We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Champlung Mas Hotel
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome Stay!”
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We have just returned from an 8 night family trip (2 adults, 3 children - 11yr, 13yr, 14yr) to Bali staying at the Champlung Mas. We were a little hesitant when we left after reading the reviews, but were pleasantly surprised when we arrived! The hotel and staff were wonderful. We arrived at the hotel early - 9.00am and were able to check in. We had booked 3 standards rooms and were given free upgrades to the new deluxe rooms for the length of our stay. The rooms were lovely and clean, overlooked the beautiful pool and bar. Our girls had no hot water in their room so reported it, the staff fixed the problem within 20 minutes. The bar and food prices and quality were exceptional and we will definately be staying there when we travel to Bali. The location is perfect - close to legian beach, excellent markets all around, wonderful food places (make sure you check out Totemo's for food). We used the hotel transport (Padu & Norman) for our day trips. They were fantastic - highly recommend a day trip up to Bedegul. We had friends visit our hotel who were staying at a 5 star hotel up the road and they will be booking with Champlung for their next trip. If you are young and want to pary all night, you just book and ask to stay in the older section (has its own bar, pool and restraurant) or if you are a family or looking for somewhere a little quieter then make sure you ask for the rooms in the new part of the hotel. Definately value for money!!

Room Tip: Ask for the "new" rooms for a quieter stay (bar closes at around 8pm) or ask for the "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelly B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    206
    144
    53
    94
See reviews for
183
187
45
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bateau Bay
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

I had booked this hotel for my son at christmas and while in bali decided to have a look, well all the photos are a joke, the superior rooms are the old part very musty and damp you would end up very sick. They show no photos of the new building, which is 3 story and not a bali feel at all, small long pool in the middle and no gardens, you could be anywhere.
Also when I approached the reception, they were very unprofessional and seemed lazy, smoking while talking to me., this turned me off straight away, if you want a nice hotel dont stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank glenbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Legian hotels

South Lake Tahoe, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I'll state this upfront. The cleaners stole my camera out of my room. I didn't notice until i had left the hotel the next day but i know for a fact it was stolen from my room. So if you do stay DO NOT let them clean your room. Its not so much the $400 cost but the fact that i lost 2 weeks of photos/videos. They could have at least left the memory card right?

Complaints:
Went to take a shower but no COLD water was available only scalding HOT, so we had to shower in the open bath tub. not a big deal though, just the usual dumb indonesian plumbing, but you wouldn't expect it in a place like Champlung.
We booked in advance and got a good deal but upon arrival they stuck us in a basic room when we had reservations for a deluxe. Not surprised really, most indonesians try to lie and rip you off at every chance. We had to argue forever but when we started to call tourist police they finally gave us what we payed for.
The lights for the room are located OUTSIDE of the room in the hallways. So if you're ever bored just run down the halls of every floor at 3am and turn on every guests lights.
Construction work! Constant banging drilling etc.
No internet even though it is advertised. Another sham.
Upon check in we were ignored and bumped aside for 20 minutes. A bit rude in my opinion.
The balcony doors have cracks so mosquitos come and go a will. No fans either, only a small A/C. Really? All i need is a fan to keep cool and keep the mosquitos from landing on me. Even the cheapest places have fans and/or mosquito nets. This is the only hotel i got mosquito bites while sleeping.

Good:
Sturdy concrete walls.
Breakfast was solid.
Nice pool.
The place is new.
Mostly Clean.
Good location.

Room Tip: Dont leave out valuables. Not all, but at least one cleaner is stealing from guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aliabrahimia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

If u like staying on a building site with constant noise from 7am thro to 10pm(if u r lucky), smelly bathrooms, no hot water( sometimes no water at all), dusty restaurant... Then this Is the place for you.
Only positive from the hotel was the location..... And the breakfast wasn't bad.... When it arrived!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IanMKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western australia
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I should have posted this before, sorry for that.
We stayed here last year and it was great for our budget.
We payed 450 000 for a room with mosquitoes everywhere, the hot water system wasn't on and needed long time to heat up. The grounds were very filthy, the pool had the slimy build-up at water level though it was relaxing. Breakfast was terrible this time. I am still weary of the milk at room temperature. The tables and chairs has oily build-up from not being cleaned properly. After all it is a humid enviornment so people will perspire and that requires more than wiping with a cloth. Cable tv is only avail at resto. The rooms are indo chanells only. Lighting is poor, aircons smell and are noisy. Apart from the building going on all around, the rooms are peaceful as they are quite a way off the road. You will get way better value elsewhere. Try the best rooms at Sayang marha Mertha 300 metres away or even better is Vilarisi accross the road but doesnt have 24 hour pool.

Room Tip: don't stay in the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank balibeli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

This hotel was a good budget hotel in the past, this is no longer the case. Upon arival, the staff were not friendly and our room had not even been swept. The grounds and facilities are worn and in need of TLC. According to some staff, the older section of the hotel (a significant proportion has been demolished and currently being rebuilt) is to be sold off and is reflected in the service and the cleanliness. I was bitten by bed bugs and the reception staff did not wish to acknwledge my plight. I would rather stay in a back packers.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazm_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2011

Hotel rooms smelly,bathrooms a disgrace,we had no water for showers and the management said the tank may be low but we should have some tomorrow,not good after a day in the heat,we had 2 teenagers with us in a separate room there room was the same after complaining about the broken bed they finally moved us to another room no better i might add the door didn't even close.we were supposed to be there for 10 days after 5 we decided to find another hotel,management asked why we were leaving early we told them and all they could say was ok no problem.It was the worst hotel that we have ever stayed in we were not looking for 5 star,but clean with running water would have been nice dont bother to stay there if you want a clean room it wont happen,and as for booking this hotel my travel agent told me it was very good and that she had just stayed there what a load of rubbinsh on her part.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
The Sun Hotel & Spa
The Sun Hotel & Spa
#38 of 87 in Legian
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Serela Legian Hotel
Serela Legian Hotel
#52 of 87 in Legian
169 reviews
0.2 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#24 of 87 in Legian
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 87 in Legian
898 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#62 of 87 in Legian
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#16 of 87 in Legian
1,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Champlung Mas Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Champlung Mas Hotel

Property: Champlung Mas Hotel
Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian, Kuta 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Champlung Mas Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Champlung Mas Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Champlung Mas Legian
Champlung Mas Hotel Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing