We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the budget conscious”
Review of Garden View Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden View Resort
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good for the budget conscious”
Reviewed June 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed ten nights In a standard room, was freshly painted and well maintained. Room was serviced each day and fresh linen. there was no coffee making facilities in room but I had my own anyway. Overall it was well priced for what you got and great value for families on a budget. On the negative this establishment was subject to the attraction of some noisy alcohol related Aussie clientele . The management did nothing to control these Bogans where as most establishments would have throw these undesirable guests out onto the street. But of course this was during my stay and may not always be the case. Unfortunately, because of the latter I would not consider to stay here again.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Murray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    92
    40
    23
    28
See reviews for
47
60
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2012

We've stayed at Garden View Cottages almost as many times as I've had years on this planet (so...approximately 25..ahem).

The staff are the drawcard. If they left, we'd probably find somewhere else to stay.

They are like family, and always greet us with a smile. My kids are whisked off for a smoothie and a cuddle before I've finished checking in.

They always accommodate our room requests. They smile when we ask for the millionth time when the pool tiles and submerged pool bar stools are going to be fixed, so as they're not sharp, pointy hazards.

The superior rooms are simple but clean and good value.

The deluxe rooms are very large and great value. I hesitate to say that, as these are the room types that we always stay in. The deluxe are all interconnecting, and most often filled with families - the interconnecting doors provide zero noise buffering, so just beware if you're considering booking a deluxe room for a romantic or relaxing holiday - you may find yourself on the receiving end of early morning kiddy noise, almost as if you were right there in the middle of their room. But don't worry, we always get 2 rooms so we're only subjecting ourselves to that noise, so it won't be my kids waking you up at 7am!

Breakfast is simple but adequate.

Meals are good, despite the lack of people using the restaurant.

The staff are brilliant. The loveliest people we've ever met, and it's honestly been a privilege to get to know them on a personal level over the past 20 years.

It wouldn't be a trip to Bali for us unless we stayed at Gardenview, at least for part of our time.

We're going back for another Christmas stay this year, because it's so much like our 2nd home that it seems more natural to go there than have it here in Aus!

Location wise, it can't be beaten. Great money changer next door in the mini mart. Excellent laundry service down the lane between the hotel and the mini mart. A quick stroll to either the beach or Garlic Lane.

For people considering their first stay at Garden View, I'd simply say this - remember that it is a cheaper hotel, so don't arive expecting 4 star. Get to know the staff, they are truly the hotel's biggest asset and drawcard, and they will always go out of their way to accommodate you and make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are not huge, but are modern. Do not bother with Standard rooms unless you don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ParentalParody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Garden View - friendly staff, clean superior room, for anyone with disabilities, there is no handrail for the pool and the shower is a very large step into the bath, apart from that
location is excellent.

Room Tip: all rooms seem to be quiet, but dont stay at back, too far to walk to pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beverley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2012 via mobile

For what you pay for the room there is nothing wrong with it, but make sure you get a deluxe room. Staff are friendly and rooms clean and it is central to everything

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dreamon97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Second time staying at the Garden View Cottages in Legian. We stayed with a large group of friends/kids (11 of us in total). The first family arrived to find that one only of the five rooms we had booked were available. Our booking was made in advance by a family friend who lives in Bali and who had visited the hotel many times to check & confirm so we thought it was a pretty secure booking. We had booked 5 deluxe rooms. Sooooo what happened was that one family took a two bedroom appartment. The appartment was spacious and had a master bedroom and a large bedroom/living area that comfortably fitted 3 single beds. It had one small, but nice enough bathroom. It had a kitchenett and a good size fridge. The appartment was upstairs, which were very dangerous when they got some water or rain on them & the handrail was not very secure so be cautious of this. The appartment had a nice sized balcony which over looked the hotel below. The master bedroom has thin curtains and they had to get something to hang over the window as it was too bright as soon as the sun was up. The airconditioning was good and the free WiFi could be reached in the master bedroom & balcony of the appartment. Overall they were happy with their appartment, but would have preferred to have had their original booking of two deluxe rooms.

As for the rest of us... we arrived at middnight and were told that we could have one deluxe room, but that we would have to stay in two superior rooms for two nights until two more deluxe rooms became available. We had no option so we did this. The deluxe room was lovely. But there was NOTHING superiour about the superiour rooms. They had horrible hard beds, shocking 100 year old pillows. The rooms were plain & shabby. The bathroom tap was loose and wobbly and the shower pressure was a dribble. The room was dark & everytime we used our hairdryer the power tripped out. The room really didn't have too much going for it other than it was clean, though the sheets were stained. After two nights, as promised our other two deluxe rooms were available and these are really GREAT... they are very large. The beds much better (though the pillow had still seen better days). The water pressure in the shower was great, great airconditioning. Have safe in room, there was no problem with us using our hairdryers. The rooms all have DVD players but the TV's are old, ok for watching a DVD but only local TV & bad reception if you want to watch it without a DVD. (Our Kids watched a few DVDs at night). They supply a jug of water a day. Rooms cleaned daily. Staff was very friendly. Last time I visited I found the reception staff to be unfriendly and rude but I didn't run into the same rude staff member this time. The brekky is basic, ours was included in our room. Its ok, depends on what you order, coffee was good! They really need a non-smoking section in the resturant as people would light up smoking next to us & the kids while we were eating every morning.

The WiFi is free but does not reach to the rooms or pool area (unless you are in the appartment). The hotel location is excellent and the bar out the front is still fun and have wonderful slushies.

We spent some time in the pool with the kids (eight kids aged 12 - 16) and we had a great time. The pool furniture is old but didn't worry us. Kids ate some food at the swim up bar and said it was great (burgers/chips). The pool was open at any time & we often swam late at night also.

So over all I was happy with our stay once we had our deluxe rooms. I spoke to some other guests who also didn't get the deluxe rooms they had booked. They even tried to pass off a superior room to them as their "deluxe booking" but they realised it was not what they had booked, kicked up a fuss and got their deluxe room the next afternoon.

I would stay there again with kids/teenagers or a large group but I would be VERY worried about our booking and would have moved hotels rather than stay in the horrible superiour rooms (they have standard rooms that are SHOCKING!!). If you get your deluxe room, you will very happy staying at the Garden View. I would even recommend ringing the hotel before you leave for Bali to confirm you will be getting your deluxe room on arrival.

Oh and we had to really negotiable the price again too.

If I was not travelling with a group I would go back to Poppies Cottages ANY DAY, you still can't beat it there!!

Room Tip: ONLY CHOOSE A DELUXE ROOM. Pay no more than US$65 a night including tax & brekky. We paid US$1...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank izamay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

We stayed at Garden View Cottages for one week in a superior room. Initially had a room right at the back and found the walk back and forth a little too much (for us oldies ha ha) and moved to a room closer to the pool. Loved the pool and the bar, great for socialising with other guests. Room was clean, staff good and would definately stay there again. Only down side is the walkway is slippery when wet and I slipped when walking for our initial room, and down the small ramp.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenisePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We didn't book in advance and all other places we asked quoted us price a lot higher than if we would've booked online. Reception in Garden View was honest and we paid 60 USD/ night. The cottage was pretty, the bed was comfortable. There is a dvd in the room which is handy as you can buy super cheap dvds right across the road. Breakfast was limited, eggs with toast bread. Swimming pool has a swim-up bar, excelent. The only thing which bothered me was the staff. There were loads of them around and they were friendly enough, but they just didn't seem very interested in us. They didn't go the extra mile. We even found the reception area empty and had to reach for our room key. All in all, it's a great budget accomodation option. I'd recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ulrika1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.3 mi away
Hotel Sinar Bali
Hotel Sinar Bali
#61 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.1 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#58 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#30 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
#56 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Resort

Property: Garden View Resort
Address: Jl. Padma 41, Legian Beach, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garden View Cottages Hotel Legian
Garden View Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing