We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I wish there was something inbetween average and very good! ”
Review of Lemon House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lemon House
Ranked #4 of 12 Manggis B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 20, 2014 via mobile

I think to say it is 'average' is a bit harsh but 'very good' is overdoing it. We stayed here for two nights and I think because we had read all the excellent reviews we were maybe expecting more and so were a little disappointed.

We had a double room with shared bathroom, the room was big with a very large bed but it dipped in the middle and also the bed sheet didn't tuck in on the sides so it would come off at night. We didn't really have much of a window just a thin one at the top of the wall. There were two fans in the room, one on the ceiling and a floor fan but we were still incredibly sticky in the night! The bedside lights were really dusty too and you couldn't turn them on because the extension plug didn't work. The shared bathroom was fine but sometimes a little bit smelly.

The staff were really friendly and helpful and made a simple but nice breakfast in the mornings. They weren't really around much though and when we got there our name was stuck to the door with the key in the lock.

The view from Lemon House is fantastic as you can see over the whole bay but you do have to climb the monster steps to get to it. They're not horrendous but they do make you sweat everytime! The white sand beach is quite close and we didn't have any trouble finding the Lemon House either as the signs are clear and everyone local seems to know where it is. The telly in the communal area also has hundreds of films to choose from if you can't find much to do.

Overall, our stay at Lemon was fine. I think we just went in expecting too much from the rave reviews. We also struggled to find anything to do in Padangbai but go to the two beaches that it has. I think it seems to be a place to stay before you go to the Gilis.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank ERayLeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 58 of 130 reviews

Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Lemon house for 6 days ( we stayed both at the private room and the dorms) and we could not have wished for more!!
Friendly and nice staff who are very helpful, the rooms were great and the location spot on! ( very close to our favourite white sand beach).
We felt that we were living in a house with lovely people rather than a hostel! Also after reading the reviews I was prepared to face some difficulty in finding the place but actually it was clearly signed and the directions they sent us were of use too.
Just be ready for some bum exercise as the Lemon house is only reachable by a long set of steps! We appreciated it :)
Could not recommend lemon house or padang bai enough! We had planned to go to Gilli but changed our mind while we were there!!
Thank you Katut and the rest of the team!!!
Dora & Eirini

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Theodora D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

stayed one night only in private room with ocean view. room big,clean,with nice view,though the sea is abit far away,still can view it. location is a bit hard to get there,but once you know it,then no problem at all. staffs are helpful,breakfast simple but enough. Be noted that a temple very close to this homestay,you may hear praying in the morning(by speaker),but this is ok for me,so no problem!office hour till 6pm only,so if you want to late check in,must contact Lemon first! i love Lemon juice and no doubt will love Lemon house too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lai S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for one night after a long trip for the UK and wished we had more time there.
The double private room was a great size, extremely clean and had a great view of the local village and sunrise. We only met the owners in passing as they only pop by briefly but we found this rather heart warming as the trust and safety was unquestionable. It was full of fellow travellers who were also friendly and welcoming.
I appreciate this is a difficult place to find but the locals know exactly where it is and were willing to help us along the way. We really felt the sense of culture and tradition here because of the location which was perfect for us.
Breakfast was simple but lovely, fruit salad then eggs on toast. The coffee is also very nice!
From what we could gather from other traveller there wasn't much to do in the immediate area although there was some nice restaurants on the front which is no more an a 5 minute walk down the road.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back may be a little quieter as the locals can be noisy but you would be sacrifici...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it! The views over Padangbai are lovely, the staff are very friendly and helpful and make a great breakfast (included in the price). We had a large room with A/C, with a huge wet room bathroom. There are a LOT of steps up to Lemon House; this isn't a place for anyone with mobility problems. The route to the hotel is along a narrow lane which is quite dark at night so taking a torch is advisable. The one downside to the front seaview rooms is the noise from the ferry port throughout the night, which travels up the hillside and amplifies. There is also a Hindu temple nearby which plays a very loud song three times a day - at 6am this is quite a wake-up call, along with the sound of cockerels in chorus. Lemon House is highly recommended by us!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Ddraig_fawr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Would love to have stayed here (as we read the good reviews on trip advisor before arriving in Padangbai) but I couldn't the place! Left my partner on the main strip at a cafe with a beer and our luggage and went off in search of the lemon house in what seemed like thousand degree heat. I found one sign with an arrow (so I must have been on the right track!) but then there were stairs in all directions and no more arrows or signs. At this stage 'the lemon house' was put in the too hard basket for me and I checked us in to a tidy little guest house close to the sea for Rp 100,000 a night instead. Would still love to visit one day but please put up better signs to help exhausted travellers find you! :-)

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

i stayed here just for a night before we depart to Gili Trawangan. We arrive at 3 am, and Bli Ketut has waiting us in front of the main street. The staff are really friendly and soooo kind. They provide us free wifi and delicious breakfast. I enjoy my breakfast at terrace and you can see Padangbai Harbour from there.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miss_nidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manggis
0.3 mi away
Celagi Inn
Celagi Inn
#3 of 12 in Manggis
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Topi Inn
Topi Inn
#5 of 12 in Manggis
133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Guest House
Harmony Guest House
#3 of 10 in Padangbai
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bamboo Paradise Homestay
Bamboo Paradise Homestay
#1 of 10 in Padangbai
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zen Inn
Zen Inn
#2 of 10 in Padangbai
176 reviews
0.4 mi away
Padang Bai Beach Resort
Padang Bai Beach Resort
#3 of 4 in Padangbai
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lemon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lemon House

Address: Gang Melanting 5 | Jalan Pelabuhan, Manggis 89321, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Manggis
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Manggis
Price Range: $15 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fresh, new, clean home stay based in the beautiful fishing village of Padang Bai, Bali - the gateway to the Gilis. Rooms available to fit your needs and budget, with newly refurbished natural stone bathrooms, panoramic balcony view, and lounge area with free movies. All rooms come with ceiling fan, power sockets, hot & cold water, free WIFI, free breakfast, and free book exchange. We have two private rooms with king size beds, en suite wet rooms, direct balcony access, and air conditioning... one private double fan room with shared wet room... and a dorm room sleeping up to 4 with shared wet room, lockable storage & fan. Please note, the view comes at a cost of 70 steps. We think it's worth it - but then, we do it every day. :) Our staff will be happy to help with your bags - just ask. Fast boat tickets, laundry service, cold drinks and snacks available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Lemon House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lemon House Manggis, Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing