We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go look for another hotel”
Review of Sayang Maha Mertha

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sayang Maha Mertha
Ranked #84 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Since we were only on transit in Bali and we only had a night to spend, we chose the cheapest option we could find.
You will be better off spending a few $ more and avoinding this hotel. Rooms were dark, staff not very friendly (which is rare in Bali) and the overall hotel just old and tiered.
But if you're a backpacker who likes to go party at night and just needs a room to crash at night, this might be sufficient...

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samesan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

137 - 143 of 288 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

Don't expect to land on a 5 star hotel as it is a real budget hotel - meaning poor equipment in the room, bad smell, a bathroom that you don't want to spend one hour in for sure and the staff isn't that friendly.

BUT the location is great as it 5min from the beach by walking. You can rent a scooter around (bargain !) and go some places like Legian Jalan, the main street very animated in the night.

The hotel has a swimming pool and free pool table so you can enjoy and connect with foreigners (mainly Aussies). Bed quality was ok.. Get ready to spend more than expected if you want to have a proper breakfast as the one included in the rate is not much... You can ask the hotel for the tours they ca organise but you can find cheaper transportation and make your one one in the street, bargaining with drivers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jbthetraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I stayed here in July 2011, reviewing now as I realise how much I rely on trip advisor reviews and so do others.
Four lads strayed in two twin rooms here. We chose this hotel as we knew we would just crash here so did not want to spend too much.
This is a very cheap hotel and you do get what you paid for and a bit more.
The rooms are clean, beds are comfortable, pool is nice and cold, bar is cheap.
We did not upgrade room to have air con, I regretted this.
The food at the bar was average, chips nice burgers not good at all.
Breaky was included in the very cheap price but we did not make it out of bed in time.
Atmosphere was good seems to be a travellers pit stop rather than hotel for a break. Location was ok 15 mins walking distance to beach in one direction main bars in the other (however you do pass afew bars on the way, worth the stops).
I personally would not stay here again as I would pay the little bit extra and go elsewhere but if you are on a budget this place should be considered.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leannecraigauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Staff are friendly and happy to answer any questions you have. They can also organise tours, transfers and shuttle buses. I was in a room close to the pool, which meant that it could get noisy at night. The restaurant and bar were clean and had an extensive menu.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meandering_HeatherM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2013

nice, clean n friendly staff..but they offer PORK in their menu..not suitable for Muslim to dinning or having breakfast here..i love their pool because it never close, me n friend free to swim until 3am.. but the transport service are terrible, they pick up late and we stuck in traffic jammed and missed to watch "kecak dance" at Uluwatu.

Room Tip: Room 607 nice view..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ezreefa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Had a deluxe room (AC and hot water shower) for two nights. It was a standard room, but not small and clean enough. Since the room was next to the restaurant it was not exactly quiet, but not a big issue. The location of the place is great, after walking around town for two days I appreciated the area within 500 m best - people seemed less aggressive and more friendly than in "downtown". Staff were fantastic - really helpful without trying to sell you everything, such a nice change in Kuta. Also, I have to complement the restaurant that served excellent basic local food to a very good price and the drinks in the bar the same thing - very good value and service. Would definitely come back if decide to stay in Kuta/Legian again.

Room Tip: If you can get a room away from the restaurant it is probably less noisy. The standard rooms vs delu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabSweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2013

ok,
I have lived in some crap places and am used to "roughing it"..But this takes the cake for several reason. Only dumb western tourist might like this (cause most cant understand the language when they are talking about you to your face)

1) HEALTH AND SAFETY: they use a toxic chemical (photographic evidence) for insecticde mixed with diesl and fumugate the area without warning and it will penetrate the rooms.
2) Rubish dumps aronud the corner of most buildings (no lie..have evidence in pictures)
3) EXTREMLEY RUDE STAFF: ok, i dont often get scared easily, but one of the caretakers would constantly give me evil eye it would make you want to cry..serious..like something out of a supernatural horror movie..also...they staff would talk about you in their native lagnuage judging you and abusing you thinking you can not understand..i.e "bangsat, anjing, bajingan etc.." directly to your face when asking a price for a massage (no i was not a sex tourist or a sleaze bag). ALSO..the staff would kick you out for morning clean up.
4) HARASSMENT..even though they have transport and massage you would be sitting on the computer and get annoyed several times with them trying to bargain with you for transport or massage..serious, you shouldt have to have that at your own hotel..
5) bad shower facilites
6) No washing or laundry facilites..
7) NOISE POLLUTION...even though bali is a party town, the would be traffic of scooters and cars right at your front door at all times in the morning..so kiss sleep good bye.
8)..THE SO CALLED FREE BREAKFAST (this might sound picky) is a slice of toast and small fruit and you will get conned into buying breakfast there..so make sure you clarify first.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robert G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.5 mi away
Suka Beach Inn
Suka Beach Inn
#210 of 250 in Kuta
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Restu Bali Hotel
Restu Bali Hotel
#144 of 250 in Kuta
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Mahendra
Hotel Mahendra
#192 of 250 in Kuta
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bali Caps Hostel
Bali Caps Hostel
#101 of 250 in Kuta
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vilarisi Hotel
Vilarisi Hotel
#76 of 88 in Legian
217 reviews
0.4 mi away
Balisani Padma
Balisani Padma
#82 of 88 in Legian
409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayang Maha Mertha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayang Maha Mertha

Address: Jl. Melasti, Lebak bene, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#46 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $10 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sayang Maha Mertha 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel is located in the famous village of Legian, a pleasent 10 minute drive from the airport, 4 minute walk (100 meters) from the world famous sunset beach of Kuta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Sayang Maha Mertha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayang Maha Mertha Hotel Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Legian
Sayang Maha Mertha Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing