We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Ranked #10 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 14, 2013

My experience at the Stones was a true pleasure in every sense of the the words. We were met at the airport and provided transportation to the hotel. Upon arrival we were greeted by name, given "magic" towels and popsicles while we checked in. Although its a bit of a hike to the room, they are lovely rooms. White from wall to wall, with a separate sink basin and commode. The staff were quite attentive, providing everything that we needed when asked. I do note however that I asked a staffer to buy postage and mail some postcards and I've yet to receive them. Its been nearly a month since I was there.

Notwithstanding, the disappearing postcards, the hands down best part of this hotel is the spa. I had teh best spa experience ever and it was sooooo cheap (comparable to American spas at least). For the most part, The Stones is walking distance to tourist attractions such as the clubs, abrs and restaurants on Kuta beach (maybe 15-20 min). And if walking isn't your thing, taxis are readily available. I also suggest hiring a driver, although there is a noticeable upcharge if you book them through the hotel versus just finidng one on your own. Either way, a driver is a great way to get out f the Legian/Kuta/Seminyack district and into other parts of Bali.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roadrunner01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,875)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,451 - 1,457 of 1,875 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2013

I stayed there 4 nights with my wife and we were really happy for everything. Staff were really friendly and security made we feel really safe also. Our room had a pool view and it was really nice. In balcony we had a bath and a nice lounge sofa. Bed was good also! I liked that there was espresso machine in our room.

Breakfst was perfect! There was so many kind of food and drinks that it was more like a brunch. Room service was working really quickly and food was delicious! You can also order food to pool and it's really delicious also. Room service prices were reasonable!

Pool was huge and there were lot of sun beds. Hotel is next to beach and it took 2 minutes from hotel to there. Gym was also good for training.

We really could come back to this hotel! Thank you The Stones Hotel!

Room Tip: Pool view room is very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jani H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

a highly recommended hotel. the service was first class and the staff very very friendly.security was excellent.the restaurant was very nice.the rooms are very spacious and they have a large bathtub on the balcony. the pool is absolutley massive with a spa and there are numerous beds scattered everywhere.overall we had a wonderful stay and would definetly go back. the only gripe i did have was that the phone calls we made from our room were very expensive ($7.50 per minute for i/nat calls)

Room Tip: don't use the room phone especially for international calls approximatly $7.50 per minute was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Staff are very friendly but have poor language skills. Rooms not made up until after lunch. Noisy air conditioning, lack of storage space in rooms, no hot water to hand basins, fluctuating hot water for showers. Music from two sources at once in outside area by the pool.
Waited an hour after arrival for room to be prepared.
It's very modern but somehow fails to fulfil its promise - it's not that functional and one could be staying anywhere from the design and layout. Lobby may be grand but unwelcoming and uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Don't stay in a garden room - no balcony or opening windows. Pool side is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Location and ambience superb The stone theme impressive and refreshing. Some of the seats in the cafe have awkward position unless one practices yoga. The chicken rice-its tough to find a more
bland and tasteless version. We come from Singapore lunch in restaurant everyday. Breakfast was good and up to standard. All in all a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dtvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've booked 2 rooms at The Stones Hotel from 7th to 11th Aug and was staying at Room 302 (Garden Facing Room). I have mixed feelings about this hotel and will list them below.

Pros:
1) Very Good Security - They have at least 7 to 10 guards at the entrances to check vehicles and belongings at all times. We will need to go through the same security checks which is similar to airport every time we enter the hotel.
2) Bed was very very comfortable (except 1 or 2 very small patches of black stain)
3) The gym is very new and has alot of workout machines. It is also available 24/7.
4) Huge pool with nice day beds and some semi submerge tanning chairs
5) Has cordless phone in room which is convenient
6) Big TV with lots of channels (around 60 plus channels)
7) Bose Apple Device Dock for music playing
8) Good connection wifi (although slow at times and was down for 1 night throughout my stay)
9) Towers were thick and clean
10) Hotel was beautifully design looking very classy
11) Staff are very friendly and greets us every time we see them

Cons:
1) Website is not so user friendly (they should have big and clear pictures of every room types, we had trouble looking for the design of the rooms and have to depend on tripadvisor travellers' photos)
2) I requested for connecting rooms in advance via email but didn't get it. The staff told us it was connecting rooms when we arrived but when we went into the room, it was just 2 rooms side by side. I called the staff to request for connecting rooms and he said he will check with the manager and get back to us but he didn't. We gave up and settled down since we were all very tired as we arrived at midnight.
3) We booked for 2 pax per room and they have only provided one set of toothbrush.
4) Water takes at least 1 min to get hot and the temperature keeps going hot and cold during shower (I was quite disappointed with this as this should not happen in a high end hotel)
5) The 3 hand towels beside the sink needs a tray like those shampoo bottles. Water get spilled when people wash hands and they flow to the hand towels so it was slightly wet before we even use it.
6) Breakfast was horrible. Always packed, not much variety for main course, pastries variety is quite good. Main course is always Noodles (tasteless and very dry), rice (tasteless, dry and comes in small lumps), porridge (so sticky that the porridge sticks in a huge lump when you lift the scoop), sausage and bacon are nice, omelette (very disappointing, the chef just pan fry the egg and roll it up after its fully cooked when omelette should be slightly runny in the center), fried egg (fried till totally dry), 2 x Dim Sum dish (skin is too thick that it taste of flour), milk for cereals is so diluted (i think you put too much ice instead of putting milk in fridge to get it cold). Good variety of bread and pastries. There was syrup juice and fresh fruit juice. Long long queue at the fresh fruit juice counter as they don't prepare the fruits in advance. Eg: they only start skinning orange when you order so it takes long time to prepare. (I am very disappointed with the breakfast as I am not a fussy eater but this breakfast managed to turn me off. This is not the breakfast standard of a high end hotel).
7) At least 75% of the staff cannot communicate in english
8) Tissue paper and toilet paper was at around 15% when we checked in. I have only used 4 to 5 pieces of tissue and it was empty.
9) On the last night of stay, there was a small pool of water between the safe and bed. It is either from the aircon grills or from the bathroom
10) Have some hooks beside the bath room. There was no place to hang our clothes except on the top of the door or handle of the door.
11) Location - It is at the far end of kuta so it is more quiet. Nearest mart is 5 mins walk. Nearest shopping area is around 10 mins walk. If you wanna go to the crowded stall shopping area, you need to walk at least 20 mins. Taking a cab is abit tough during peak hours because it is a one way street and we are at the end of the street.

On the overall, the hotel feels very grand but I really hope they improve on the cons listed out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed for 2 days in pool view room. My kids love the pool and kids room so much. Breakfast have a lot of choices. But it is a little bit far away from major Kuta shopping area by walking (~20 mins). Please also note that tub is not a must for pool view room with balcony. Mine don't have tub but it is fine for me.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.3 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,388 reviews
0.5 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
2.0 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Address: Jl. Raya Pantai Kuta, Banjar Legian Kelod | Bali, Legian 80361, Indonesia (Formerly The Stones Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Legian
#4 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#6 Family Hotel in Legian
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#8 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#8 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $117 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Part of the Marriott group, The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection is an upscale and luxury gateway to a unique experience. Situated on the Southern tip of Legian Beach on the resort island of Bali, and only 20 minutes to the airport, our Bali 5-star resort's location is perfect. Here, you have the ideal vantage point to experience all the island has to offer with the vibrant activity of Kuta and the shopping excursions to Seminyak at your door step. All 308 guest rooms and 15 suites are sleekly designed and feature rainforest showers, complimentary wifi and espresso machines. Iconic architectural design meets eclectic sophistication around the hotel grounds with a 3,500sqm oversized swimming pool, 3 restaurants, cabanas, entertainment deck, Club Jasper for the kids and a 24 hour gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing