We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great as always needs a lick of paint”
Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #78 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed October 21, 2012

we stayed here 5/10 to 18/10/2012 ( family of 6 )and as always the staff were wonderfull.
the rooms need a bit of work and yes they are a bit tired and I had to fix the shower(blocked) in one of the rooms .But its the friendly staff that keeps us going back,
and with a litle paint and general repairs could be a perfect budget hotel.
see you again next year..

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

We would stay here again rather than pay double the price at puri rajah. Rooms are big, bed very hard but huge bathroom, plenty hot water. No problem with breakfast. It is a budget hotel, in Bali, so don't expect glamour. Better than Losari, better value than Puri Rajah, excellent new cafe Bella Vista across the road. Coffee as good as Mugshot, saves a long walk. Excellent food too. We are left GVC this morning, now at Mandira for special treat. Probably save my money next year and stay ack at GVC.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

We stayed 10 nights Sept 2012 , we are regular visitors to Bali since 1992, I know you get what you pay for but with a bit of maintenance the Garden View cottages could be made really nice.
Location is good not too far from the beach a lovely new coffe shop , called Bella Vista Coffee,just across the road, We needed it , as there were no coffee making facilities , had to go to reception everytime we needed hot water , this was brought to us within five minutes by a staff member.No phone to reception We found the staff friendly, especially the boys who cleaned the rooms , I had lessons in folding the towels into flowers to leave on the bed...
Oveverall the place needs new bed linen and towels coffee making facilities repairs to the buildings , broken windows,broken roof tiles the plumbing needs attention. But a paint job would bring the place up to date. The gardens were kept nice and tidy, It was nice and quiet when we were there as there were not many people staying, but with full occupancy it would be rather noisey.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Malcolm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

no amenities, bring yr own kettle.food no good complained about hair in food twice. this used to be a friendly place now staff are very grumpy and no help, the room really came bare no fresh water given, no ph to reception.asked for towels twice, none given. bar now near road used to be near pool and very relaxing and friendly do the owners know what they have done myself and 15 friends will never go back and we are spreading the word

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kes925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in July, 2012. No coffee making facilities, but luckily a brand new coffee shop (Bella Vista Coffee and Juices) opened across the street, so take away cappuccinos were delivered via hubby on me waking. Room was clean and not too bad, actually - it did have a door which didn't sit quite right on the fram - therefore mozzies got into the room. Towels were looking like they were on the old side and needed replacing. Had to ask for another a couple of days, as they only left one. Rooms up the back looked better than up towards the front. DVD player was gone - which we didn't know until a few days into our stay when maintenance men nearly walked in at the wrong time - we took a little long to answer the door. Staff were friendly and always had a smile. Not enough pool deck chairs - some guests were dumping their towels and books by 8am and not returning until 4pm to sit by the pool. We managed to get chairs on our 2nd last day at 1pm for about an hour. For all the rooms there were they needed another dozen deck chairs minimum. Bed was rock hard and sheets never quite reached to the feet end. Food was very average. I think we were given "Tang" powdered Oj instead of fresh juice and they need to toast bread a tad more. Lots of cheap places to go for a feed nearby. We usually stay at the Melasti, Legian, I think I'd go back to GVC but want to try Rumah Santai Villas behind the coffee shop - now they looked exquisite

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Stayed here in June for 6 nights and found staff unfriendly, which is unusual for Bali, arriving at 2am the man at the reception desk was very grumpy, we nicknamed him Mr Grumpy, we would then get a smile from him whenever we call him that. Room was very basic, but clean, no kettle, no daily water, not bath mats or hand towels, no room phone to ring reception. On the plus side all rooms have a small balcony to sit and have a few quiet drinks. Comfy beds and room cleaned daily, we stay in a superior room. It is a good budget hotel for the price we paid and in a good location in Legian.

Room Tip: standard rooms were basically the same but with no TV
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank natm00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the garden view around 15years ago. It had a great atmosphere and staff where very friendly.
It is the complete opposite now. We paid for a delux room they put us in a superior room. I asked the reception the following day if they had any delux rooms?
he gave me a key to a delux room and told me to check it. As soon as I noticed all the mold all over the ceiling I decided to stay where I was.
When we went to the pool area we asked for some towels so we could dry ourselves after a swim. They had none.
No room service because the phone didnt work.
Staff did not care including the manager about any of the above issues.
We have been to Bali at least once a year for the last 10 years. The Garden View must be the worst hotel we have stayed at.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Colzo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#65 of 87 in Legian
356 reviews
0.0 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Diana Bali
Villa Diana Bali
#62 of 87 in Legian
269 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#36 of 87 in Legian
492 reviews
0.4 mi away
Champlung Mas Hotel
Champlung Mas Hotel
#50 of 87 in Legian
700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Address: Jl. Padma 41 | Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Price Range: $26 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing