We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well laid out hotel with smiling staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A well laid out hotel with smiling staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

Although the address lists it in Legian but it is on the borderline of Kuta and Legian. The pool area and the adjoining restaurant is lively. The room size was OK and clean. However, the booking stated that it has a garden view. It was a surprise and a shock as the garden view meant a small alley next to an adjacent property with hedges on both sides of the wall. One could not open the balcony as the adjacent property was in a dilapidated state with servant quarters. The redeeming features of the hotel were its excellent breakfast buffet with a variety of foods to serve all tastes and the ever-smiling and ready-to-help reception and service staff. One of the best I have seen in my travels.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a pool view and stay away from the garden view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrZeeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,703 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,074
    435
    133
    43
    18
See reviews for
304
761
92
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (515)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

The efficiency of the staff is excellent, very polite and happy people. The breakfast was everything you could want including ice cream. The rooms were clean tidy & roomy. we had a lovely 10 days staying here,

Room Tip: Make sure you have a pool view room with balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaye W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

I stayed here for my honeymoon. we got the room with the pool view and it has a jacuzzi facing the main pool. it just so nice and very comfy. the room is very clean. I love the hotel design the lobby is stunning. the pool area also great. it's huge but not so crowded so we can relax and chill at the pool area. we had dinner at the restaurant. they set a romantic dinner for us, it was great. the food was excellent. the staff is very friendly and helpful.

it's a nice place to escape from your urban hustle bustle. looking forward to stay here again. :)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank inggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights after moving out from Seminyak area. Overall experience was excellent. Comfortable room with balcony overlooking the swimming pool. Hotel staff was very nice and friendly, especiallly two of them I met in the restaurant located next to the swimming pool. This hotel located along the Kuta beach strip, and it's at Legian area. If you love sunset, just walk across the beach side and grab a chair and sit down, enjoy your beer while looking at the beautiful sunset. Not to forget to thank Pamela, Director of Sales & Marketing for this hotel, for her awesomeness hospitality during my stay here. KUDOS !

Room Tip: Book your room facing the pool. It comes with balcony.. You won't regret..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edlee19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

Theres always an air of tranquility and great cultural presence in Bali. However, choose your accommodation right as it may influence how great your vacation may be. I stayed at The Stones in July this year and I could not express how happy I was to have chosen such a hotel. The security was tight right from the entrance (precautions after the Bali bombing incident), I was impressed as I felt safe in the vicinity. The entrance wasn't as impressive but I was happy, not too luxurious but it felt very inviting, very homey. The staffs were very attentive and polite which is a major plus. They were very helpful in assisting me during my entire stay there. I had the privilege to also meet the Directors of Rooms, Mr Christy. He was very helpful and genuinely friendly. He gave me a lot of suggestions on places to go, where to eat and the activities which could be found around Bali.
The rooms are nice, modern and very clean. The major plus are the beds, which are very comfortable. I could have just stayed in, laze for the entire day, if it wasn't for my busy schedule. It was rather peculiar that the bath tub was out in the balcony, would have preferred it to be inside (if you want some privacy, just pull the curtains). The toilets are rather small too.
Breakfast was amazing with so many varieties to choose from. Go early to avoid the crowd later on.
Where the hotel is located is also very strategic. It is not too far off shopping malls, Hard Rock and good eateries. The beach is right opposite the hotel, take a morning jog or go for surfing classes it you may.
All in all, The Stones really made my vacation a memorable one. Would be going back there on my next Bali trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Syazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

The best feature of the hotel is the pool. The pool is huge so it never feels crowded. The pool chairs are partially submerged which was pretty cool. There's a poolside bar with drinks and fresh oysters. Heated jacuzzi which again, awesomeness. Every evening there's performances at the pool fire dance on one night, traditional baliness music performance on another.

Hotel restaurant food was good and affordable, especially for a hotel restaurant. The waitress that showed us our table was exceptionally friendly and helpful. That is saying something in Bali where the default setting is friendly. Gym is well equipped but can be slightly stuffy.

Sound proofing in the rooms is extremely lacking. We could hear the next room talking, shower and watching tv. Not cool. Toilet and shower is the first thing when entering the room for some odd design reason. Pick the pool view rooms if possible, no worries about noise.

The hotel is a long 10- 15min walk to the nearest food and shopping lanes. So tat is a bummer, unless you take a taxi. The hotel is just across the road from the beach, literally. So great if you're going surfing.

Room Tip: Pool view for sure, not first floor though
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swiftly_away
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

Great hotel and stay. Beautifully done and classy. The rooms are very comfortable with a balcony which had a tub that we did not use.
The hotel staff including the restaurant staff was very very nice, courteous and helpful. I do though, have to say that the room smelt musty. Wonder if they could air out the room before the next guest comes? The bathrooms too was smelly. I had to ask the turn down staff to clean it again.
The first night we had the set dinner at the Traditional Long Rice table. After a very long wait for the food when it came out it was cold & terrible! Not worth the price. The Breakfast buffet was bad too. Nothing tasted good. Even the fresh orange juice had a bad orange in it which spoilt the taste, this happened every day!
We found far better restaurants outside in Kuta which was way better than anything we could find at the hotel.
All in all, it was a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view with the pool, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerC55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.5 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,348 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.3 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Property: The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#7 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#7 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali and only 20 minutes to the airport, this five star Bali hotel is the perfect vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing