We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Baleka”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Ranked #30 of 86 Hotels in Legian
New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing Baleka”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I booked our stay at the Baleka after finding hotels very booked and hard to get into. It had quite a good review on trip advisor so i was happy with the booking. On arrival we were checked into our standard room. I can say that after 4 trips to Bali this was the worst room i have ever stayed in. The bathroom was very tired and the towels were even threadbare. We only lasted one night before we upgraded to a deluxe room by the pool. This was a million times better in the standard of the room BUT....... we were right next door to the bar/restaurant and the very loud music and base kept us awake for the next four nights. I will never stay here again!

Room Tip: Pick a deluxe room but as far from the bar as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    227
    78
    23
    17
See reviews for
125
159
50
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

The room was clean, the shower was hot and the bed was very comfortable. We only booked and stayed for one night and it was OK. Breakfast was disapointing with not much selection but we didnt pick the hotel for the food.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elly-Quant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Having previously stayed at the Jayakarta just around the corner, comparatively this property is great value for money. There are several wings, so make sure you get a superior or deluxe room in one of the newer wings.

Our room was the closest to the bar/restaurant/pool and we found that the noise really wasn't too much of an issue. The music playing from the bar during the day was cool to chill out to, and at night they turned it down at a reasonable hour. If you have small kids though, you might choose one of the rooms away from the pool area where it is much quieter.

The rooms were really clean and very well presented.

Breakfast isn't the best, but there are plenty of restaurants/cafe's near by.

All round, a very enjoyable experience!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PlayfulPup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2011

the hotel was excellent for the price we paid for it, but we noticed that the price was much more expensive at the hotel than what we booked it for through a travel agent. the food at the restaurant was great and inexpensive. the pool was lovely, and we enjoyed the swim up bar. the staff were friendly and helpful. the renovations did not bother us at all, and the new rooms looked quite nice. we stayed in the oldest rooms and they were perfectly nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank swimmergirl_j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broome
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

Small hotel that has just had a bit of an upgrade. Very friendly helpful staff . Good location close to all u need. Had superior room that was fine 3 star standard. Room very clean huge bathroom.
pays to check a few websites for prices this hotel, Agoda had rooms for about $65 AU
Good couples hotel.

Room Tip: check various websites for deals
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank petebme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed at the Baleka in Sep 2010, it was our first time in Bali so we wernt sure what to expect. Especially after reading the reviews on here from some people.We found the best thing about the hotel was the staff, they are all very very friendly and helpful. The food is great, with room service at any hour of the night. The pool was clean and beautiful, with a pool bar that was operational (reviews said it was not use) they are not always in it but they come to it when they see you. The only thing we were not too pleased with was the standard room, but we are going back again this year and have upgraded to a superior. The standard rooms are a bit dark and old. But it was clean and aircon worked, and we only used it for sleeping in anyway. I have heard they are doing renovations on them now anyway. I overheard a few people having trouble with their booking when they arrived so I would suggest confirming with them before you arrive to ensure they are ready for you. Overall a really good budget hotel with a close walk to beach and all amenities. Love you Baleka!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cinterella87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KUALA LUMPUR, MALAYSIA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Stayed 3 nights based on reviews and it was but the 'worst' experience from any hotel I stayed..! The 'Standard Room' as advertised, every wonder why they only show the 'bathroom' in the website ..? Cos its just about that... nothing to show from the room everything are very 'old'... There are no tea making facilities and when asked, where told that they do not provide that for a 'Standard' room,but we can upgrade to a Superior for additional charges...!

To asked for a glass of hot water for medication during an emergency, the guy at the Reception has nothing to say other than.. " We do not offer that for a Standard Room"... ! It was only when told that it was an Emergency that he relented...! I wonder how 'much' would a glass of hot water costs, to save a life...! And it definitely would not cost much for a so called Hotel and Resort to provide a kettle and cups in the rooms...,!

Other than that, the hotel is having a renovation, noisy at night if yr room is near the hotel front cos there is a pub with live singers and fun lovers.... mosquitoes in the room ...

Other than the poor service of that particular guy at the reception, those at the restaurants are very friendly and helpful. Perhaps they should be stationed at the Reception instead..!

The landscape is nice, especially at night, and room cleaned every day. Maybe if they emphasis more of the guests convenient and needs, perhaps it will be a better place to say.

Room Tip: Pay more.... just to have tea making facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUDDTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
1.0 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#22 of 86 in Legian
886 reviews
0.1 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#18 of 86 in Legian
1,135 reviews
0.3 mi away
All Seasons Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 86 in Legian
2,289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#17 of 86 in Legian
1,205 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa Padma Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa

Property: Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Werkudara, Legian 80225, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Legian
#22 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#22 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Baleka Resort & Spa enjoys a prime Legian location that puts it within easy walking distance to a celebrated stretch of sunset beach as well as an extensive array of shopping and dining options. With two convenient entrance points, the property is well placed to experience the sights Bali's most popular lifestyle district up close and personal. Situated in between Kuta and Seminyak, Legian is an evolving destination known for its vibrant beach culture and carefree ambience. It attracts travellers from all walks of life who are looking for a pleasure-filled break. Baleka Resort & Spa is just 12km from Ngurah Rai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baleka Beach Hotel Legian
Baleka Beach Resort
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing