We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new backpacker. Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
KAYUN Hostel Downtown
Ranked #42 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice new backpacker. Had a great time”
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We original went to the 1st Kayun hostel but found out it was full. We had no idea this new one existed. They drove us down the road closer to all the action and dropped us off. When we arrived they had no space in the dorms for the 4 of us so they gave us a 6 bed dorm to ourselves for the same price. IT WAS FANTASTIC. Aircon ran all the time. Beds were huge and comfy and quiet. Everyone has their own huge locker. The Batchroom smelt but so does every bathroom in bali. The shower was terrible. But so is every shower in bali. But well worth putting up with for the room.
The bar has cheap food and beers and does coffees. The Jacuzzi is very cool and they are pretty good at disregarding open times. Such as when they let us in there at 4am.
When the girls we were traveling left they let the 2 of us keep the 6 bed dorm to ourselves for the rest of our stay.
The staff were fantastic and very chatty. They were even a bit concerned that we either came to breakfast and drank beers or if we slept in to late. The bar is open 24 hours and is dirt cheap. Mini mart is just across the road with a Commonwealth Bank ATM which was super convenient for us.
Would recommend and stay her again. If I could I would stay here again right now.

Room Tip: Hope for a 6 bed dorm to yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott_Hockey_VBHGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    31
    10
    3
    14
See reviews for
1
3
44
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights here in June 2014, really friendly staff and well laid out rooms with private bed compartments. Wifi only works in the reception area but the plunge pool and cinema area were great for some downtime. We hired a driver through the hostel to take us to visit 3 temples. Only downside was the aircon was so cold on the first night that it gave two of us a cold but the staff turned it down a bit for us the next day and it was fine.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank EmCal90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Stayed first of all in the original Kayun down the road, and I must say, its downtown counterpart is a vast improvement on it. The original Kayun had problems with water (It's now fixed as far as I know), but was much more lively. The downtown branch is exactly how it appears in the photos, the jacuzzi and chillout lounge are beyond the call of duty for a hostel, and extremely welcome after a hot day on the beach/surfing. Breakfast included, and the Australian next to me rates it as the best hostel breakfast he's had. Beer is cheap. Staff extremely friendly, and will help you with anything you need doing - booking tours, drivers, finding birthday cakes..! I found the staff were not so approachable in the other Kayun, so essentially, if you're between the two, stay here! Location is the best of any hostel in Kuta. 5 brand new computers and the staff will print your boarding passes - very grateful for it.

Things to improve - needs to be busier! I think people don't know about this place yet, but it picked up a lot towards the end of the stay and we met some great people. Slightly pricey I guess but it does feel like a hotel. Upstairs showers are pretty dismal but the ones downstairs are a dream, and the best we came across in Indo.

Altogether, I would not hesitate to stay here, and would happily go for drinks with the staff.

Room Tip: Group dorms and 4,6 & 8 private dorms are the same price. All rooms are equally well done with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed May 23, 2014

This place is perfect. I couldn't ask more. The location, the environment, the service and best of all the price. It's in the centre of kuta and it's 3 steps away from a nice clubs and beach. I meet so many people here that are adventures and active. The staff are helpful. Thank you kayun. My vacation wouldn't have been the same without you.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yuki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.8 mi away
Bali Caps Hostel
Bali Caps Hostel
#109 of 254 in Kuta
33 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kayun Hostel
Kayun Hostel
#30 of 85 in Legian
176 reviews
0.5 mi away
H-ostel
H-ostel
#4 of 208 in Kuta
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Island Hotel
The Island Hotel
#11 of 85 in Legian
308 reviews
0.3 mi away
CX Hostel Legian
CX Hostel Legian
#15 of 208 in Kuta
50 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nau Here Hostel
Nau Here Hostel
#11 of 208 in Kuta
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KAYUN Hostel Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KAYUN Hostel Downtown

Property: KAYUN Hostel Downtown
Address: 182 Legian street, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 85 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kayun Downtown is the big sister of award winning Kayun Hostel. Once again bringing you the highest standards of quality, extraordinary design and ultimate friendliness. Located in downtown Kuta on Legian Street; it is steps away from the famous clubs, bars, and Kuta Beach. Everything is accessible and we provide an easy base point for you to explore the island and to meet other travelers. At the hostel, you can meet friends from around the world in our large common area, enjoy free WiFi anywhere in the hostel, dine at our cafe, or relax in our small plunge pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Ctrip TA so you can book your KAYUN Hostel Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KAYUN Hostel Downtown Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing