We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Rooms, Beautiul Pool Wrong Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Ranked #51 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Rooms, Beautiul Pool Wrong Location”
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I am current staying here right now and some of the reviews seem a little harsh so though I would jump to Sing Ken Kens defence.

Construction - Is currently going on across the road, however it seems to be halted right now.

Noise - It is in a fairly quiet area. The doors backin on tithe road are super notice cancelling and I can't hear the cars at all. Walls may be a little thin but I can't notice it ? Rooms are quiet at night.

The Beach - There is a road wash out directly on to the beach in front of the hotel, which by the way is a stones throw away. Look at the wind and swim / beach to the upstream side the wash is being pushed as it seems pretty nasty.

Breakfast - it's small and not a whole lot of choice but it is only breakfast. The omelettes are the best and the service is great and it's free so stop complaining. As mention there is a heap of places along the beach walk so go there if you want more.

The rooms are absolutely impeccable and the bathrooms are the best I have seen. Best shower I have had in my entire life. The beds are amazing!! One thing they could work on in the rooms is TV reception (very Poor) and WIFI is absolutely horrible. Had to go to the roof to use Internet.

Location is pretty average, traffic can be extremely bad at times and near impossible to cab to and from the Hotel. The area is very quiet for nightlife, lots of restaurants but no clubs except cocoon which is beautiful but an absolute rip off.

Rooftop pool is amazing and the gym and sauna / spa is up there. Gym is free and the equipment is great. What lets it down is that nothing goes on up here? No bands, No happy hour, no fun? It's literally a silent private oasis that looks incomplete. It is absolutely stunning and very beautiful just not utilised.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blake P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    112
    46
    22
    11
See reviews for
37
127
21
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
orient
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

i chose this new hotel mainly because of the centralized location to most stores, restaurants and the beach. it was excellent.
rooms were spacious and clean. although the shower/bath area lack privacy due to the glass doors, if you have guests visiting you in your room, it will feel like you're a "showpiece" in a glass display putting up a show or something. there is a shade the pulldown, but anyone entering the room from the main enterance while you bath will definitley see everything top to bottom so you better make sure to bath when no one's around. that was the only interesting part of the hotel.

the hotel staff were all very friendly, efficient and helpful.

my only disappointment were how the walls were paper thin and the noises from the main road. my room was sandwhiched between a loud snorer next door and someone watching TV on full blast at midnight. thankfully i slept pretty well eventually after covering my head with the extra gigantic pillows. king size bed was super comfy.

breakfast is average, pool area was beautiful esp during the early hours of sun rise and sun set.

i would recommend this place to anyone who can sleep through during whatever your next door neighbors' are doing and the sounds of passing vehicles on the main road outside.

i would come back again.

Room Tip: everything is good. except bring earplugs if you're extremeley SUPER DUPER sensitve to noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imelda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

I'm with the July review - “Torn about this hotel” - It is clean, nice and big, the rooftop pool is great and the mini bar is free! The cons are the thin walls - so it was a little noisy, but it didn't keep us up. The breakfast was pretty crappy - just forfeit breakfast and walk the ten mins to 'The Beach Lounge' for a good coffee and some pancakes (crepes, and they were good!).

If you're only here for a few nights it's worth it for the price and the location.

Room Tip: The ground floor was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REread1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

stayed there for 3 nights. nice beds & pillows. a very comfortable hotel with a nice shower room! love it. the roof top is nice to chill out though part of the view u get is the opposite construction site. nevertheless, its spacious to move about. nice and frenly staffs as well. breakfast was normal though. location wise wasn't that bad. relatively near the beach and its not too far to walk the streets of legian. all n all, love the room.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rm_uyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This place is a great place to stay if wanting to stay in the legian/seminyak area. Close to plenty of restaurants, bars, shopping and right across the road from the beach.
The rooms are nice and new, although no bathroom door did cause a little privacy issues when travelling with friends.
Rooftop pool is great, although maybe could use a few more pool chairs and there are very limited numbers. Gym, spa and sauna are all fantastic and breakfast each morning was delicious.
The staff at this hotel are outstanding. So welcoming and friendly right from the time we checked in until the second we checked out! Great hotel and recommend to all to stay.
P.s. Best beds and pillows i've ever slept on!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank lauren a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

There are many pros & cons about this hotel. I'm undecided if I would stay here again probably no unless they had a good deal.
Pros:
The rooms were lovely and spacious, modern and clean
One completely free mini bar for guests
Ice cream upon arrival
Good location close to seminyak and a walk to legian beach
Nice pool
Excellent gym

Cons:
Terrible buffet breakfast I've stayed at a lot of places this would be one of the worst. Bad selection, many times food was cold/old, flies on the bread and the kitchen behind was often dirty so we decided not to try room service
Not enough deck chairs, they got a thin mat for us to lie on as the deck chairs were taken ( there was hardly any to begin with and they are not very comfortable)
No privacy when going to the toilet, a clear half frosted glass is all the privacy you get so make sure your comfortable with the person you travel with
Staff were lovely and always friendly but a few couldn't answer general questions etc they didn't understand so had to ask other staff members
Construction is going on across the road which was fairly loud and the rooms have paper thin walls

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frequentflyer122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sing Ken Ken Ho... L, General Manager at Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you very much for this pro- and con-comment which will help our new team to improve especially on the cons. Please give me on behalf of our team members the opportunity to apologize that apparently your stay has not reached the satisfaction level as we all intend to provide.
Our ice-cream idea and free minibar upon arrival should be a sign of welcome in a modern way, as what one can expect from a lifestyle hotel. The friendly staff, friendly and helpful from the heart, are still undergoing training and some new associates are advised to refer to their colleagues to avoid misunderstanding if they do not understand. Young people are encouraged to learn here and generally there has not been any issue with other guests before.
As for the breakfast and food in general, we have undergone a screening by the health authorities and passed it quite recently. If on some days we find flies – which is common in tropical countries – we will follow up with our pest control program accordingly. I personally try to meet our guests during breakfast time and get feedback, obviously I have missed you which is unfortunate. The general comments are 99% positive about the breakfast, food and hotel comfort. If there is any inconvenience, our team at the reception is going long ways to reverse that and ensure positive guest’s experience. Should there have been a rare occasion of lapsus, please accept my apology. I have already briefed our team to be more observant to avoid similar mishaps in future, thanks to your comment.
At times our deck-chairs at the pool are not sufficient, whilst there are still plenty of bistro-style chairs and tables on the rooftop just nearby. We have already ordered additional loungers and trust this will be overcome soon. And finally, yes, our deluxe rooms (the category you stayed in) are surely more suitable for couples due to the design of the shower and bathroom cubicals with partly frosted glass as walls. It might not suit everybody, whilst it became favorite of most of our guests.
Overall let me thank you for commenting and encouraging us to go all out and give our best to enhance guest satisfaction further. We do hope to have the chance of being host to one of your next stays here in Bali and deliver our promise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco, CA
Level Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Right now while the place is brand new, they offer rooms at slashed rates from their inflated rack rates. So they get lots of people right now who are clearly bowled over by apparent privacy (from low occupancy) and value for money spent. But this place has some serious problems, mostly relating to how it nearly ignores Balinese natural beauty but also construction woes.

It is a big echo-y concrete pile with very few Balinese design touches, built out to the maximum edges of the lot so that there are no green zones. Yes, there were some carved stone reliefs on my balcony and there were old growth teak furnishings out there too... (huge rainforest tree trunk serving as front desk was quite upsetting to see in light of fact that Bali is key transshipment point for mysteriously sourced timber).

The balconies all face the noisy street (motorcycles revving up there from having turned the corner)... and what's outside there while you sit on your little one-seat balcony? but another five story concrete behemoth being built across the street... not a shrub in sight except behind the hotel, where the delightful Puri Naga Hotel gardens can be glimpsed by wistful Sing Ken Ken guests while trekking down their long echo chamber corridor. Maybe the owner didn't want to guests to realize how gorgeous a Balinese hotel can be, and purposely faced the rooms away from the Puri Naga oasis.

Yes, the rooftop here does have a few bougainvillea plants all around, and they'll look good by next year. The pool is minimalist chic and large, but if the hotel were full, you still couldn't accommodate more than about 20 people in the poolside chairs up there. View to the sea would be so much nicer if they didn't have three insipid "Bali modern" stone fountains burbling away IN THE WAY of your view out to the breakers. The gym is not free for guests, let alone the whirlpool spa inside.

The room was nicely appointed, with good-sized amenity bottles, a huge bathroom, a nice new flat screen with plenty of Euro, Asian, and American channels, and the bed was very comfy. Air con surprisingly noisy, though (bad duct design?), and at one point it brought in cigarette smoke and I had to turn it off. Otherwise hotel was very clean.

It sure could have been located on any beach, anywhere, though. I tried to get outside to the beach as often as possible, just to remind myself where I was. Unfortunately, this part of Legian Beach has a stream outfall across the sand that always seems to smell of sewerage. It's basically the no-man's land between Seminyak and Legian beaches, so you can always walk away from it. Good shopping and nice budget restaurants in either direction from the hotel. ATM machines next door. Clubbing neighborhood means small and medium size discos are within shouting distance.

Worst part of my stay was that, despite hotel being far from fully occupied, they checked a very noisy couple into the room next to mine at 1:30 am, who immediately woke me up as they tried the electronic doorbell and the sliding glass balcony door, chatting and even arguing. Marble floors meant that the woman's heels were clacking along like a jackhammer only a couple meters away from my head. That made me realize that the interior walls were probably just the thinnest sheet rock (gyp rock), negating the considerable sleep value of my nice mattress. Then they were up again at 6 am. Sheesh! Surely late arrivals could be put into rooms staggered away from other guests.

New building/bad construction woes: Toilet tank wouldn't refill, tub drain improperly installed (very little room in draining mode) and the closet door was so poorly installed that the fancy automatic light inside stayed on unless I propped a heavy chair against the frame of the closet door to hold it shut.

Their promo calls themselves a boutique hotel, but this is no boutique (usually an intimate, classy, artistically designed place). It's the pack-em-in investment strategy of somebody from Jakarta.

Room Tip: Fifth floor is as high as the guest rooms go. Ask to be put away from elevators and ask that late a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrugalMillionaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sing Ken Ken Ho... L, General Manager at Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you indeed for your valuable comment and personal feedback in regards to your stay at our brand new hotel. It is with your help indeed that our team will have the chance to improve and enhance the guest experience as we all understand that you are spending your well deserved holidays here. Therefore let me ensure you that I as the leader of the team am dearly sorry for the points raised which were below your expectations and would like to apologize for that.
Our hotel is still in the opening phase which means that the plants are still growing and the rates are still very special for this year, despite having a great quality room and amenities which should be priced higher as you rightly mention. The team is still built up and receives plenty of good guest comments already, whilst we are aware that training needs to be continued. Some new staff members do not always understand right and are therefore advised to call their colleagues in order to avoid misunderstandings, if possible. Apparently this was not observed when you asked for the gym, which is free for inhouse guests but payable to (few) visitors. Please apologize. The whirlpool is not a public but private pool just for treatments and in the treatment area, therefore chargeable. Poolside chairs will be adde3d shortly and are already ordered as we understand the needs here.
Regarding the noise in Legian we are sure that everybody is aware that this is a busy area with plenty of restaurants, bars and shops near to the beach, where one can walk long distances or play surfing and enjoy beachlife just across the road from here. Construction is going on in Bali everywhere and this is beyond our control. However, our balcony doors are of high quality imported double glazed noise-reduction doors which literally keep the room relaxing quiet.
If the toilet tank does not refill or there is an issue with the tub, we have a 24-hours standby engineering team who can solve those issues within few minutes upon report. Same goes to the non-connecting closet light. However, we did not note any request in our records neither comment from our guest comment form which is concurrent with your mention here. We are checking all rooms daily to avoid those issues and do apology if this has been overseen by our team members. I have personally re-briefed the housekeeping team to double check the mentioned mishaps.
In a modern building like ours there might be some minor impact from hearing things due to the fact that we do not use carpet at all, which on the other hand is more hygienic. However I do agree that this is not everybody’s style and there might be caused disturbances. Our hotel is not empty at all which I must deny here, but since many guests are spending their time at the beach or surrounding area, you might not be able to see the crowd. This in fact leads to an atmosphere where at times you can feel that the pool or a corner at our wonderful seaview rooftop belongs to yourself. We even set up special tables on that terrace for romantic sunset dinners and get good comments for that.
Once again, let me on behalf of my team apologize for the unsatisfactory points and let me also thank you for the positive comments raised which all in all encourages us more to strive to greater heights in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#29 of 251 in Kuta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sari Bunga Hotel
Sari Bunga Hotel
#71 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pelangi Bali Hotel
Pelangi Bali Hotel
#80 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#28 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ananta Legian Hotel
Ananta Legian Hotel
#32 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 664 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Saron Seminyak
Puri Saron Seminyak
#98 of 144 in Seminyak
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel

Property: Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Address: Jl. Arjuna no. 1, Double Six, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly Sing Ken Ken Boutique Hotel)
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#33 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the tropical, Balinese atmosphere and stylish, chic ambience of ‘Sing Ken Ken’. Sing Ken Ken Boutique Hotel offers 78 exclusive rooms, which include 72 Deluxe Rooms, 2 Junior Suites, 3 Executive Suites and 1 Presidential Suite.Whether you choose to stay in a Deluxe room or a Presidential Suite, you will find luxurious bedrooms featuring a comfortable bed, a private balcony (or patio) and a spacious bathroom with both bathtub and rain shower. All rooms are also equipped with modern amenities including air-conditioning, LED TV with satellite channels, refrigerated mini-bar, coffee & tea making facilities, IDD telephone, WiFi access, hair-dryer and safe deposit box. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing