We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Friendly Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here twice, one was March last year and the other one was early this month. My first stay was by myself. I was traveling solo with a friend but she had another room. I can still remember how delicious their breakfast was and how friendly the people there that I had a very good first impression and decided to stay there again with my son.

My second stay is as good as I imagined. People are friendly, the room is cleaned everyday, various selection of breakfast and nice swimming pool. My son loves it there. The hotel environment is not so crowded, it's even quiet for me during that high season. Location is perfect too. About 10min walk to Legian beach, many restaurants nearby, mini mart, laundry and ATM are just few steps from the hotel. Although so, I think the room rate is a bit high for classic room. I got about $68/nite for classic room in high season (second stay) while my first stay was about $60.

Minor notes from me would be that few ants I found in the room and I think they should renovate that front office. It looks too old and not taken care well.

Other than that, it's a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank novangely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    220
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
121
154
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

Stayed at the Baleka Resort in May 2013. What a hidden gem Booked a superior room and was given one on the ground floor (as requested) n the older section at the recepton end of the complex , away from te pool and bar.
The rooms had been refurbished and mne was lean, comforable , quiet and HUGE. Separate bathroom and dressing area, King size bed , very comfortable (firm like I like them)and room enough to fit another King Size bed end to end !
Found the staff friendly and helpful.
Great location - the hotel opposite fronts the beach and provides a convenient short cut .
Wold definitely stay again .

Room Tip: Older refurbished rooms at the reception end, away from pool, restaurant, and bar,quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Over all not a bad little hotel.
Make sure you are given the right room on arrival to avoid having to be up graded to the correct room and having to move.
Friendly staff and very clean hotel.
Good breakfast with very efficient staff willing to please.
If requesting anything for you room it all seems to hard .
I had to ask 3 days for a extra glass as there was a extra person staying in room ,. i eventually got the smallest glass you could get. As for extra pillows didn't get !
Also the toiletries weren't replaced .
Only two towels left for three people every day.
Didn't cater for the full paying third person .
Couldn't even get a chair to sit on the outside area for the third person.
Swimming Pool in the shade most of the day so a very cold pool !
Everyone ended up with back problems as the beds were rock hard !

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have private areas to sit behind trees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 51Denise51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Away from all the noise but literally a 5/10minute walk to beach, great location for a holiday in this busy resort! As it was our honeymoon they put rose petals in the bath and on the bed ready for our arrival. Very clean, large rooms. The staff are always smiling ready to help! Breakfast is a buffet selection and you can choose your style of egg from a separate egg station. We really enjoyed and thought the food was always fresh, yes there are flies but it's outside so what do you expect! All the food had covers. Would return here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou_Thorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose to stay in Baleka Resort for two nights after having read all the positive comments about it. I don't understand how anyone could have thought that this hotel was nice or worth the money! There are so many other nicer and cheaper places around the area.

We were disappointed from the first minute we got there. Our room was by the pool side, facing the sun loungers and even though it was afternoon and there was no more sun the pool side area was full of loud young people yelling and drinking and listening to their own music. Some of them were even shouting at us asking if we were single when we walked by! Even inside our room through closed doors it sounded like you were part of a loud spring break party, so it was very far from the relaxing stay we had in mind.

The pool area was very uninviting and dirty looking, and people actually warned us not to go in the pool since the people drinking cocktails in the pool bar were apparently peeing in it! Also for those who want to sunbathe and get a tan - this is no place for you since there is no sunlight by the pool at any time during the day!

We tried to stay in our room but after our mini bar was flooding and was filling with ants from every direction and the noise was getting unbearable we complained to the staff about it and asked if we could see another room. The staff then showed us to another room upstairs but since there were three of us there was no way that a third person could have fit in the small upstairs room since there was no space to put a mattress on the floor. We were then showed to their family room, which was further away from the pool and was quieter, but smelled so stuffy and mouldy it was hard to breath and the whole room was really dark and gross.

After seeing all the options we decided that we didn't want to stay at Baleka, so we asked if we could just get our money back and leave. There was another much nicer hotel near by where we had stayed the night before so we could have easily just gone back there. The staff, however, refused to give us a refund and so we asked to see the manager. The manager was the rudest manager I have ever talked to, he kept arguing with us that we can't leave and that since we have paid for the one night we have to stay since they have a 24hour cancellation policy. We kept explaining to him that since they can't offer us a room that we can all fit in and isn't right next to a drunken party or smell like mould we don't want to stay and pay for our night and it would be easier for them to just let us leave. The manger kept arguing with us in the middle of the lobby, which I'm sure didn't make the hotel look good but in the end he refused and we had to stay in the family room against our will. Unbelievable behaviour from the management!

The next morning we couldn't wait to get out of there but went to check out the breakfast before leaving. It was like walking into a cruise ship canteen, people were crowding each other and even though there were plenty of choice available, the quality of the food was so disgusting we ended up not eating anything.

What a joke of a place, full of badly behaving loud people, dirty pool, gross food and the manager equally disappointing in his behaviour. PLEASE please don't stay here!

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are really noisy and the family rooms stink like mould
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilia690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

Went to the Baleka after having to leave the Kumala Hotel as the beds were like rocks What a find I could not fault this hotel.Toni should us all the rooms available we chose the ones near the pool.We got 2 twin rooms which were modern and huge ,the bathroom was also huge compared to many hotels it could have been a 5 star room Pool was big kids loved it Breakfast was great something different everyday Absolutely lovely stay

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAURY003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling future customers perceive and expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

We chose the Baleka after reading the positive TA reviews. We were not disappointed. We stayed 7 nights but would have been happy to stay a month. We were in room 368, this room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was as good as anything we have seen in 5 star hotels.

The included breakfast was a relatively simple, but nice affair. At night the restaurant served all the regular favourites for a reasonable price.

The staff are what makes the Baleka. Within a day or so they would remember your name, welcoming you each time. Scoobie went to great lengths to remember our names individually, a really nice touch.

We felt that the location was perfect, centrally located between Kuta and Seminak. After a couple of taxi rides we discovered that the metred fare is only $2.50 AUD. Some asked up to $10.00.
We later met a local driver with his car waiting at the front of the resort. We used him for all our transport needs ie: drop @Waterbom then phoned him 10 hrs later to be picked up, brilliant.

Baleka is what's known as a Balinese style resort because it has gardens and water features within the grounds. Newer hotels tend to be concrete multilevel boxes that lack character.

Room Tip: Superior suits above ground level near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PettoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
1.0 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#23 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#26 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#11 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian 80225, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Legian
#22 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#22 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baleka Resort & Spa enjoys a prime Legian location that puts it within easy walking distance to a celebrated stretch of sunset beach as well as an extensive array of shopping and dining options. With two convenient entrance points, the property is well placed to experience the sights Bali's most popular lifestyle district up close and personal. Situated in between Kuta and Seminyak, Legian is an evolving destination known for its vibrant beach culture and carefree ambience. It attracts travellers from all walks of life who are looking for a pleasure-filled break. Baleka Resort & Spa is just 12km from Ngurah Rai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baleka Beach Hotel Legian
Baleka Beach Resort
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing