We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything we needed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Champlung Mas Hotel
Ranked #49 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We stayed in the Deluxe poolside for AU$60/night, great value. Didn't actually use the old section pool area so I can't comment on that.
Pros - Great location, close enough to Beach, Nightlife, Markets, Cafes. Nice size room with safe and serviced daily, cold air-con, big TV (which I never turned on!)Comfortable beds, seperate bath/shower, 3 good pools, very friendly and helpful staff, cheap food and drinks.
Cons - Even though the new section is only a couple of years old the bathroom is already looking a bit tired as are the grounds. The shower was good but the hot water didn't always work. Breakfast get a little mundane as the choices don't change a lot but it is still always tasty.
Overall a very enjoyable stay and would certainly come back or recommend to others

Room Tip: We stayed in the poolside deluxe room, ground floor. Never much noise and loved no stairs or lift, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Troy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

498 - 504 of 719 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

So, we paid $39 pn incl brekky. On arrival we were upgraded from superior to deluxe. Not sure why. Overall, a good experience. Like previous comments, we preferred the 'old pool'. The rooftop pool's bar was closed and wouldnt bother going up there. Breakfast basic but fine. Location good ( 200 metres from Melasti St). Staff good. We would definitely stay there again. We are now at Eden Hotel in Kuta ($67), but it's not Bali. I wouldn't pay over $45 pn, so look out for the specials on champlung mas. Yip, worth a try i would recommend.

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

We recently stayed for eight nights in superior rooms in the older part of the hotel and would happily do so again. We liked the older sides character, large rooms and private courtyards. The old pool was our clear favourite and we rarely ventured to the newer two pools. The 24hr swim-up bar came in handy on numerous occasions and we met lots of great people there. Our rooms were serviced daily with clean bedding, towels and complimentary water and the staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast is so-so but no complaints for the price we paid. The location is fabulous, close to everything including many great restaurants and bars. The mosquitos were a bit annoying in some parts of the hotel (no worse than our backyard in Australia though) and the WiFi was slow and only worked in the vicinity of the lobby and restaurant. All the local restaurants and bars have Free WiFi so it wasn't an issue for us. We loved our stay here and were very sad to leave the place and the people. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Blackie911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Well the brochures can make a place look great but can't give you any sense of the aroma of a place. We were given an upgrade to the deluxe room by our agent and didn't see much difference between this and standard rooms in other hotels.
Upon entering the room we were greeted with a pungent aroma of mould and mildew. The bathroom had the added smell of a backed up toilet system to add to the mix. Water stains were evident here and there and it was obvious to us that once the heavy rains came this place would leak like a sieve.
We instantly demanded another room and were met with a heavy odour of cleaning fluids, someone was quickly mopping the tiled floor ahead of us getting to the room. Well we thought once the smell of the cleaning was done this room would be fine so we went out for an hour or so to let the air clear.
Upon our return the same mouldy smell and toilet fumes were once again evident so we once again talked to the reception and asked for our money back. The reception staff said they would find another room for us but we'd had enough of this malarky. Fortunately we managed to get into another hotel the same day and saved our stay from being ruined, at our own expense. We will be demanding our money back from our travel agent shortly.
Maybe you could be one of the lucky ones and win an odourless room in the lottery draw, some people must have drawn well to be able to post good reviews but that's the chance you will have to take unfortunately.
Aside from this problem with the rooms was the convoluted layout of the hotel. Getting to the rooms was a chore on its own the way you went round and round the 'prison cell' plan of floors and stairways. Should a fire break out in this hotel I wouldn't want to be part of the mob forcing their way to an exit. Not quite as beautiful as the brochure photos would have you believe.
Can not recommend this hotel in its current state.

Room Tip: Take a good whiff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I recently stayed here with two of my friends over the new years period and had an enjoyable experience. The hotel is located in a quite lane off Melasti street which is host to many great eateries, spas, markets and coffee shops. We had a deluxe pool terrace room, which I would recommend, that was right near the main pool. We had three beds in the one room which made it a little congested, however with only the two beds it would have been spacious. the bathroom is big and the room suited our needs just fine. my only criticism of the room is that ours was located right next to the kitchen which was very loud early in the mornings making it difficult to sleep in, and there was also a constant loud dripping noise right outside our room again making it hard to sleep. The roof top pool was great as was the main pool and swim up bar, however they do take a long time to make a cocktail! the staff were helpful enough and it was easy to exchange money. Overall, the hotel is good for the price you are paying and I would stay here again but mainly for the location.

Room Tip: Choose a deluxe pool terrace room so your right near the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Value for money. Close to everything. Rooms basic but clean and comfortable. Great pool with semi up bar. We met friends there and chose to book in. Air con did not work but they fixed it straight away, brought hair dryer straight away and mosquito spray as Mosquitos were bad in the room. Very helpful

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Booking in with a party of 10 was a nightmare 5 couples all booked at the same time the same "deluxe" suite same agent etc couldn't get rooms close to each other , it took 15-20 mins to get checked in , 2 of the 5 rooms the air con didn't work the first few nights myself and my partner wernt to concerned but by the 3rd night it was getting unbearable , we asked them to fix it they came pressed buttons and couldn't so they tryed to change us rooms we got two options we walked into one and the smell of mold nearly knocked you out the second room the smell of sewrige made you gag ( this was presant in 3 of the other rooms out friends had but was "manageable" if they left the exhaust fan running). Because we wernt happy with either of those two rooms it was put up or shut up.
At first glance I was suprised by the hotel the grounds are nice 3 lifts 3 sets of stairs 3 nice pools all with bars , we notices tho water marks in the corridors ( we later realised that's because the roof leaked heavily every time it rained).
The bathrooms were firstly a lot of mildue in the bath and shower and even a small bar of used soap in the shower I assume from previous guests .
The night we got in I read the guest brochure the do's and don'ts standard for hotels it said to get cleen towels every day put towels in bath I did this every day and the first few days I thought we got cleans towels as they had been folded and hung nicely on the 2nd day tho my partner had put a foot print on a towels by accident on day number 6 I noticed foot print still on towel so I took it down to reception and complained they were very helpfull and from there out we got new towels however they insisted it was my fault . Our bed sheets were not changed the whole time we were there eather . It mentioned we get a hair dryer tho that wasn't presant in anyone's rooms and the room service menu wasn't in 3 of 5 rooms.
Breakfast is basic cornflakes warm milk toast some Danishes baked beens and an Asian dish to get bacon eggs or an omlette you have to order it ( this wasn't obvious but since you have to do it in other places we tryed and succeeded) how ever twice on separate mornings we would make an order and 15 mins later walk up and they had compleatly forgotten about it.
One lift would stop working if it rained and it was the main lift also so taking the small lift with 10 people we would have to do 3 trips.
For the most part the hotel was quiet a lot of guests but not too much noise.
The location was convinant depending on what you want to do but it is down an ally way that is very dark and scary of a night and 1/2 the taxis / bikes we caught had no idea this hotel existed so would either kick us out and still demand money or ask for directions (we started taking business cards with the hotel address on it this helped).
Overall you get what you pay for but personally I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Danni1288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel & Spa
The Sun Hotel & Spa
#38 of 88 in Legian
610 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serela Legian Hotel
Serela Legian Hotel
#52 of 88 in Legian
202 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.1 mi away
Rosani Hotel
Rosani Hotel
#59 of 88 in Legian
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Legian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Mas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Mas Hotel

Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $18 - $35 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Mas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Champlung Mas Hotel And Spa Legian is strategic location in the premiere of Kuta - Legian within 10 minute walking distance to Kuta beach, Legian art market, restaurants, night life and bars. 171 rooms by latest renovated on 2012. Each guest room is equipped with air-condition, bathroom with bathtub and shower, cold & hot water, refrigerator, satellite color TV and private balcony in the each room. For your private Event, our Rooftop Pool is available for your private function of BBQ and/or Gala Dinner, fitted for maximum 150 persons. For you to complete the holiday experience in Bali, Champlung Mas Hotel & Spa is completed with one Dining outlet, 2 Swimming Pools (One on the ground floor and another one on the Rooftop where you easily able to see Sunset Kuta Beach), a relaxing Purnama Spa, complimentary Wi-Fi access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Champlung Mas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champlung Mas Legian
Champlung Mas Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing