. If we return, I recommend booking a room on the upper floor. The food was okay and prices moderate. Overall, the spa, pool and view were enjoyable. In hindsight, we would have skipped this resort to spend more time in Gili Trawangan.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UptownGirlMpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

My daughter and stayed for a week after looking through hotel on a previous visit to Bali. The staff are fabulous, attentive but not intrusive. The complimentary breakfast is a la carte which is a pleasant change and the selection is varied and parts of menu change daily, simply yummy. The hotel offers many activities some complimentary but others are quite pricey. I would recommend a trip into candi dasa to find someone to take you to the same places for nearly half the cost. If you don't want to eat at the hotel then you need to get transport into candi dasa. There are some reasonable restaurants which aremuch cheaper.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jamcreek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

The hotel is about 2 hours drive from the airport. I would recommend this hotel for people who have been to Bali before, and just want a relaxing vacation of doing nothing. It's not ideal for sightseeing, but the place itself is a sight.

Food is fantastic, especially the breakfast, so make sure that's included. The Spa is amazing, although not cheap by Bali standards.

They have a limited number of umbrellas at the pool make sure you get out early otherwise you'll be moving chairs around the lawns.

The only slight annoyance was our key to our room through the outside patio kept getting stuck, so spent a couple times trying to find help to open our door.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

From the moment we arrived to a warm welcome with big smiles to the staff waving goodbye on departure we had an outstanding stay at this very comfortable hotel. The staff's use of guest names during the stay made it all so personal and pleasant. Rooms were very comfortable with especially the deluxe room having great views from an even greater balcony which has an over-sized sofa on it where 2 people can comfortably read or just relax. The option to enjoy a meal right on the ocean's edge is fabulous. The complimentary afternoon tea is a real treat as they don't just serve any tea! The breakfast served is awesome and the lunch/dinner menu very reasonable. 1 or 2 handrails at the pool would be a great investment for the more 'mature' guests and I'd suggest bathmats in the showers as it can get slippery. Overall had a truly great experience! A+ to the management and staff... Well done!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHanzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom cheshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

We didn't stay at the hotel but visited for a meal. It is a beautiful setting and the meal was superb as you would expect from the cost but this was one of our 'splashing out' meals whilst on our holidays. The hotel looked amazing and we would consider staying if we return. The hotel offers a free pick up and drop off service from any where in Candidassa

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kascrofton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
1.0 mi away
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
Candi Beach Resort & Spa
#3 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
2.3 mi away
Puri Bagus Candidasa
Puri Bagus Candidasa
#1 of 19 in Candidasa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
17.7 mi away
The Kayon Resort
The Kayon Resort
#2 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Viceroy Bali
Viceroy Bali
#3 of 192 in Ubud
5.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
2.6 mi away
Bloo Lagoon Village
Bloo Lagoon Village
#2 of 4 in Padangbai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
20.5 mi away
Alila Ubud
Alila Ubud
#3 of 8 in Payangan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alila Manggis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alila Manggis

Property: Alila Manggis
Address: Buitan, Manggis 80871, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Manggis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alila Manggis 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alila Hospitalities includes Complimentary Yoga, Tai Chi, and Afternoon teaAlila Experience includes Cultural learning, Conscious Living, Couple Celebration, Active Spirits, Culinary Journey ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Alila Manggis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alila Manggis Hotel Manggis
Alila Hotel Manggis
Alila Resort Manggis
Alila Manggis Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing