We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Plain rooms and dirty pool area”
Review of Sayang Maha Mertha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sayang Maha Mertha
Ranked #82 of 86 Hotels in Legian
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Plain rooms and dirty pool area”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

We didn't expect much given that it was a budget option but even our modest expectations were not met. The room was clean but very sparse with no redeeming features. The pool was ok but the seating area around it was covered with empty bottles, plastic wrappers, cigarette butts, etc. Cancelled our second night and booked somewhere a little more expensive. Definitely worth it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LovechildIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear LovechildIII
we apologize for the inconvenience you are disturbed by the presence of litter and butts rokak pelastik that is in the pool area. and we say thank you for your assessment. we will pay attention to what you convey, so that later on you and the other guests feel more comfortable in the pool so that your holiday more enjoyable.

Regards
Made Sumerta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    60
    82
    51
    63
See reviews for
34
88
56
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed there for 1 night coz I arrived very late in Bali, but I was regretting choosing this hotel. The room was super hot! Impossible to sleep in, the fan wasn't doing anything, just mixing the hot air around! the bed was very old and uncomfortable, so as the pool, and the wifi very poor too.

Helpful?
1 Thank ngohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Legian hotels

Carnegie, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

If you're looking for luxury then obviously this isn't the place for you, but it has everything you need, short walk from beach and restaurants. I would recommend paying a bit more as we did for a 'superior double with air con' it was still only $30 for both of us for the night and from reading other reviews, it was a good decision. We didn't eat at the hotel, the menu didn't look great and there was no need with restaurants close anyway. Rooms were well equipped, even had tv and DVD player. Just wish the bathroom and swimming pool were a bit cleaner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClaireStrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sayanghtl, Manager at Sayang Maha Mertha, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear ClaireStrat

Thank you for your review of this hotel , we will always pay attention to all the guests so that we always had the pleasure of staying here , we will maintain the cleanliness of the room as well as in the area of ​​the hotel and we give more attention to the Restaurants menu so that it looks more attractive . and we hope you will always remember and stay at this hotel ... if you are on holiday to Bali

Regards
Made Sumerta
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my boyfriend, and we both found it very pleasent. the staff were very nice and friendly.. when we left for a week they kepy our big rucksacks in a room for us, this was very handy!! really good location, small walk to the beach, and cheap taxi ride to the town. Food was okay, got bored of it after a few days. Room was pretty good though. However the only thing would be to maybe clean the pool a bit more.. got a bit dirty some days!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I only stayed there for a night coz I arrived in Bali really late and didn't wanna spend too much on accommodation for the night, but i was regretting it. The room was ok in terms of size but pretty dirty. The bathroom had a weird smell and the bed was very uncomfortable, to soft to sleep in it! Also I made a mistake of taking a room without ac! It was probably 30'degrees inside when I got there and outside was cooler than inside. I stayed inn a room without ac in thailand but it's never been that hot in there!
Oh and breakfast was very basic! Just two pieces of toast with butter or jam! And juice squash.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights and was glad to leave. Although it is in a great location, our room was standard with no aircon so melted during the night. Rooms were very basic, no towels etc. Didn't even use the pool, used a friends hotel pool down the rd. Wouldn't stay again and found much better accommodation for the same price (and with aircon) elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rinee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Location not desirable, have to walk down a quiet road but heaps of construction and dust, seems like a million miles to get to the street or beach.
Pool and outdoor area, bar and restaurant all very outdated.
Compared to a five star hotel this place is cheap - but it was the most expensive to date on this 8 month trip .
The water in the bathroom stunk soo bad - i would let the water run for some time before showering , the bathroom was very old.
The bedroom was really basic, although large enough and had a balcony.
The female staff of the hotel were very friendly and welcoming (the younger girls anyway) - the male staff in reception were quite cold and un helpful and unfriendly..
when checking out they tried to charge me for an order from the restaurant which i didnt even order (beers and spaghetti, both of which i dislike a lot) .
Anyway, would i recommend this hotel to friends or on here , no
And i would not stay here again either.
We checked out and moved to another hotel , Central Park Kuta, which i found a sale for online, and worked out to be $5 more expensive than a cold shower basic room at this hotel !!
Central Park Kuta is just like staying in a resort but its not on the beach either - but massive buffet breakfast and brand new everything. so much nicer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.9 mi away
Next Tuban Hotel & Airy
0.7 mi away
Bali Ra Airport Hotel
Bali Ra Airport Hotel
#11 of 20 in Tuban
30 reviews
2.7 mi away
Vilarisi Hotel
Vilarisi Hotel
#74 of 86 in Legian
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
HARRIS Hotel Tuban
#4 of 20 in Tuban
762 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jepun Segara Guest house
2.8 mi away
Duo Legian Hotel
Duo Legian Hotel
#59 of 86 in Legian
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Maha Mertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Maha Mertha

Property: Sayang Maha Mertha
Address: Jl. Melasti, Lebak bene, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#44 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Maha Mertha 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel is located in the famous village of Legian, a pleasent 10 minute drive from the airport, 4 minute walk (100 meters) from the world famous sunset beach of Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sayang Maha Mertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing