We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OMG what a find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“OMG what a find”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We chose the Baleka after reading the positive TA reviews. We were not disappointed. We stayed 7 nights but would have been happy to stay a month. We were in room 368, this room was large and comfortable, the bathroom was as good as anything we have seen in 5 star hotels.

The included breakfast was a relatively simple, but nice affair. At night the restaurant served all the regular favourites for a reasonable price.

The staff are what makes the Baleka. Within a day or so they would remember your name, welcoming you each time. Scoobie went to great lengths to remember our names individually, a really nice touch.

We felt that the location was perfect, centrally located between Kuta and Seminak. After a couple of taxi rides we discovered that the metred fare is only $2.50 AUD. Some asked up to $10.00.
We later met a local driver with his car waiting at the front of the resort. We used him for all our transport needs ie: drop @Waterbom then phoned him 10 hrs later to be picked up, brilliant.

Baleka is what's known as a Balinese style resort because it has gardens and water features within the grounds. Newer hotels tend to be concrete multilevel boxes that lack character.

Room Tip: Superior suits above ground level near the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PettoA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    226
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
124
158
49
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I have just got back from a week in Bali staying at Baleka. It was the first time I stayed and will be going back. It is value for money and is in a great location. The breakfast buffet was great but I did not eat at the hotel for my other meals. I stayed in a Superior room which was very comfortable and well maintained. The only problem is the shower head put water all over the floor. The pool was lovely and clean.

Room Tip: Rooms near the lobby are very quiet. Some deluxe rooms face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel99Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Arrived at hotel greeted by front desk and given upgraded room. This was lovely. However on reflection I think I should of insisted on seeing both rooms before agreeing. Although up grade was satisfactory it was right next to pool which was loud at times. If your a young couple or family this is a good hotel for a good price. Breakfast very good.
No fan in Room (new) rooms air con only which is not great. Tropics lend itself to fans.
We did book a trip to Gili Air from the hotel and paid then we were told the following day we had to pay an extra $25. We insisted that they get back to company and honour our ticket. After speaking to others who had booked the first price we were quoted was correct. This made me a bit sad that we were asked to pay extra money. Deal was eventually honoured.
Pool was cold which is lovely when your hot but as they have built new extension close to pool it blocks out sun for part of the day.
Rooms clean, staff friendly.

Room Tip: When making travel arrangements from hotel ask around local ticketing outlets they will give you a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank schumanpownalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Had a wonderful 2 weeks, Scooby (works in the restaurant) is AMAZING. Remembered us from day 1 by name & room number (group of 4) said hello everyday (a PERFECT host - genuine). ALL staff delightful. Chris - poolside attendant, HARD WORKING chap who didn't cease to amaze us.

Food was great, wet bar could do with a vamp & be inviting to want to sit in the pool & drink cocktails & Bintangs when quite humid instead of an air conditioned room - it needs to be more inviting & engaging. Could consider new sun lounges.

Close to shopping, dining from each end of the Hotel & not too far from beach.

Rooms (deluxe) was nice & comfortable.

Would go back to this hotel again; however this would only be to visit the friendly & always smiling staff. We would stay elsewhere as front desk management let's this hotel down with a bitter taste of rudeness & non listening.

Forget airport transfers, catch a Blue Bird Taxi THEY R EVERYWHERE & less than half the price the Hotel charges (who benefits from this - certainly not the driver).

We requested late checkin & airport transfers with booking online through Agoda, this is subjected to availability & cannot be guaranteed by the hotel. All good & well, however when you ring to confirm everything before arrival & are told "Yes mam, this is good our driver will be at the airport to pick your group up" only to arrive & be told you have to pay US$15 each way as this is not part of the booking its a seperate cost. It's WRONG & this had to be followed up for several days. Lady manager was RUDE & when I showed receipt & explained a phone call was made to Hotel to confirm all details of booking along with airport transfers she was insinuating I was lying. I mentioned to her that the airport transfer should be something not asked as Special Request but instead clearly stated as the Hotel can provide this service but at a cost. At the very least an email sent prior to arrival of guests who have ticked the box & give relevant information reg cost. To me this is not subject to availability & cannot be guaranteed.

This is the hotel not being truly clear as this is an EXTRA COST & not something that is seen to be provided as part of the Hotel service. VERY MISLEADING.

Would not return to this Hotel as there is many others to choose from that include this as a part of their service. Next trip back to The Puri Raja.

Oh & before you head to Bali look up AGUS Bali Private Tour Guide www.agusbali.com ABSOLUTELY WELL WORTH HIS PRICE. A beautiful man who listens to what you want from a tour and gives it. Would not have anyone else when we visit next. VERY SPECIAL.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melszzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed recently for the first time for 7 nights. We had seen the hotel from the road a few years ago and had no idea what to expect - we were pleasantly surprised it was great value for money and in a great position with access to the street from two different sides of the hotel.

We chose a deluxe room and were initially given a ground floor poolside room. Unfortunately it had a connecting door to the room next door and we just found it far too noisy for us. Upon being woken by some inconsiderate neighbours one night we went straight to reception and they offered us a change of room there and then at midnight. We chose our room and were very happy after that. The staff were most obliging and helpful with this matter and could not help us enough.

All staff we met, from restaurant staff, cleaners to reception were very happy and so it made for a happy place to stay. Breakfast was ok and adequate - did not try any other meals. The pool area was great and spotless - the lounge chairs do desperately need an upgrade though. The pool is in shade for most of the afternoon which we liked.

Overall a great hotel and value for money. The renovations have made it a great little hotel and we would not hesitate to stay again but I can see how it could become party central as it is such a great spot and such a fun place to stay.

Well done to the staff at Baleka for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljsroslyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We have learned the most specific comment has been noted from your comment for our action to make sure the future customers satisfaction . We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including for another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling customers expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This was the fourth time i have stayed at Baleka and it gets better and better each time i come.
The staff are alway and have always been brilliant. The Spa centre is much bigger and better.
The restaurant is much better. Pool is as awesome as ever with its swim up bar. Breakfast buffet was fantastic. room renovations over the years have paid off the rooms are fantastic and have so greatly improved. Only fault is with the renovations of three floors it has blocked alot of the sunlight from the pool area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amyandbrendan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including the Lobby and another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling future customers perceive and expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed 7 nts and have stayed here previously on 2 occasions in 2005 and 2010. This has been the best stay yet. Pool crystal clear, rooms renovated, breakfast good. Good value for money and would recommend this hotel for a good deal. Love the location in legian and could not fault the hotel.
Was not initially keen to stay after our last time but saw it was renovated and husband was keen. Deluxe rooms a great size. Paid US$80/nt and was a separate room/daybed for our son, microwave and kitchenette and outdoor shower.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Deluxe room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmandaLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baleka R, General Manager at Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Greetings from Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa at Legian , Kuta - Bali
Thank you for writing your feedback after your stay at Baleka. We just started to upgrade the resort and being not yet completed and will take a couple years to do that including the Lobby and another pool where the Temple is located. There some rooms need a priority to be upgraded and scheduled in the beginning of next year 2014.
We also very concern to upgrade our food quality, presentation and it facilities as well.
Once again, thank you for your comment which is very useful for us to make better and better both product and services itself to fulfilling future customers perceive and expectation.
Regards,
Gede Kardita
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
1.0 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#21 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#18 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
0.5 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#28 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
1.1 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#33 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian 80225, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Legian
#22 Spa Hotel in Legian
#22 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baleka Resort & Spa enjoys a prime Legian location that puts it within easy walking distance to a celebrated stretch of sunset beach as well as an extensive array of shopping and dining options. With two convenient entrance points, the property is well placed to experience the sights Bali's most popular lifestyle district up close and personal. Situated in between Kuta and Seminyak, Legian is an evolving destination known for its vibrant beach culture and carefree ambience. It attracts travellers from all walks of life who are looking for a pleasure-filled break. Baleka Resort & Spa is just 12km from Ngurah Rai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baleka Beach Hotel Legian
Baleka Beach Resort
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing