We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a way to celebrate your 60th!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Ranked #9 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
New Zealand
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“What a way to celebrate your 60th!”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

My husband organised a weeks stay at this amazing hotel as a birthday treat for me. We couldn't fault The Stones. The staff were amazing. So helpful, polite, always ready to help with a smile and nothing was too much trouble for them to organise for us. Our room was perfect, very comfortable beds and pillows and we loved the bath on the deck with all the spa treats to go in the water. Lovely meals, including a huge range for breakfast. The staff were happy to make me my daily fresh juice,as well as personalised omelette's. The security was a comfort. We loved every minute of our perfect stay. Would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Do search out the infinity pools at the front of The Stones on the main road opposite the beach.(Par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TCFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    440
    138
    43
    18
See reviews for
308
768
94
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (518)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

I give this hotel a 4 and a half out of 5. It was absolutely beautiful, only a very minor issue preventing me giving a perfect score card. I enjoyed our 4 night stay, it was wonderful!

From the moment we walked in, staff were so lovely and friendly. Always greeting guests with a warm smile that made you feel welcome. We were offered a lemon grass and melon flavoured icy pole and a cold refresher towel on arrival while concierge checked us in. Our bags were taken up to our room immediately with us, so I was able to have a shower after our flight right away - very much appreciated!

We stayed in a general standard room, no pool view or balcony but it didnt matter. The room was very spacious, bright with plenty of natural light and clean. We had a mini fridge, a coffee machine, a safe in the room, ipod dock, and TV with local and international cable channels. Modern bathroom facilities, despite the bizarre layout of it (intended to save space, it works well, just strange, not a "room" as such).

The gym was well appointed and equipment clean and new. Staff member was friendly and gave us a tour. The star of the property is certainly the pool, lobby and vertical gardens on exterior walls. Wow! Hammocks on a little island off to the side of the swim up bar, plenty of loungers in and around the pool, bean bags and fresh towels neatly rolled up inviting you for a swim around the deck. Just gorgeous. Spent many relaxing hours pool side and in a hammock!

the included buffet breakfast was also excellent. I enjoyed breakfast daily, with so much variety i had something new everyday. The egg station was manned by a friendly man who made my eggs perfectly every day. The pastry island bench was so good, croissants and scones etc, very nice. Also the freshly squeezed juice made to order was great!

My minor issue preventing a perfect 5/5 score is that our shower leaked water onto the bathroom floor as there was a slight gap in the shower door and wall. So that was a minor annoyance having a wet floor and soaked bath mat every day - also, the shower had some mould in the hard to reach corners of the grout and floor. Could have been cleaned better for a 5 star property.

Another minor problem is that the walls were rather thin, I could hear my neighbour throwing up into the toilet quite clearly from our room with our TV on. Perhaps they went a bit too hard at Sky Garden, Vi Ai Pi or the resident hotel bar Blue Sapphire the night before? Maybe they tried a mushroom milkshake that didnt agree with them? Bali Belly? It wasnt a major issue, we were only in the room to change into swimmers after breakfast one morning, so we werent sticking around long to be bothered by it, but id imagine if you are a light sleeper with a noisy neighbour at night, it could be an issue for you. Not for me however, I sleep like a log.

Security was tight, an xray machine at the lobby for all incoming guests and a car check at the boom gates at the very front of the property ensures tight security for guests. They were friendly security guards also, always smiling! Never felt scared or intimidated. The Blue Sapphire bar/club at the front of the property is fun and I enjoyed drinks here too.

Overall, this property was excellent and I highly recommend it. I would love to return some day, thanks for a great holiday. Well located along Kuta Beach, an easy beach stroll up to Seminyak from this location will take about 15 mins or so, but the time flies when having a nice walk along the beach...it didnt feel long at all.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CheekyChops_xoxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

Given ratings as 2 due to location...nothing else. I kept wondering what autograph collection means and once I landed into this hotel, realized it's a face off. They use Marriott name to lure customer however no where close to it. I made a reservation with 2 double beds, and was given a room which had 2 single bed. When I reached out to front desk, I was told, this is what they mean by double bed. The way it was explained to me was that it's my mistake to read it as double bed and expect double beds, instead I should read it as double bed, however should expect single bed. The duty manager was rude enough, and gave me a msg that it's her way or highway. I kept on asking what's marriott relation with this property and she kept on saying its autograph collection and a 5 star property. When I asked for her manager, ans was they are off duty, and upon insisting to speak to GM, I was shifted to a room with king bed and given extra bedding, probably the worst Room in that hotel.
I would seriously ask any rep for Marriott who is reading this msg to look at what ever relation they have with this hotel. Please be aware this is no where close to the worst properties that you might have visited for Marriott. They are much better. Marriott should be on run to save their name.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank PuneetBhugra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stayed with a friend on a 4th floor room, only down side was that it was so far away from general amenities and that it didn't have a pool view with a balcony. If we had that little extra definitely a 5 star experience. Great security, staff are wonderful, food brilliant, enjoyed the pool side bar, massage within the complex. Have already referred to friends. The Stones is away from the hustle and bustle on the streets, yet the beach is only across the road. Prices are higher than in other areas of Legian but you expect to pay a little more in such an exclusive resort.

Room Tip: Definitely, one with a balcony, but away from the busy part of the complex
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
163 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

I recently attended a Conference at The Stones which is a large elegant hotel in Legian.

Pros: Good level of security, very good conference facilities, excellent breakfast buffet and a great pool area. Plus lovely staff that go out of their way to be helpful and pleasant.

Cons: Room design is very unusual. When I opened the door to my room I was standing in the bathroom. I then walked through the bathroom to access to the bedroom. (no other option).
Only a curtain separated the bathroom/wet area from the bedroom area. I found this configuration both strange and impractical.

The hotel is very good as are the staff. Overall rating is Average due to the very strange room design.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Had a short but busy 3 days in bali and glad we chose the stones hotel as it offered facilities bar none-we used everything and found it first class and the staff welcoming and the food tasty and appetising-we will definately return as the location made it easy to get around bali and attend to our commitments(given the short time frame).

Room Tip: we chose a garden view room as we wanted quietness at the end of the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cleaner53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel in a pool view room. Could not fault anything with this hotel.
Service was excellent, Breakfast - Great with so many choices. Even though the hotel is large the service is impeccable with nothing being too much trouble. Couldn't see the value in a Premium Pool Room as these rooms are always shaded and you have no balcony.

Room Tip: Pool view room is the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnandVickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.5 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.3 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Property: The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#8 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#8 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali, and only 20 minutes to the airport, our Bali 5-star resort's location is perfect. Here, you have the ideal vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing