We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort in the midst of shopping”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Ranked #8 of 86 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Resort in the midst of shopping”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

The moment you drive into the Stones entrance, i was already impressed with how wide and open the lobby and drive through was, It gave you a totally different feeling from the drive from the airport and busy shopping areas...you go into a different world. The room was facing the pool and it gave you a sense on relaxation, with its simplicity and yet elegant design. Each room had its own bathtub on the balcony, the first i have experienced, intriguing, and if you wanted privacy, there was a curtain you could pull to close the balcony. On top of this the Director of Rooms, Christy Guna Desa was the most humble and welcoming person we have met, making sure our stay was fantabulous everyday with the service of the front desk team to the pool bar team, to room service express team and mostly importantly they remembed our names, which made our stay very personal. I shall definitely go back, soon...as it was a resort feeling in the midst of hustle and bustle of Legian. Fantabulous!!...truly Fantabulous!

Room Tip: The pool view rooms are still the best view, resort feeling.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,106
    445
    140
    44
    19
See reviews for
311
781
94
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (523)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Two many team travellers which makes the hotel too noisy and a little chaos of breakfast. And there is some problem with the swimming pool of warm water area, which hurt my daughter's feet. But there is no apology or any compensation except the basic caring.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chocoliebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aussie
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just spent 8 nights at the Stone's and could not fault it. It has a great pool, great staff and is close to the beach, shops and markets. There is a 24hr mini mart in the front of the hotel. The gym is fully equipped and open 24hrs. Very good security and very clean rooms and gardens. Loved the bath on the balcony (it had a privacy curtain) and all the supplied bathroom incidentals. The layout was different but good, we liked the separate toilet and shower and the open plan dressing room. Breakfast was great, covered everything you could possibly want and they had lots of different juices to choose from. The bed was very clean and comfortable. The spa was wonderful and clean, excellent massages with a very relaxing ambience.
We have been going to Bali for over 30 years and have lost count of the hotels we have stayed in - this would be the one we would return to next time. Thanks to ALL the staff, fantastic service. Planning the next trip already.

Room Tip: High with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank slyunus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed at The Stones for 5 nights, the first 2 days we were in the garden view rooms, they were good rooms, just the view is a little boring.
We then upgraded to the room with a bath on the balcony. It was beautiful. Great view looking over the pool and if you needed privacy, there were curtain to easily shut on the balcony.
Not far to walk for dinner on the beach.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belbel2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

I was impressed upon getting into the hotel with the open space of the reception and view of the pool. The welcome Popsicle with flavours of the local fruits was a very nice touch too. However, do agree with an earlier review that the layout of room is weird as the shower is right past the entrance of the room so I can imagine how "exposed" one feels if you were showering and someone came to the door!
And I have not been to a hotel with no balcony in Bali as it is an absolute necessity for you to dry all your wet swim stuff! What's left is dripping wet stuff and using a towel to lie the floor ... Not an ideal situation. Wifi when we got here was also very spotty. I think they are still new and in the opening phase so hopefully things can improve. Reception service was also a hit and miss as one staff told my husband there was no breakfast included in our room and thankfully we were quite certain there was and insisted he checked again.
And room is small so there is no space for an extra bed if you have a kid with you and need one. Never had such a problem in Bali before as all the rooms are usually very big! I was told U Paasha has rooms big enough for two or more xtra beds ... Might check that out next time ...

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed for 5 nights in August and from what I gathered was the busiest I'd ever seen bali. We booked last minute so only had garden view room available. Asked for upgrade on arrival but hotel was fully booked.

The first impression of the hotel is nice grand and luxurious, once we stepped into our garden view room that's where is stopped. Been to bali many time having stayed at high end resorts in nusa and cheaper hotels at 100sunset, the design layout and function of this room is prob the worst we have come across. There's no balcony or terrace for garden view rooms. We stayed for 2 nights and asked again if upgrade was available. To our luck they had pool view on 4th floor for the rest of our stay.

This really changed the rest of our holiday. At least from a hard days shopping you have somewhere besides your bed to sit with the pool view rooms. They have a chaise and bath tub with nice size balcony. Again the room layout is odd as you walk straight from main door through wet area, floor can become very slippery, through to main bed. I must say room layout at pullman is much better more functional.

The food at stones is pretty average. Nasi and mie goreng worst I've seen. Pretty sad as this is a traditional dish in Indonesia. The best I found is that they do great lattes.

What we found quite nice at the stones is the pool area. Large with many sunbeds, although there are the odd few that claim chair so early not to be seen for hours I think hotel should keep an eye on unused chairs if left longer than 1 hr. they have a nice swim up bar, nice live sax music in afternoon. Definitely better pool than the pullman but I think pullman has a better separate child friendly pool away from adults. Also a nice large spa and lots of hammocks in trees to the back overlooking pool.

All in all I would return but would only stay in a spa room on bottom floor. I don't think garden view are worth the money. Don't ruin your holiday getting garden view, no opening windows or doors, its like your trapped!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tt38psi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

We spent two nights at Stones when we passed through Bali. The hotel is on the opposite side of the road from Legian Beach. It is set back from the road away from the traffic noise. we had a room overlooking the pool. The hotel had excellent facilities, the staff were very friendly and helpful, and the location excellent. The hotel also provided an excellent breakfast with a huge selection on offer. We had spent several days in Seminyak a year earlier at a hotel which was slightly cheaper. There was no comparison between the two, with Stones being far superior in every way. We would definitely stay at Stones again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Orrca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.5 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 86 in Legian
5,489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 86 in Legian
2,226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Property: The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod | Bali, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#7 Spa Hotel in Legian
#7 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali, and only 20 minutes to the airport, our Bali 5-star resort's location is perfect. Here, you have the ideal vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing