We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service, great location in Legian” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great service, great location in Legian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

We returned from our 9 day stay at this hotel last week. We stayed in a deluxe room which was very large and had been renovated. It was clean and comfortable. We were one block from the pool and it was very quiet. This hotel is located one block (approx 200 metres) from the beach and within walking distance to many great restaurants and the nightlife in Legian. We found the cottages to be around an average 3 star with basic decor. The staff were fantastic and any problems experienced were immediately rectified. There was never a problem getting a sunbed around the pool and we particularly enjoyed the swim up bar with great staff such as smiley Agung Hendra and the rest of the team. There is a very popular sports bar at the street front of the hotel which has all of the sports via fox and there is even an opportunity to have a bet on the horses. They have bands playing there at night. The noise from this bar is not heard in the cottages. There is a air conditioned coffee shop across the road from the hotel that has fantastic coffee and food. The Pavone restaurant at the front of the hotel is also known for it's great food. Great holiday and we will be returning to this good value for money hotel in the near future !

Room Tip: Deluxe suites are larger in size and don't cost much more. Worth the extra $!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShazPerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    92
    40
    22
    27
See reviews for
46
60
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

The hotel is in a good location & suprisingly quiet once you get in the grounds. The room and bathroom were both spaciuos and the bed comfortable. Staff got extra pillows as soon as they were asked for. Decor is basic but overall the hotel provides value for money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LindaVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

For some reason I took an instant dislike to this place. We were staying for only one night on our way out of Bali and this was long enough.

The hotel is a collection of oldish twin bungalows (huts ?) and we'd ended up right at the back of the plot. The room was quite small - the swampy smelling bathroom seemed bigger than the bedroom. There was no wi-fi except in the area near the reception. The pool was dominated by a group of fat, middle aged and tattooed hells angel wannabes.

Cleanliness was only average, with some interesting dirt on the bedsheets. The bathroom appeared to have no daylight or ventilation. Dim low energy bulbs added to the depressing feel.

Breakfast was the minimum possible, rubbery scrambled eggs and cold toast.

The staff were reasonably helpful, the main beach and shops were close by, but there must be better places to stay.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kh1234567890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013

Garden View Cottages are located on JL Padma Utara, just behind the Padma Hotel. It is ideally located only 200 meteres from the beach and within walking distance of the Kuta entertainment strip and the night life in Seminyak.

The cottages themselves are really no more than three star, however the price per night offers very good value for money if you are not seeking the little luxiaries that make up 4-5 star hotels. You do however get 5 star friendly service from all staff, who are always offering a welcoming smile whether you are a first time traveller or a frequent visitor to the hotel, which I am.

The pool is a great place to relax and get a tan whilst the pool bar is a good meeting place/rendeavoux point to catch with friends and have a cold (very cold) Bintang or cocktail.

Out front is the "Y" Sports Bar with as many TV's as there are sports. You can even have punt.

And then there is the Pavone restuarant with a good menue at very reasonable prices.

In summary, if you are looking for a nice relaxing place to chill whilst still being close to all the shops and party spots that is value for money in Legian, the Garden View Cottages is the ideal spot.

Room Tip: The delux rooms are the best option - roomy but not expensive
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob255066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

This little treasure is nestled in the heart of Legian. It's a narrow property which runs back from the busy Jalan Padma Utari, which is quite noisy. Because of the way the hotel is laid out, though, the rooms are very quiet and away from the noise (bars, restaurant, reception and the pool being closest to the street). The rooms are large and very clean. Staff are friendly, affable and helpful. Menu at the hotel is basic, but there's no need to worry - adjacent, across the street and around the corner are dozens of excellent eating houses, shops, grocery stores, etc, etc. ATMs are close by and Wi Fi is available (in varying degrees) at several nearby places and (sometimes) in the restaurant of the hotel. Curiously, there are phones in the rooms, but they don't work (why they're not removed is a mystery, but it adds to the experience). The towels are a little threadbare but clean. Pool towels (which are of better quality) are available at the pool. If you're fussy about towels, take your own. The beach is less than three (slow) minutes' walk from the hotel. This place is ideal for families with young children, singles or couples. It is very reasonably priced and very central. At this time of year (Christmas-New Year), Bali bulks out with tourists from Java who bring their own vehicles so the traffic becomes chaotic and regularly gridlocked. It's best to avoid transport of any kind if you can, so the Garden View is perfect because it is within easy walking distance of everything.

Room Tip: No fitness centre; no spa. Big pool. 'Spa' (as in beauty parlour) adjacent and across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northenexposure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

we have stayed here five times previously and will be back march 2013.the staff are very friendly
the rooms clean tidy have stayed in other resorts but this is by far the most friendly. i would not stay any other place again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed here for 16 nights as I had been booked elsewhere with similar price around the corner and stayed 1 night and was so disgusted I went looking for something else.
This place was awesome especially for the price...There were so many people staying that were return visitors that had been coming for years and won't stay anywhere else... And I'm now a convert too...
Excellent position - close to beach,Garlic lane shopping,all priced restaurants,ATM,laundry - and they have their own pub/spots bar - with a great Balinese manager
The staff were amazing and really friendly, breakfast was simple but great when included in price - food was cheap so you could just kick back in the pool for the day and have lunch there with happy hour between 3 & 5 daily.
The pool is never closed and was always clean.
We stayed in the superior room which was like our own ice cold air conditioned cabin with outdoor furniture set. Bathrooms are huge and relatively new. Sheets and towels changed daily. Everything worked well. No wifi in rooms but free at pool and restaurant
I looked at the Deluxe rooms and they were just bigger but same quality - great for 3 ppl
One small complaint was lack of electrical plugs so take double adaptors.

I was honestly really impressed with this hotel and can't wait to return. In fact I'm hesitant to tell everyone about this little gem as I'm scared it will be always booked out...l but have to give credit where it's due...

Well done!

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Solodanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#58 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Sinar Bali
Hotel Sinar Bali
#61 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#26 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Property: Garden View Resort
Address: Jl. Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Despegar.com so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing