We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Rooms, but Renovations in progress” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #32 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
NSW
Level Contributor
121 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Nice Rooms, but Renovations in progress”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We had, what seemed, a new room. It was very light and spacious and had a great little sitting area out on the balcony. The only downside was the renovations going on while we were there. It was right next to our room and also overlooking the pool, so it was quite noisy during the day. Breakfast in the restaurant was good and the staff were friendly. The name's a bit misleading as it's not on the Beach, but it's about a 5-10 minute walk, depending on whether you cut through one of the other resorts nearby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelnblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    220
    76
    23
    17
See reviews for
121
154
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

When we arrived, we were put into a classic room (which we paid for) but it was a twin room - as we are travelling as a couple, this wouldn't do - however they advised that as there were no doubles available, we'd be moved the next day, which was ok with us. The next morning, they upgraded us to a superior room due to the mix up, which was lovely of them. The staff at the hotel were fantastic; really friendly and went out of their way to help. We needed to call the front desk to get things fixed a couple of times, and each time, the service was prompt and friendly.

There is some construction at the hotel, which wasn't too much of an intrusion, however it means that at this time of year (travelled in June), the pool is mostly in shade now, which is a shame. We did use the pool, and even though it was cold, it refreshed us. Breakfast was nice, quite basic, but the omelettes are good and there is lovely fresh fruit. The coffee is typical Bali coffee, but there is a FANTASTIC cafe just down the road - Mugshots. It makes brilliant coffee - we were daily regulars there after breakfast.

The beach is, as the crow flies, close, but there is no direct route, so it actually takes about 10-15 mins to walk. Next time i'll find somewhere closer to the beach, or we'll hire a scooter. There are mini marts and massage shops within a very short walk, so you have everything you need.

All in all, we were happy enough with Baleka and would recommend it.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are right below and near the construction - the construction is only during the day and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteandtrisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Even tho we only had 5 days here and did have a problem with our shower, we will most definately be returning to this resort. We loved our room, the restuarant, the staff and everything about this resort. We had just come from another resort so had a good comparision between the two and Baleka wins hands down for us. Even with the renovations going on we were happy. The internet is a bit unreliable, but I think that is the normal for Bali and I don't spend much time online whilst on holidays as there is to many other things to do.

Room Tip: Rooms near reception seem to be the higher quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue53106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

The best thing about the hotel is that it's front entrance is a short walk from Legian Street and the back entrance is close to restaurants and shopping. They are renovating at the moment so it's cheap but it's hammering goes on all day. The pool is great but the area is skinny so the pool chairs are set in rows and only really get the morning sun. Internet was always cutting out. I paid $50 and for that price it was good value but any more than that and there are other places that would probably be better if it's a lie around the pool holiday you want. The original room i got was a twin and upstairs and very ordinary but the 2nd room (I asked to move) was much larger and nicer. Didn't eat much from the restaurant but what I did eat was average.

Room Tip: make sure if you're a single traveller you ask for a queen bed not a twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2di4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Ocean Road
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2012

Had booked a Classic Room but they were full and were upgraded to a Superior Room 158. Very pleased with the room, it had large twin beds, a large bathroom, great tv and dvd player. Balcony look out over the street, still building works going on but didn't inpact on our stay. Have stayed her 3 times now in different type of rooms and will stay again. Breakfast was great, plentiful, freshly cooked eggs if you want, lots of fresh fruit.

Staff were great. Very helpful and friendly.

We had a great stay, and will do so again. We want to see the building works when they have finished, we have seen them from the hole in the ground stage.

Lots of places to eat a few minutes walk out the back or the front of hotel as well as lots of shopping opportunitys.

Room Tip: A room away from the pool, it can get noisy at the bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank croxholden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
unknown
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2012

We arrived late at night around 10 at night and were offered an "upgraded deluxe" room as compared to the deluxe room we booked due to the deluxe rooms being full. After 1 hour, the room 160 was still hot and stuffy, so we called room service and requested for a change in room. We were changed to the room beside, room 159. Even with the airconditioning blowing at a temperature of 16 degrees celsius at high speed, it felt like 29 degree celsius in the room. We were too tired to argue with the staff and slept without blankets.

The next day, we tried to change rooms to the original deluxe rooms that we booked but were rejected due to the same reason of rooms being full. My friends, who arrived a day later, were given the deluxe room by the pool, where the air conditioning and wireless internet were so much better.

If you book this hotel, make sure you do not accept the so-called "upgraded deluxe" rooms (rooms 158-161). The toilets had a stink to them that refused to go off and wireless internet was really cranky and can hardly be detected.

One more issue to note, when we put up the sign for room service and even called the operator to request for the room to be made up before we went for dinner, after dinner the room was still in the original messed state. We had to call the operator again to re-request for the room to be made up before it was done so.

As mentioned by many others, the place is undergoing renovations, and they do start banging rather early around 8 in the morning. For us, this was not much of a hassle as we joined tours daily and had to wake early anyway. If you need plenty of rest and relaxation, you are better off staying elsewhere.

Reason why this hotel is poor not terrible is because
1) Staff in charge of room service, in particular air conditioning had a good attitude and sincere.
2) Breakfast was okay.
3) Location was good.

Overall, for the price that I paid, I expected something better. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jayellearezee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

Booked 2x2 bedroom family rooms. When we arrived there were no 2 bedroom family rooms and man at reception thought it was okay to put 2 mattresses on the floor for my cousins children to sleep, not okay especially after she paid $245.00 per night for a renovated 2 bedroom family suite.There was bamboo scaffolding right outside our rooms held together with rusted wire ( The baboo moved when rattled ) and this was holding up another floor.Large holes in the ground near the pathways which were covered in after we had complained to Flight centre.Unfortunately we had to stay here the night and Flight centre had us moved to another resort the next day. The photo's on the Balekas website are nothing like what you see when you arrive.We couldn't wait to get out of this so called renovated resort. It was a terrible start to our holiday, however all was good when we arrived at our new resort.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank travelbugz086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
1.0 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Lokha Legian
The Lokha Legian
#26 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#11 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian 80225, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Legian
#22 Spa Hotel in Legian
#22 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baleka Resort & Spa enjoys a prime Legian location that puts it within easy walking distance to a celebrated stretch of sunset beach as well as an extensive array of shopping and dining options. With two convenient entrance points, the property is well placed to experience the sights Bali's most popular lifestyle district up close and personal. Situated in between Kuta and Seminyak, Legian is an evolving destination known for its vibrant beach culture and carefree ambience. It attracts travellers from all walks of life who are looking for a pleasure-filled break. Baleka Resort & Spa is just 12km from Ngurah Rai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baleka Beach Hotel Legian
Baleka Beach Resort
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing