We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
Ranked #13 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great hotel Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014

Stayed for a week - Monday through to Friday. The hotel and it's location were great. The hotel is fairly new - clean and comfortable with friendly/helpful staff. Breakfast was included - a buffet found at the entrance - which was enjoyable and the hot food varied over the week. The location was spot on with the hotel set back a little from the main street of Legian. We spent most of our time walking and found great places to eat nearby and shop at market stores. The beach was an easy walk, as were the larger shopping centres .. a little further on. We would certainly go back and recommend the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaL6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    210
    196
    48
    10
    7
See reviews for
55
218
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

Excellent location, hotel is fairly new so rooms and areas are in good condition. Main pool was good enough. Friendly staff !

Negatives would be the hotel breakfast was not the best and got repetitive after a few mornings, and the lack of a proper travel desk giving you good advise and information about tours ect.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmuso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014

We stayed here for one night while waiting for a connecting flight. The staff were friendly and the rooms were very nice, clean and comfortable. The pool area is very relaxing and the rooftop bar has a nice chilled out feeling.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2014 via mobile

Travelled to Bali for the first time in August 2014 and didn't know what to expect. We came for the relaxation and culture rather than to party and the Sun Island provided the perfect base to do both.

It's located on Legian street around a 5-10 minute walk to the heart of the bar and club scene and a 10-15 minute walk to the beach. It's surrounded by good bars and restaurants.

The Sun Island has two pools which although small and both decent, with the pool bar being a highlight. They could do with more sunbeds around the pool but there isn't space for anymore.

The hotel is spotlessly clean and the rooms are excellent, despite ours looking out onto a wall, we were rarely in the room so this mattered little.

One thing that must be said about the Sun Island are that the staff are outstanding and cannot do enough for you. This goes for everyone, from the receptionists, bar staff to the cleaners. They really made our stay special.

The breakfast is decent and the menu for lunch and dinner is excellent and worth the price.

The hotel are really happy to help with tours and taxis which definitely helped a newbie in Bali.

One minor criticism would be the wifi which constantly dropped out and was slow but this is really didn't matter too much.

Would highly recommend and would love to stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank MatthewHZ91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014

We stayed for a long weekend recently and thought it was great. The hotel is extremely well cleaned, the staff were very friendly and helpful. Our room turned out to be next to the gate near the lobby and we asked to be moved to the back of the hotel. This was done with no fuss at all. There was a rooster crowing as other reviewers have said but this did not bother us. We noticed that the hotel had supplied ear plugs in the bedside table if you wanted to use them. The breakfast buffet was ample and varied. The pool at the top of the hotel was great - so much fun to lounge around with a drink and watch the craziness of kuta below. The room was a bit small but it was well designed, clean and modern.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huckle08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

Amazing staff , breakfast is GOOD ! It's free people cum'on ! What do you expect 5 star 3 course meal ? Better than most places where it's included. Great room service , good location , 24 hour reception , room spotless everyday . Couldn't really fault it apart from needs a bigger pool as not deep enough to swim in. But hey there's a 1000 other places in legian/Seminyak with perfect pools just a ten min taxi away. Thanks sun island

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014 via mobile

We recently stayed at this hotel for 6 nights and had some reservations regarding previous reviews ... however when we arrived I can honestly say that the pictures do support the actual hotel when you are there .
We stayed in room 102 ( ground floor near those metal doors people talk about ) and never found them to be a major problem .. Once or twice people would come back late and would close a little heavy but I wouldn't have considered it a major issue ( and I am a lite sleeper anyway ) .
Best bit about the deluxe rooms are the king beds. Very comfy , rooms are not massive but sufficient to move around . Bathrooms are fine too with a large shower area . Has everything you need (tv. Safe. Hairdryer. Kettle. Fridge etc )
I found check in to be fine .. Yes they offer you the option of pre_ approval of your credit card $50_100 or a cash bond .. if you can't do either then you do pay for each purchase in cash at the time .. not sure what other previous complaints had issues with .

Breakfast is nothing special ( typical bali buffet style ) but they do have an egg station which make your faves every morning ) but it was fine

Great bar and Deco at front of hotel. Found drinks and food prices really reasonable and ate several times for lunch or dinner. . Food at either time was very good ..

Every night there is a different promotion in the bar including live bands several nights ( also show afl on a big screen too )

Both pool areas are not huge by any means but as a roof top pool I actually was happy with it .. There are actually more loungers and day beds on the 4th floor if you are a serious sun worshiper and its nice and quiet ( not sure many people knew this was here ) as they all seemed to make a bee line for the 3rd floor pool.

Overall great little hotel.. Could think of worse places to stay for the same money .. In a great location without being right on top of the bars and restaurants (think skygarden / bounty etc ) plenty of bars and restaurants right outside the door .. ( there was construction work going on next door during our stay but alot of that happening all over the place ) wasnt a deal breaker though would deff stay again if I wanted to be in this area

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Funnyonion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
The Akmani Legian
The Akmani Legian
#21 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 865 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mercure Bali Legian
Mercure Bali Legian
#26 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.0 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun Island Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Island Hotel & Spa

Property: Sun Island Hotel & Spa
Address: Jl. Legian 123, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#11 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Island Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in one of the most throbbing areas in Bali, Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian comprises of 99 rooms and 8 suites, restaurants and bars, and a roof top whirl pool. This Bali hotel is mere walking distance from the famous Legian beach, clubs, and only 15-minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport. The hotel is designed for travelers who are always young at heart and wanting to be in the hub of endless entertainment and fun that Bali has to offer. Hotel Facilities: Sun Island Hotel & Spa Legian has a main swimming pool, a rooftop sundeck whirl pool, a spa, a main restaurant, a poolside restaurant with sunken bar, a rooftop bar, and 24-hour room service Room Facilities: All rooms have air-conditioning, TV cable, IDD telephone, free Wi-Fi access, safety deposit box, coffee & tea making facilities, hair dryer, and refrigerator ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sun Island Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Island Hotel & Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing