We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
20 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Legian, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
johnnE488...
Albion Park Rail, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed January 29, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

The pictures look amazing on trip advisor but the property was in fact not overly clean. One of the bathrooms (upstairs) could not be used due to the horrendous smell in there. The door needed to be shut the whole time we were there and the person in that room had to share the bathroom with the other room upstairs... one of the 2 rooms (semi detached) to the main dwelling also had a bad smell in it.. the kitchen was very small and we had tiny ants the whole time we were there (even though we washed down the benches everytime they were used) When we did our final sweep (to make sure we hadn't left anything) before we left, we found old cotton buds under one of the beds and rubbish under another. The breakfast included was ok but one of the ladies is very pushy when it comes to getting extras. One day she provided a small fruit platter (that we didn't ask for) and we had to pay her 50k ($5) for it. And on another day, some of us decided to get extra (on the continental) breakfast. 5 people had mushrooms and 2 people had baked beans (they charged us per person) we payed an extra 140k ($14) for a small side of mushrooms and half a tin of baked beans. Very expensive. The lounge provided is extremely uncomfortable and I mean extremely! I wouldn't recommend this property to friends or family..

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 30, 2017
Hi John, thank you for your feedback and we do acknowledge one of the bathrooms had a bad smell but the Villa Manager did fix it straight away. This can happen all over in Bali in wet season in villas and hotels and is very common and something we take care of immediately. We did not know about the ants as they were not present when our cleaners came daily and also they clean under beds and furniture daily but we will bring this to their attention and make sure they are following procedures. The breakfast is complimentary and not charged extra. Since introducing it we have not increased the rate for the villa so that the price is affordable for everyone. The cooks do provide extras in case the basic American breakfast is not enough for some people. We will talk to the chef so he can discuss your concerns with his staff. No previous guests have complained about the lounge so we are not sure why you think it is uncomfortable. Previous guests have enjoyed this villa, the size, location and inclusions and especially the price affordability.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jem752016
Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location Average Villa”
Reviewed November 15, 2016 for a stay in December 2015
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this villa for 9 nights over the Christmas new year period. The villa is very nice but the power did trip out on a number of occasions the sewage smell coming from the upstairs bathrooms was quite bad as was the moth ball smell used to mask it. For our arrival we had asked for a carton of bintang and a carton of cider to be chilled in the fridge. The cider and beer was in the fridge but it was not cold as they had not turned the fridge on and as it was very late we did not want to go out to get cold ones. This Villa definitely needs improvements to the management and the overall cleanliness. The breakfast was awesome once we got them organised and they turned up at the right time. There are quite a few issues with security as the doors do not shut properly and they seemed to be coming and going a lot, different people would turn up at random times as they were working on two new rooms. We did put a stop to this after a couple of days but no one asked us if it was ok before we arrived which was disappointing. The two new rooms added would be ok if you had adult children but not for smaller children as they are totally separate from the main house and you need to walk over a bridge which is over the pool to get to them. We did not feel that the pool would be big enough for five bedrooms as it is only small and is really only for about six people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Cleanliness
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2016
Hi Josaphine, thank you for your feedback and as your stay was nearly one year ago a lot of staff improvements have happened since then.

The pool is a great size for a 5 bedroom villa and all of our other guests have loved this, many private villa pools are only 4 x 4 metres. Pondok DEWI pool is 6 x 3.5 mtrs.

The price for this villa is fantastic compared to all other villas in such a great location with 5 bedrooms as well as breakfast included daily.

:)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
traceydaw...
Albany, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed August 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Totally recommend Villa Pondok Dewi ! Clean , great swimming pool , fantastic staff , great location .

Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2016
Thank you for your review and so glad you had a great time at Pondok DEWI, was wonderful having you stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candymum
western australia
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“SPOILT HOLIDAY BLAME EVERYONE ELSE SO VERY DISAPPOINTED!!!!”
Reviewed August 17, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a 3 bedroom house with another to 2 bedrooms not accessible through the main house totally
separate you have to walk over a bridge across the pool would have been great is the advertised this in their listing!!!!!!!!

No porta cot
No pram
No highchair brought highchair after asking
Kettle broken never replaced
Power gone out seven times
Gas leak rang villa manager
Fridge broken this was replaced on day 2 rang villa manager
Mobile charger broken rang villa manager
3 blown lights
Beer hot not cold after paying for a carton of cold bintang
Doors don't shut properly
Awful noise upstairs bedroom thumping from water tank spent 6 hours working one day fixed for 1 day I continued to complain as 1 bedroom could not be slept in they offered to move the tank on the 2nd last day by this time we had had enough did not want our last day with people on the roof climbing on ladders over the pool!!!
Power point falling out of wall rang villa manager
Gate lock broken fixed another phone call
Broken door handle fixed another phone call
Broken door lock fixed another phone call
Tv remote no batteries
Tiles outside so very dangerous when raining extremely slippery my son slipped on day 2 hurt his back fainted and had a seizure and had to go in ambulance to hospital. $400.00 dollars later and 2 days in bed . NO CALL TO SEE HOW MY SON WAS !!!!!!!!!!!!!
Terrible shower pressure and constant temperature change only one shower out of 5 was able to be used
Toilet wouldn't flush fixed another phone call
Blocked sink twice 2 more phone calls
Picture fell off wall in middle of night hit baby cot (they said we must have knocked it in the middle of the night)
Pool overflowed another phone call
No lid on filter box of pool another phone call
Dirty baths scum all around bath
Bridge rail very wobbly not secure
Broken tile on step sharp and dangerous

I Did contact the Bali Haven villas and before writing this review
and their response was to blame everyone else, us ,bali environment.
WE RANG THE VILLA MANAGER 39 TIMES AND HIS BOSS 15 I have stayed in rentals and hotels all over the world and never written a review like this ,we lost days of our holiday
money on hospital and ambulance . THERE RESPONSE SORRY BUT WE ARE NOT IN ANYWAY ACCOUNTABLE HOPE YOU SON IS OK . Yes they did come and fix things but it was our time ringing them waiting .

So very disappointed in the attitude if I hear one more sorry I will scream YOU WOULD NOT NEED TO SAY SORRY IF YOU MAINTAINED YOUR PROPERTY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Poor villa maintenance
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 18, 2016
For any guests or future guests, can I please ask you do not take any notice of this review and look at previous reviews for this villa and our other villas to get realistic and accurate details of our villas.

We will be asking Flipkey / Trip Advisor to review this matter urgently and to remove this untrue and detrimental review and in 11 years we have never had to do this with any of our villa reviews.

Our Balinese staff are distraught and have never been spoken to or treated like this before.

We don't want to respond to every comment above but would like to say that their son did slip over during their stay during very heavy rain and we did everything possible to help including staying with him until the ambulance arrived and checking up on him on his return back to the villa the next day.

Terima kasih - Rio - Office Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCRL21
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed August 6, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stayed here in April after being moved from a lower class property, 5 women over 40, what we loved was that we each had our own room with private bath room, the beds were great and the space was wonderful, it's very close to shopping and eating but far enough away to not hear all the noise, great little wurung just down the lane with generous servings at reasonable prices, the only down side was there is not enough outside seating and we had to manoeuvre the tables and chairs around to be able to sit outdoors and have a meal, an umbrella would also have been nice as there is no shade, a couple of days the pool decided to empty itself and the grounds were flooded, but it was fixed pretty quickly. Having breakfast cooked everyday was lovely, and the staff were wonderful. Overall a great place for a big group, but a few minor additions wouldn't hurt.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rosemaryt...
Newcastle, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service and accomodation”
Reviewed July 23, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful 12night stay at Pondok Dewi. The villa is amazing - beautiful - large rooms, comfortable beds, fresh clean pool. Totally private , calm and quiet. The staff were excellent. Breakfast was delightful, villa was kept spotless. Great location too. We found fabulous warungas within 50metres for great food. The best massage was 5mins from our doorstep. An easy walk to Legian beach and shopping and restaurants. Would go back in a heartbeat.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Private and quiet
Traveling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2016
Was a pleasure to have you stay Rosemary and hope to see you again in the near future :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ambo11
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed April 25, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Great place to stay. Stayed here with 10 people, 6 adults & 4 children. Could easily fit a few more adults in. Pick up and drop off of keys was simple. Easy to contact manager if needed. Breakfast cooked daily. Property cleaned daily. Very secure. Close to shops and restaurants.
Would love to stay here again.



Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing