We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Checked right back out- Horrible” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of POP! Hotel Kuta Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
POP! Hotel Kuta Beach
Ranked #38 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Checked right back out- Horrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

Booked this through a deal however when reading others reviews before our trip, a guest was robbed outside of POP in the alley so we were a bit wary. It was a trek from the airport by taxi and down a long alleyway with random people and garbage. Thank goodness we arrived during daylight. The checkin was disorganized, all 3 men were not very courteous. They put us on the first floor and i quickly asked to be above ground level. We are assigned to the 3rd floor. The lobby was hot, no AC and i noticed there were locals, a group of older men hanging out by the pool which would not make anyone feel comfortable using the pool. We were informed breakfast was white rice and there was nowhere nearby to walk for breakfast. There was 1 restaurant nearby for dinner that is associated with POP. The hallway was like a dorm style in a college and our room faced a cement wall. We thought we could deal with it for 2 nights however I found a large brown stain on the sheets. We decided we did not want to experience Bali this way, we would not feel comfortable going out after dark and there was nowhere to walk to. We quickly booked another hotel, forfeiting our money POP and when we checked out, they did not seem surprised and did not even ask if they could do anything to help our stay be more comfortable. We waited 10 minutes for a cab to find the hotel. As we travel around the world, we had NEVER checked out of a hotel right away. Please enjoy all Bali has to offer and spend a couple more dollars to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Unbelizable11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLP, Hotel Manager at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Unbelizable11,

Thank you very much for your review.

We apologize for any inconvenience happen during your stay regarding the service of our champs. We will follow up and ensure that it won't happen again in the future.

We are doing our best to improve the lighting in the access street to make it more comfortable and more visible.

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel that provide a good room accommodation with limited of service. Our room is designed in a compact, including shower Pod model for space efficiency and comfort of the guest.

Once again, thank you very much, We are looking forward to welcoming you again at POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Patrick LE PROVOST
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    265
    153
    43
    19
See reviews for
122
145
75
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Semarang
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2014

Tried to stay here for one night with promo Harga Kaget 188.000/malam.. surprisingly cool budget hotel.. the location is rather difficult to find (even we're not a stranger here in bali) but the property is huge... realizing it's a budget hotel so no surprise seeing many teenagers stays here with their school programme making noises but overall it's worth it.. the breakfast is called "morning bites' wrapped in banana leaves, local people call it Nasi Jinggo :) .. even the coffee is good.. they just have to pay attention to the breakfast area cleanliness.. i almost slipped because a wet fluid on the floor. i personally impressed for their correspondent system. from the booking confirmation, deposit confirmation, welcoming letter and even a "see you again" email was pop to my smartphone within minutes... Thumbs up...

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aisha04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLP, Hotel Manager at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Aisha04,

Thank you very much for your review.

It is a pleasant to know you enjoyed staying in POP! Hotel Kuta Beach Bali, that been part of your colorful day in Bali.

We do apologies for the inconvenience of the morning bite area cleanliness and will always make sure of the quick respond of my champs to clean the floor from the coffee/tea spot.

We are an innovative Budget hotel that always put the priority to the quality of room accommodation, affordable price and create a good customer experience & satisfaction.
We hope our hotel became one of colorful part of your days in Bali.

Your nice review always be a great encouragement for us to be stronger in the future.
Once again, thank you very much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Patrick LE PROVOST
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

i had my stay at Pop Hotel Kuta for five days. Overall it is a good budget hotel, clean room, affordable price and very near to the Kuta Beach. Staff are friendly..however they could improve their breakfast. Try to provide something more than a packed rice.......

However, the quiet ally to the hotel really scares me. Dimmed lighting and looks scary especially if you go on foot..........

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank esthermandie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLP, Hotel Manager at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Mrs Esther Mandhie,

Thank you for your review. any of our guest review and comment always be a big encouragement for us to be better and stronger in the future.

We apologize for any inconvenience happen during your stay for the breakfast .
For your information, we will soon work with one partner to install a cafe/food corner in our pool area and provide great food beginning April

We are doing our best to improve the lighting in the access street to make it more comfortable and more visible.

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel that provide a good room accommodation with limited of service. Our room is designed in a compact, including shower Pod model for space efficiency and comfort of the guest.

Thank you very much, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels, in Bali, Bandung, Yogyakarta and Jakarta.

Sincerely yours,

Patrick LE PROVOST
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surabaya, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

This hotel isn't near from beach. Maybe its about 15minute if you walk,and 8minutes if you use shortcut (yes!! There's shortcut if you know). But, as long street there's much shop to see and cafe/resto even minimarket. So you wont worry to find anything. The good thing about this hotel is the room. The room design so colourfull and unique, beside comfy too. The hotel have a medium pool and shuttle from hotel to kuta at optional time. The poor thing is breakfast menu is just 'nasi kuning' (rice,veggie,and slice chicken). At least,its good enough hotel with cheap price, you must try if you have limited budget.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank milasari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLP, Hotel Manager at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Milasari,

Thank you for your review. any of our guest review and comment always be a big encouragement for us to be better and stronger in the future.

We will work soon with one partner to install a small cafe/food corner in our pool area to provide to everyone an extra service in pop hotel kuta beach.

POP! Hotel is a budget hotel that provide a good room accommodation with limited of service. Our room is designed in a compact, including shower Pod model for space efficiency and comfort of the guest.

Thank you very much, we are looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels

Sincerely yours,

Patrick LE PROVOST
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresik, Indonesia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

Pop Hotel Kuta is one of various budget hotels near Kuta Beach.
it's price is very affordable (IDR 325.000) for cozy standard room (AC, TV, Hot water in bathroom, and breakfast).

It has a clean swimming pool near the restaurant, and if you want to go singhtseeing around kuta, Pop Hotel provides mini-traveling car to take you sightseeing around Kuta.

Overall, this budget hotel gives me higt value for money and i will come to this hotel again someday

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IntanWardi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLP, Hotel Manager at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Intan W,

Many thanks for your review to POP! Hotel Kuta Beach.

It is our main goal to have our guest satisfaction staying in POP! Hotels.

We understand as a budget hotel, we offer very limited service, but we always put the good quality of accommodation, cleanliness, friendly staff with the best rate offered as the top priority.

We are really glad that you had another great holiday in Bali and our colorful POP! located strategically in Kuta Beach had contributed to be part of your nice and sunny holiday in Bali.

We will always be glad to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Patrick LE PROVOST
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yogyakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I've been to the 5 stars hotel until hostel, I've been to the cleanest until the dirtiest inn, and Pop Harris Kuta Beach is the cleanest hotel with the most affordable price. Just like the title, you couldn't ask for more with the price. The room is spacious, the tablet bathroom (what can I say?) is clean but maybe some foreigners with bigger posture will be in trouble, the room is super fine and clean, the sofa beside the bed really could help to pack or unpack instead of letting our suitcase lays on the floor. When I got there, air conditioner in my room wouldn't stop dropping the water, so I called the lobby and the staff fixed it quickly. And also don't forget the free and super fast wi-fi.

The morning bite is okay, but hey if you don't get enough, there are hundred of restaurant around your place which provide your meal from breakfast until dinner.
But yes, the alley is so far and dark in the night. But I proved myself by walking down the alley at 8 pm to Beachwalk by myself and I was ok, most of Balinese won't disturb you, they're ok with that. Seems like location is their one and only problem but they can't fix it though.
I would definitely come back here for my backpacking trip :)

Room Tip: Pick the room with the pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Resinta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLP, Hotel Manager at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear ibu Resinta,

Many thanks for your review and rating that you give to POP! Hotel Kuta Beach.
Our guest input, comment and review always be a great encouragement for us to be stronger and more innovative in the future.
We are doing our best to improve the lighting in the access street to make it more comfortable and visible and happy to hear you feel alright with it.

It is our main goal to have our guest satisfaction staying in POP! Hotels.

We understand as a budget hotel, we offer very limited service, but we always put the good quality of accommodation, cleanliness, friendly staff with the best rate offered as the top priority.

We are really glad that you had another great holiday in Bali and our colorful POP! located strategically in Kuta Beach had contributed to be part of your nice and sunny holiday in Bali.

We will always be glad to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely yours,

Patrick LE PROVOST
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

We recently chose Pop as several of us were travelling to Bali and wanted accommodation to suit everyone's budget. Overall this is a good example of budget accommodation. The cubicle rooms were good for two people. The room was clean, and I was happy with the bedding. Having an A/C was great! Really enjoyed the swimming pool. The staff were friendly. While it is located near the beach, it is not on the beachfront, and you have to walk through alley ways to get there - but I felt safe doing so. We thought the location was great as it is situated behind larger, fancier hotels which we could enjoy. We were also close to many places to eat and to go out at night. If you are really keen to go to Kuta, and you're on a tight budget, I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sherry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatrickLP, Hotel Manager at POP! Hotel Kuta Beach, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Sherry P,

Thank you very much for your review. It is a pleasant to know you enjoyed staying in POP! Hotel Kuta Beach Bali, that been part of your colorful day in Bali.

We are an innovative Budget hotel that always put the priority to the quality of room accommodation, affordable price and create a good customer experience & satisfaction.

We hope our hotel became one of colorful part of your days in Bali.

Your nice review always be agreat encouragement for us to be stronger in the future.
Once again, thank you very much.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to POP! Hotels.

Sincerely yours,

Patrick LE PROVOST
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.2 mi away
Loft Legian Hotel
Loft Legian Hotel
#24 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
0.0 mi away
POP! Hotel Legian Dewi Sri Bali
0.4 mi away
Legian Village Hotel
Legian Village Hotel
#58 of 84 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik
Hotel Neo Kuta Jelantik
#30 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.3 mi away
Duo Legian Hotel
Duo Legian Hotel
#59 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grandmas Plus Hotel Legian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to POP! Hotel Kuta Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POP! Hotel Kuta Beach

Property: POP! Hotel Kuta Beach
Address: Jl. Kubu Bene, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — POP! Hotel Kuta Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 223
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the legendary Kuta Beach area in Bali, POP! Hotel Kuta Beach offers eco-friendly and convenient accommodation both for business and leisure.All POP! Rooms include comfy Double Bed, innovative Shower Pod, Free Wifi Internet access, LCD TV + Cable TV, free Morning Bite and complimentary bottled water.Property FeaturesOutdoor Swimming PoolLift / Elevator/ Non-Smoking Rooms/ Free Parking/ 24 hour Reception/ Non-Smoking Property/ WiFi Internet ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your POP! Hotel Kuta Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
POP! Hotel Kuta Beach Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing