We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we love the niksoma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“we love the niksoma”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2008

I have stayed at the Niksoma 4 times. I will be staying again in April 2008. My daughter and i stayed for 10 days. My husband and
I for 8 days and with my sister and 2 young children for 10days.
I was introduced to the Niksoma by my cousin a travel agent.
The Hotel is clean and modern. It has a great location and is never crowded even when its a full house. The breakfast is ok
and there is enough variety. If you want something that is not at
the buffet just ask and they get it for you. The rooms are always cleaned well and the service is great and always friendly staff.
I f i had to say a bad thing it would be the people puting towells on the pool chairs and going out expecting them to be there when
they get back should be a limit of 30 minutes.
I am looking forward to returning to the Niksoma and to see the
friendly faces of the staff on my return.
Lyn. Maroubra nsw Australia.

Stayed July 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank lynMaroubra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    738
    226
    39
    18
    10
See reviews for
181
550
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
socal
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

Spent three days here in Dec. 2007. Do not like large hotels, aim for the boutiques, so this hotel was perfect. The hotel was a nice intro for first day of first time in Bali. The hotel is right on the beach with two beautiful pools. The beach right infront of the hotel is not overcrowded but it is easy to walk down to the center of Kuta. The food was nice and reasonable at the hotel and within a short walk there are numerous other places to eat. The staff was friendly and helpful. Very cost effective hotel for right on the beach with a nice ocean view during the high season. The room was very pleasant. A very nice stay.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank ediggidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2007

Stayed at Niksoma every December for the last 3 years (avg stay = 4 nights).

The first time (2005) was exciting, a nice hotel w/ direct access to the beach, nice pools (2 pools to die for), slick designed rooms. Even then, I noticed some problems: a ho-hum breakfast, rooms' finishing & details (ie.chipped paints,etc),and dodgy music at the restaurant & pool (RnB CDs). Wrote a 2 page feedback to the manager afterwards. Stayed on the 3rd floor room.

The 2nd visit (2006) was good, but not as exciting, rooms finishing have improved, the rest havent..that's ok, we did enjoy our stay though. By now, the hotel has became a chic place for the hip Jakarta crowds to stay in Bali (it even has a Facebook profile).Stayed on the 2nd floor room.

Third visit (Dec 19-21 2007) was the last straw, nothing has improved, the rooms, especially the one on the 2nd floor upward are not well maintained, breakfast has gone worse, me and my wife were awakened by the sound of some construction workers working on the room next to ours 7AM in the morning, was very upset about this. called the front desk so they can stop, it did for 15 minutes before they started to work again. 2PM, had a massage in our room, the working & banging started again, called again to front desk, nothing happened, the banging continued. AC was quite noisy, couldnt get much sleep due this noisy AC.

Ended the stay earlier, and then we moved to Ubud (uma ubud www.uma.como.bz), hv been very satisified so far, bfast is excellent, it's located next to Neka Museum (one of the largest art museum in Ubud), and across Nuri' Warung (a cheap warung for locals and tourists with Nasi Goreng and pork ribs to die for).

Bottomline: avoid Niksoma until they improve the food and room quality , and you can get a better hotel elsewhere w/ Niksoma' rate (approx. USD160).

The good: Niksoma is a walking distance to Zanzibar, which has excellent & cheap breakfast menu, staffs are very friendly but not overbearing, direct access to the beach.

  • Liked — Easy access to the Kuta & Seminyak areas.
  • Disliked — Food, Internet access, room quality
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank 170845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

Stayed here a few months ago and can i say this hotel is beautiful


The pool is just amazing. Over 2 levels it is peaceful and looks over the ocean. I highly recommend this hotel

The pool service is fantastic and staff friendly. We were kindly suprised by their efficiency, friendlyness and hospitality.

Located in a great area you are a short taxi ride / walk from shopping etc

I LOVED IT
and thought it showed excellent value for money

  • Liked — Pool Rooms And Service
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank World_Traveler86AU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

After a few days at the beautiful Sheraton Laguna in Nusa Dua, we decided to move a bit closer to the action and based on the reviews of the Niksoma booked for 4 days. The room rate, unbelievably, was slightly higher than the Sheraton, even though upon arrival they put us in the type of room which you see all over Bali for a quarter of that price. Dark, poor facilities (including a TV which must have been plucked from a museum) and a small, old fashioned bathroom. The next day we were moved to something better, but still for the money it was poor.

The Niksoma is trying be a trendy, clubby kind of place, clearly inspired by the likes of Ku De Ta, but sadly they also get that very wrong. Music is too load, and rather than cool relaxing tunes you end up with "Gonna Make You Sweat" blaring out as you try to have a peaceful breakfast. And the breakfast itself is nothing to get excited about.

Service was very average, with many of the staff clearly being too young and too experienced. Some of them couldn't even communicate in English, which obviously for Bali is poor.

My advice? Come to Bali, and spend some time in the Sheraton or a similar 5 star hotel, or spend the (not much) extra on a villa hotel like the Elysian or Villa Jodie. Otherwise get the same rooms as the Niksoma (probably with better service) down the road at the Puri Raja or Kumala Pantai for half the price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Everything else
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank jeremyr408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

The Niksoma staff are very attentive and friendly without being overbearing. The pools are clean and the temperature is great. The rooms are divine, but the deluxe isn't worth the extra price since the standard room is quite similar. The breakfast is good. The spa is ok but the Bali Botanica Spa in Ubud, which we'd visited prior to moving to Legian, was much better. The location is great for shopping or going to Seminyak or Kuta. WOuld definitely stay there again!!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank eliza_mdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

We stayed in one of the junior suites for two nights during July. The room itself was amazing and looked exactly the same as on the hotel's website. It was very modern and well decorated and the bathroom very big! I also had a look at the deluxe rooms and would recommend paying extra for a deluxe room or junior suite. The hotel is opposite the beach and has a very nice swimming pool.

The breakfast was very good. We also had dinner at the hotel one evening and it was one of the best meals that I have ever had.

The staff went out of their way to make our stay pleasant and nothing was too much trouble for them.

I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Liked — Location, staff, restaurant
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liz27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.1 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,342 reviews
0.5 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.5 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.6 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort

Property: Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#3 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#4 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#5 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#5 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Directly on the Legian Beach and facing to the Indian Ocean, Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort is a 4-star hotel designed in a modern chic boutique concept. Located only a 15 minute drive from Ngurah Rai International Airport, the resort is close to gourmet restaurants, night clubs and bars in the most famous Kuta and Seminyak Area. Guests can also go surfing or simply laze around the white sands while watching the gorgeous sun go down in the ocean. Bali Niksoma is also an onsite restaurant called Hitana, a swimming pool complemented by kid’s pool, laundry, dry cleaning, car parking and tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Hotel Legian
Niksoma Bali
Bali Niksoma Boutique Beach Resort Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing