We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful hostel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
Ranked #41 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Legian
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful hostel!”
Reviewed July 10, 2014

Beautiful new hostel! Reception is very friendly, and they make good food there. The free breakfast is simple but great- they have an actual menu and the food is served on nice glass plates: a huge step up from hostels where you eat a piece of burnt toast off of a napkin ha. They have an awesome tv area and lots of places to lounge in general, including lots of tables and chairs in the front room, and little groups of chairs all over the place. The location couldn't be more perfect if you're in Kuta for the same reason everyone else is (to party). It is literally ON the party street, a few minutes' walk from the most famous Kuta bars like Skygarden. There are tons of nice restaurants in the area for all budgets and the beach (though mediocre) isn't far either, nor is the big westernized shopping mall. I stayed in a 4-bed room with friends I met: it was simple but nice. Comfy beds with curtains, an individual light and outlets at each one. It's a pretty quiet hostel, I think because people are hesitant to stay here because there aren't many reviews yet due to its newness, but it has the potential to be a great social hostel and I did meet a few people. STAY HERE if you're looking for a Kuta hostel, it's the best!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angelarose92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    10
    3
    13
See reviews for
Families
0
3
43
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We original went to the 1st Kayun hostel but found out it was full. We had no idea this new one existed. They drove us down the road closer to all the action and dropped us off. When we arrived they had no space in the dorms for the 4 of us so they gave us a 6 bed dorm to ourselves for the same price. IT WAS FANTASTIC. Aircon ran all the time. Beds were huge and comfy and quiet. Everyone has their own huge locker. The Batchroom smelt but so does every bathroom in bali. The shower was terrible. But so is every shower in bali. But well worth putting up with for the room.
The bar has cheap food and beers and does coffees. The Jacuzzi is very cool and they are pretty good at disregarding open times. Such as when they let us in there at 4am.
When the girls we were traveling left they let the 2 of us keep the 6 bed dorm to ourselves for the rest of our stay.
The staff were fantastic and very chatty. They were even a bit concerned that we either came to breakfast and drank beers or if we slept in to late. The bar is open 24 hours and is dirt cheap. Mini mart is just across the road with a Commonwealth Bank ATM which was super convenient for us.
Would recommend and stay her again. If I could I would stay here again right now.

Room Tip: Hope for a 6 bed dorm to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Hockey_VBHGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here in June 2014, really friendly staff and well laid out rooms with private bed compartments. Wifi only works in the reception area but the plunge pool and cinema area were great for some downtime. We hired a driver through the hostel to take us to visit 3 temples. Only downside was the aircon was so cold on the first night that it gave two of us a cold but the staff turned it down a bit for us the next day and it was fine.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EmCal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed first of all in the original Kayun down the road, and I must say, its downtown counterpart is a vast improvement on it. The original Kayun had problems with water (It's now fixed as far as I know), but was much more lively. The downtown branch is exactly how it appears in the photos, the jacuzzi and chillout lounge are beyond the call of duty for a hostel, and extremely welcome after a hot day on the beach/surfing. Breakfast included, and the Australian next to me rates it as the best hostel breakfast he's had. Beer is cheap. Staff extremely friendly, and will help you with anything you need doing - booking tours, drivers, finding birthday cakes..! I found the staff were not so approachable in the other Kayun, so essentially, if you're between the two, stay here! Location is the best of any hostel in Kuta. 5 brand new computers and the staff will print your boarding passes - very grateful for it.

Things to improve - needs to be busier! I think people don't know about this place yet, but it picked up a lot towards the end of the stay and we met some great people. Slightly pricey I guess but it does feel like a hotel. Upstairs showers are pretty dismal but the ones downstairs are a dream, and the best we came across in Indo.

Altogether, I would not hesitate to stay here, and would happily go for drinks with the staff.

Room Tip: Group dorms and 4,6 & 8 private dorms are the same price. All rooms are equally well done with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This place is perfect. I couldn't ask more. The location, the environment, the service and best of all the price. It's in the centre of kuta and it's 3 steps away from a nice clubs and beach. I meet so many people here that are adventures and active. The staff are helpful. Thank you kayun. My vacation wouldn't have been the same without you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.0 mi away
J4 Hotels Legian
J4 Hotels Legian
#40 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kayun Hostel
Kayun Hostel
#27 of 81 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bread & Jam Hostel
Bread & Jam Hostel
#7 of 203 in Kuta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Monostel
Monostel
#10 of 81 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#12 of 81 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.2 mi away
Funky Monkey Bali
Funky Monkey Bali
#41 of 203 in Kuta
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KAYUN Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KAYUN Hostel Downtown

Property: KAYUN Hostel Downtown
Address: 182 Legian street, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 81 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayun Downtown is the big sister of award winning Kayun Hostel. Once again bringing you the highest standards of quality, extraordinary design and ultimate friendliness. Located in downtown Kuta on Legian Street; it is steps away from the famous clubs, bars, and Kuta Beach. Everything is accessible and we provide an easy base point for you to explore the island and to meet other travelers. At the hostel, you can meet friends from around the world in our large common area, enjoy free WiFi anywhere in the hostel, dine at our cafe, or relax in our small plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your KAYUN Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KAYUN Hostel Downtown Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing