We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Slice of Heaven”
Review of Puri Damai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Puri Damai
Ranked #15 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Geelong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Slice of Heaven”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

Puri Damai translates into "house of peace" and that's exactly what it is - an oasis in a very popular and busy part of Bali. Situated 5 minutes walk from the beach and surrounded by restaurants, cafes and shops, all within easy walking distance. There is also a day spa across the road where you can have a massage and manicure or pedicure.

This was our second stay at Puri Damai and this time we spent all of August there and love it so much we have booked again for next year. All of the staff are very friendly, welcoming and hospitable. Ayu, the owner is a lovely lady and has the best hugs in the world! She is also very talented and designs all the beautiful floral arrangements on display.

There are one and two bedroom apartments and all are fully furnished and very spacious. We stay in a one bedroom apartment with ensuite, kitchen, dining and sitting area. All apartments are air conditioned and serviced daily and all overlook the magnificent tropical garden and pool. It is a very tranquil and peaceful setting. What more could you ask for? For us, it truly is a home away from home and we can't wait to return!

Heather and Peter

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank luculia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    32
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
42
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

An enjoyable expeience in a quiet, friendly reasonably priced hotel. Our 2 storey apartment was of a generous size, clean and full of charm with all that one would rquire for an enjoyable stay. A small but well kept pool & gardens. My wife & I must be two of the last Australians never to have previously visited Bali & this was a great introduction to the peoples of Bali & their wish to please.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tb6122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tannum Sands, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Puri Damai is gorgeous, clean and well positioned We stayed here with 3 other families. Each family had a 2 bedroom apartment. (There are 4, 2br apartments here). These spacious apartments are 2 storey with bedrooms, each with own bathroom, upstairs.
Downstairs is a kitchen, an enclosed living area and an open air living area, where we tended to spend most of our time.
It had beautiful gardens and a gorgeous pool which was so welcoming after being out shopping or touring.
Puri Damai is close to shops, cafes and a short 5 minute walk to the beach.
I think this is a fantastic alternative to a big resort and truly has a balinese feel.
We definitely will be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolQld00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiama, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed here, as a family in a 2 Br apartment. A fantastic open-air area downstairs which includes full kitchen with an airconditioned room for watching TV. Good sized b'rooms upstairs with both fan & acon. Nice quiet gardens & a small but beautiful pool which, unlike some in Bali, was actually nice & cool. Staff, as usual were polite ,friendly & ever accommodating. Would CERTAINLY recommend for those wanting a smaller venue.

Room Tip: Only one balcony for 2 br apartment which was off the twin room where the kids slept . Definitely go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quigs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We've just come back from staying at the Puri Damai. Slightly different for us from usually staying in villas but it was absolutely lovely. Extremely reasonable rate per night for a clean, comfortable 1 bedroom. The accommodation is almost like a "mini villa", in that you have your own outdoor living area, kitchen and dining and your bedroom behind another locked door. All balconies have a view of the great pool. The complex is small, no children and quiet. The location is fantastic. A short walk to restaurants and all shops. The beach is literally a 2 minute walk down a laneway. The staff were fantastic, I just could not really fault this place! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Two bedroom suites have a much bigger living area with TV in the living area as well. The 1 bd only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyHolidaysSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I was at the puri damai in august 2011 and have just booked to come back in March 2013 because i loved it so much, the location is excellent, the beach is a short walk down a lane way, where there are many resturants,and in the same street are some great resturants and also a great sandwich shop. And some very good massages to be had and a handy spa across the road and also a small convience store, and laundry lady who also hires bicycles.
My husband and i stayed upstairs in room 7 we loved it, such a spacious verandah and lovely breeze, if no breeze the ceiling fan was good, the kitchen had all the necessary stuff and a decent size fridge,bigger than a bar fridge, a real shower not over the bath although downstairs apartments are over the bath as our friends had the room 3 directly under us and their shower was over the bath, very comfy bed, reading light a bit dull so i took the shade off,and tv in strange position on wall but we didnt come to watch tv so that wasnt a worry. The swimming pool although small was lovely and pretty trees and garden. The staff always friendly and ready to help in any way, even the security guard lent me his kettle when i couldnt get the stove working early on my first morning,the security is excellent no one just wandering in.
I would say this is an excellent place to stay, quiet, peaceful ,away from the hustle and bustle and i will try to come back every year. The only thing they need for me as i get older is a hand rail on the stairs to get to my favourite room no:7

Room Tip: One bedroom units upstairs have a shower, no bath and are more secure and private
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed at the Puri Damai back in June for a quick 4 night stay with 3 other girlfriends. I loved it and will go back and stay there one day, however, one of my friends didn't. It is such great value for money and in a super location. We had the 2 bed apartment at the back. When we were shown up the stairs we thought we were being taken up to our apartment, not realising that the stairs were part of our apartment. It is that large! Down stairs as previously indicated an entertainment room (we didn't use it), a kitchen and a small dining table under the upstairs balcony. Upstairs two large bedrooms with ensuites, one a double the other a twin. Also a huge balcony with table and chairs. We spent most of the time at the hotel here. At the time the hotel seemed to have couples and small groups of people staying aged 50+. There was a bit of a reunion of a few groups who seemed to hang out at the small pool alot. This put us off hanging by the pool which I think was disappointing for my friend who wanted to get a bit of a tan. There is no room service however easy to get a delivery and lots of restaurants nearby. There is also a mini mart across the road and you can stock up your fridge and kitchen from the supermarket.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beacygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#27 of 254 in Kuta
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,316 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 87 in Legian
1,143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 146 in Seminyak
623 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Puri Damai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Puri Damai

Property: Puri Damai
Address: Kln. Werkudara 6, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Puri Damai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Puri Damai Hotel Legian
Puri Damai Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing