We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great stay”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Pondok Ernita

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Entrance Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
19 reviews
Entrance
Entrance
Dining Room 2
Living Room 2
Living Room 2
Living Room 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
The Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Bathroom Bedroom 2
Living Room 2
Dining Room 2
Dining Room 2
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
The Pool
Living Room 1
Living Room 1
Dining Room 1
Dining Room 1
Dining Room 1
Living Room 1
Living Room 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
Bathroom Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Bedroom 1
The Pool
Pathways
Pathways
Street
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Legian, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sean K
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
Reviewed December 1, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a great stay in Legian for 5 nights. Pondok Ernita was a lovely place to stay, definitely great for 2 couples. The place was clean and comfortable and we loved the pool and outdoor shower!
Close to beach and shops but quiet.
Would definitely stay there again, loved the traditional Balinese feel to the place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
suthowa
perth
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Needs some TLC”
Reviewed September 5, 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Spent 8 nights here! Was ok but could have been so much better. It was so uncomfortable, no where comfortable to sit the cushions on lounge have gone way way past their use by date! The whole place needs a face lift lol... Also if it's quiet your looking for don't stay here, as mentioned in other reviews the motor bikes are constant from about 6am ! Kids screaming,dogs barking... Nice old Bali style in need of work ... Forgot bedrooms have no blackout curtains so lots of light comes in very early!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daveyt293...
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
“Serenity..in heart of legian”
Reviewed April 17, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Lovely villa in heart of a busy area with bats shops and beach on your door step. Anita organised thongs perfectly and always answered emails or calls immediately. Mardi and her husband looked after the cleaning, gardens and pool excellently with always a cheery smile and conversation. Each of the 2 adjoining bungalow bathrooms extend into small perfectly secluded corners of the garden..and showering outside hidden from any prying eyes is fab and left you feeling at one with nature. Villas are both simple and functional but really comfortable for a really relaxing break. Very quiet at night but very central for eveything. We travelled with 4 members so had both villas which was perfect. Thoroughly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dianne C
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed April 2, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

I really don't wont to rate Pondok Ernita as I wont it to be MY secret. I will share though :). If you like the Bali style Villa this will suit you. There are 2 separate identical villas, each with a king size bed. Spacious, clean, comfortable beds, clean crisp sheets. Made and Ketut are the best maids, good English, the best I have ever had in Bali. The pool is just stunning. Just the right temperature for a dip or a float around. So quite and peaceful. Far enough away from the main street but close to restaurant's and shopping and best of all close to the beach for a nice stroll. No mosquito's as previous client had moaned about. I would stay here again and again. I have found a comfortable niche in Bali. Thanks everyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 16, 2017
Thanks so much for this nice comment , hope to see you again soon .
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilbert L
New South Wales, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Could be so much”
Reviewed March 28, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

There were two couples booked in to this villa. We normally stay at a hotel or resort, but decided that it would be worth a change to look for a bit more privacy and peace and quiet with getting a villa. The below review is a combination of the individual views of the couples concerned, and is purely subjective on our experiences during this stay. Ratings /10 were given for the various areas that you would expect to have in a private villa. Please note - we are older couples (50's) and have travelled fairly extensively overseas (especially in SE Asia), so we have experienced quite a lot.
1. Booking Communication and troubleshooting - initially the communication with the booking and any requests for information etc. was excellent. The owners were prompt in their reply through the TA message portal, and all was organised well in advance (a nice touch was the airport greeting and transport provided as part of the rental). Since we had booked 7 months in advance, all was securely in place and went without a hitch. There were some minor problems initially with some locks, and electrical equipment, which were remedied very promptly by the owners (this was greatly appreciated). rating 10/10.
2. Location, privacy, peace and quiet - as we were looking for a base that was more private, still in the heart of Legian as well as being close to the beach - this villa ticked those boxes. Being opposite the Puri Raja Hotel and off Jl Padma Utara, it was only a matter of a 75 metre stroll down Gang Yuli (not named on Google maps, but between Gang Abdi and Gang XXI) to the front of the villa. This was excellent, as we had stayed previously at the Puri Raja (access to Legian Beach), so knew the area well. all was good until we ran into renovations going on behind us (Yuli Beach Inn), which then precluded any extra sleep past 6am as then the jackhammers, generators, and diesel truck noise and fumes began, generally going on all day. Unfortunately just bad timing and nothing that anyone could foresee. Maybe a week either side and this would not have been an issue. What was of a major issue, was that we were not aware beforehand, that there was an access lane (Gang XXI) that allowed local traffic to cut through from Jl Legian down through all the rabbit warren back lanes, which came right down the side of the villa. This plus the 30 or so apartment/living areas of the Pondok Dika Dicki that you pass by to get to the villa - added to incessant motorbike/scooter noise that went on from early morning to late at night. The peace and quiet that we were craving was not to be had (either relaxing in the pool or watching TV, or trying to sleep). The rating would have been much higher if not for these things. Rating 6/10.
3. Facilities - there was a majority vote when looking for a villa to rent for this trip. I myself was not so interested in the 'traditional' style of Balinese living but the others involved said that they would like to try it out. Thus I went with the majority. I'm personally not a big fan of allowing insects (mainly mosquitoes) in to living areas, and where I have to constantly put coils out, spray repellent on or have battery operated deterrers. regardless of all this, I still managed to get bitten a few times, as did other members of the group. Also, having to go into a bedroom to get cool (one fan to do the whole living area may not be sufficient with the amount of heat and humidity in the area) was a personal bugbear. There were mosquito nets around the bed, and that helped, but basically we kept the bedroom door closed 24/7. As others have mentioned, the seating is hard and not overly comfortable. The bed was also very firm, but once your back got used to that then it wasn't too bad. Another thing was the inconsistencies of equipment e.g. One villa had a small portable CD player, and one had a DVD player. This was somewhat strange, as you would not expect everyone to go to one abode or the other just to watch or listen, One should expect that there is the equivalent in both bungalows. The pool was a good size, and in most cases reasonably cool, but not one that I would recommend for children (unless closely supervised), as strangely the 'shallow' end is about 1.6 metres deep (I stand at 1.7 m, and had to stand on tiptoes to try and get my mouth out of water). Overall, we felt that the villa would have been a stand out in its heyday, but now is looking dated, weary, and in need of some maintenance and a complete soft makeover (I don't know if the adage 'you get what you pay for' applies here). Rating 6/10.
Overall, staying here was an 'experience' of traditional living style, but one personally, that I did not enjoy thoroughly, and ended up not fulfilling the parameters that I hoped were going to be met when we decided to try this experiment. I would not give up on villa rental in future trips, I personally would not be interested in this style, again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;