We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Small Hotel”
Review of Hotel Sinar Bali

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sinar Bali
Ranked #73 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel many times in standard and bungalow rooms and found them clean but the bathrooms need a make over and painting through out .
Standard rooms not large but good storage cupboard,TV,and all have had good air -con .
Standard also have a shower only no bath which is good if you have problems getting over the deep baths which many places have in Bali .
Bungalows are a bigger room and bathroom in some are huge but the shower is over the bath which with me is a problem as I have bad knees .
Owners & Staff are wonderful and are always ready to help you if you need anything .
Great pool !! We will be back this year and again next year

Room Tip: Ground floor all rooms face the pool ten steps and you will fall in the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Cheza5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (96)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 96 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2012

This was our first time at this hotel and we were very happy. We stayed first for 1 night as we landed at midnight and were going to Lovina the next day. We arrived at 1.15am and were happy to see security.
We then came back after 10 nights in Lovina...to stay for 4 nights.
We were in the same bungalow again, number 28. It was at the front and huge.
We chose a bungalow as there were 3 of us.
It was enormous, with chairs and table and huge wardrobe and dresser.
Huge bathroom.
The room had a fridge, a phone and tv which gave us international chanels and news.
The restaurant (24 hours) had free wifi and we also picked it up from our porch.
Breakfast was a very small buffet but perfectly adequate.
The pool was gorgeous and sparkling clean and big with easy steps going down into it and a swim up bar. It wasn't hugely stocked but there are not alot of patrons in this small hotel all the time.....you would be served if you called someone over.
The rooms (not the bungalows) apparently have walk in showers, not showers over baths.....so anyone with mobility problems, this hotel would suit. (there is 2 steps entering hotel area though.
The garden was very pretty.
The hotel attracted a quiet older crowd and this suited us fine. People were very respectful.
The staff are just gorgeous. The security walks around at night with a torch making sure all is well.
I have read peoples grumbles with the dated bathrooms.
Yes this is true....but 1/ Bali bathrooms are often dated and that bright blue shade.....in cheaper hotels.
And 2/ this is a cheaper hotel, I do not have champagne taste on a beer budget.
You pay cheap (and in my opinion $60 a night for 3 of us in a bungalow with breakfast, pool. good air con and wifi is reasonably cheap) then don't expect marble bathrooms with free water....they come in $100 plus hotels.
In the surrounding area, there were salons for massage...don't go to Carla spa though as they cut it short by 15 minutes.
There were shops and market shops.
You csn cut through to the beach.
There were restaurants around and if you wanted a cheapie, it wasn't far to walk down padma Utara to Warung Yogya.
It was a short taxi ride up to Bintang supermarket and across the road to PT central money changer.
We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank WSAH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2011

Sinar Bali is walking distance from the beach and from the town centre. The bedroom was pleasant and the pool delightful. However, the bathroom was in need of modernising and the whole hotel was swarming with mosquitoes. I would expect higher standards of cleanliness for the amount that we paid.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jamiddlebrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

ok, the rooms are old, but clean, everything works fine, the staff are the best, love them!!!
can have so much fun with them.
best rooms (but thats our opinion are the bungalows) we always request room 22.
food in restaurant is just as good if not better than any out on the street, best chicken satays around.
great social hotel, being small, so you meet lots of people
breakfast is good, even though we are never up in time to have it.
and the perfect position , close to everything, shopping, beach etc etc.
would highly recommend, if we couldnt get into sinar, it wouldnt be the same.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank notenoughbali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

My Fiancé and I had been back packing around SE Asia for 3 months and Bali was our last stop before heading off to Aus to start work for 12 months! So for us this was luxury compared to the hostels we had been staying in... The pool is great and very chilled out. There is a community vibe as everyone chatted around the pool which is nice. Our room was ok, the curtains were a bit dirty and the window in the bathroom didn't shut so the Mosquitos could get in which wasn't great at night! We had to use our mozzie net! We only had 3 channels that worked on the TV. Some of the staff were extremely friendly and a credit to the hotel.. But others were quite frankly lazy and ignored requests. We had to get our own menu off the bar in the restaurant and disturb the 'waitress' from the TV for attention, when you did get served the food would take 45 mins to come out. Also although the food was nice it wasn't always as described on the menu. For example the chicken cashew nut meal had no cashew nuts! And the satay chicken with peanut sauce had no peanut sauce! During our stay they ran out of wine, large beers, vodka and French fries so it was hit and miss whether we could have what we fancied. We requested to stay one more night but they had booked out our room, which was fair enough but they moved us to a room with no fridge or window and they told is it was the same price! I don't think we would return here because the small complaints added up and became quite frustrating after a while. We stayed 6 nights in total, as the place is in a great location with nice restaurant and a lovely beach! So that saved our Bali trip in the end.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank R0byn26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

we stayed at sinar for 14 nights we are aged in our 50 and 60 we loved the pool, the
friendly staff and the closeness to all shopping, restaurants and beach. The rooms were cleaned every day, fresh sheets. The bathroom is a little outdated and hot water takes a little while to come through, but that wasnt a real problem. The restaurant was open 24 hours, good food and always willing to accommodate. Wouldnt recomend it for a family with children, as it seems to be older people stay here..

julie and the girls

Room Tip: ground floor or the bungalows but not rooms 20 through to 23
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank julie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We stayed 9 nights as a family of 4 with teenage children in 2 bungalows. At $50 per night per bungalow it was excellent value. Breakfast was included, this is a rotation of 3 hot dishes each day 2 western and 1 Indonesian and toast and 2 eggs as you like them. We found breakfast was great and enjoyed the indonesian dishes in particular.

The staff are all friendly and helpful. The grounds and the pool are a good size for a smaller complex and a tranquil oasis. The bungalows we stayed in were a good size. Ours had a full king size bed, it was a little hard but not a problem and my wife has a sensitive back and the Girls had twin beds. The bathrooms are old but clean and water pressure and temp was good most of the time but there were a couple of days where it was low pressure. The rooms were cleaned daily and kept fresh.

The restaurant does a range of meals but we usually ate out although we shared a couple of pizzas as snacks and they were tasty. The pool bar operates from 10am to around 5 pm but has few customers as the place isnt a party hotel. We had a couple of cocktails one afternoon and they were fine.

It was lovely in the vening after dinnner and after the kids were in bed to sit on the porch watch the lights shimmer on the pool and just drink in the quiet and serenity.

The other guests were all polite and quiet. I would stay again without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank Physim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.3 mi away
Garden View Resort
Garden View Resort
#78 of 88 in Legian
209 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kusnadi Hotel
Kusnadi Hotel
#46 of 88 in Legian
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
Grand Sinar Indah Hotel
#60 of 88 in Legian
156 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#30 of 88 in Legian
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Zest Hotel Legian
Zest Hotel Legian
#16 of 88 in Legian
205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sinar Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sinar Bali

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $34 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Sinar Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sinar Bali Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing