We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value & location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Ranked #5 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 19, 2013

Only stayed 3 nights but received some of the friendliest and best service ever from a Bali hotel.Location was perfect, away from the noise of central Kuta with lots of market shopping. 5min walk to the beach, 10min walk to central Kuta. Mozzarella restaurant attached to the hotel is now one of my favourite restaurants in Bali! The Aglio Olio is delicious!

Had a Megani Suite room on the 2nd floor, WiFi worked perfect. Room was huge with a private outdoor spa!

Room Tip: The best room in the hotel, the Magani Suite, was excellent value and well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MattD1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,529)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,346 - 1,352 of 1,529 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

My wife and I only stayed at the Magani for 5 days but were really pleased with this new hotel. We were familiar with the area, having stayed in the Legian area for over 30 years and having watched the Magani being built. The hotel is in a great location for shopping, eating and entertainment, being within walking distance from everything - even Kuta and Seminyak. The rooms are spotless, nice pool, the food great and the service is the best you will get.
Special thanks to Mantra, Eka and all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: As a couple we enjoyed a ground level room with a private pool which we could use anytime - day or n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank berjun4647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for 7 days and to be honest I was very impressed by the hotel and the service provided. Although I would not say this is a family hotel due to lack of space for kids to run around, it is more a great hotel for everyone else! The pool for Indonesian standards is cool and refreshing when you need it most (stayed in a few where the pool was bath temperature). The sun is not common at the pool as it is required to be overhead for it to light the area up, between 10 to 2 was best. I did not want sun in the late afternoon as I do prefer to swim without being burnt to a crisp. So I was happy with the sun situation.

Breakfast was quaint and the staff lovely. Location is terrific.

My only gripe was with reception not passing phone messages on to the rooms, so make sure you are continually asking then when you return to the hotel if you are expecting calls from tailors etc.

Overall loved the hotel!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and i have just come back from a 9 night stay at the Magani. We have been travelling to Bali now for over 30 years and have stayed at many kuta and legian hotels. This is by far the best hotel we have stayed at. All the staff from the front desk, to the pool attendants to room attendants and the security guards, the resturant staff are the friendliest by far the position of the hotel is excellent in Melasti street right opposite the legian market close to all the nice resturants and only a short stroll to the beach. The rooms are very big and immaculately cleaned the balcony is large with a lovely day bed on it. the breakfast was really nice and lots to choose from. I will not be staying anywhere else when i return to bali in June and september The Magani is the only place for us now.

thanks to all the wonderful staff for a perfect holiday

Room Tip: we stayed in the delux room and it was fantastic but think next time might try the private pool room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindac_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel, one of the best I've stayed at and definitely the best with a room price of under 100 euros.
Brilliant staff in all areas of the hotel. Large, modern and well-equipped rooms. Lovely pool area. Excellent breakfast. You really felt like you were staying at a luxury resort.
And if you get "bored with the luxury" and want to experience a bit of "the real Bali"? Just step out on the street, the market stalls and the hawker food is 10 meters from the front door.
A recommended hotel in every way.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StoffeH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

This hotel is definitely one of the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed. The staffs remember each one of us and even make friends with our 4 year old son. Special thanks to Eka and Dwi for being so kind and friendly. The reception was fast and efficient while waiting to check in and check out. Really appreciate the welcome drink for a scorchy weather in Bali. I would think that the staffs are all asset to the hotel, as they are all out to please every guest.

This is a relatively new hotel, and there are some room for improvement to make it a even better one.

We stayed in a premier pool room, awesome size, quiet private pool, great bed. The drainage of the toilet has to be better though. I love chilling out in my private pool area, but the hotel only provide a bed to lie down by the side of the pool. You can't read lying down.

We love the idea of having a DVD player in the room! DVD is so cheap in Bali, it will be a waste not to buy and watch it immediately! It will be good if the room comes with a clock, to remind us of the time though.

The area to place luggage has to be bigger, especially in bigger rooms like this. We have 2 luggages, and we have to place them separately.

As the room is at the ground floor and next to the common pool, it is extremely loud and noisy if guests were partying past 10pm. This can be one of the biggest disadvantage of having a pool room, which has to be fixed.

Restaurant: Staffs were friendly and attentive. Food was fantastic. Breakfast variety can be better. As an Asian Chinese, I will prefer more asian style breakfast like congee and noodle soup.

Location: 10 minutes walk to the Kuta Beach and many shopping and food around the area.

Unfortunately, we did not have the time to try the spa.

Overall, we all like this hotel as the staffs has won us all. Definitely recommended who wants to stay in Kuta.

Room Tip: Premier Pool Room 1006 has the biggest pool compound area, which gives us more serenity. Since the h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcus_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

The Magani is situated on Jalan Melasti, abt 250m from the beach, and fronting art and local product stalls. The hotel restaurant is branch of the popular Mozzarella restaurant with 2-3 other outlets in Kuta-Legian area. The food is good and very reasonably prized especially for a hotel restaurant, so you can literally dine on room service daily. It has several popular restaurants within very short walk, with another popular and well regarded Ketumbar right across the street. There's also 24hr convenience stores within 10m of hotel and a RipCurl outlet diagonally across the street, and Coffee Corner at the end of the street.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful. Someone actually called awhile after we checked in to check if we needed any help in planning our itinerary or getting around.
Housekeeping staff are meticulous, with a 2nd visit in the evening to check if we need anything cleaned or replenished.

Shops and stalls along Jalan Melasti where the hotel is generally quoted cheaper prices (before haggling) than shops on Jalan Padma and Jalan Legian adjacent.

Taxi from airport to hotel cost us IDR70,000 and from hotel to airport IDR45,000. Hotel transfer was quoted at IDR150,000 though they use a larger vehicle. Legian is centrally located in between the Kuta-Seminyak belt and one can easily walk to Kuta/Seminyak. The beach around Legian is nothing to write home about.

As with all airports in Indonesia, make sure you have IDR150,000 per person (above 2yrs old) for airport tax on departure, only payable in IDR and in cash. Seen a whole tour group rummaging through their bags for cash on departure (There's no signs or reminder until you got to the the departure right before immigration). Fortunately we were reminded by our hotel and tour driver beforehand. And politely and assertively refuse any help from porters who offer you trolleys and to pick up your bags when you arrive at the airport unless you are prepared to tip (suggestion by authorities at IDR5000 per item)

Room Tip: Ground level rooms mostly have small private pool in-room, and have front doors that faces the commo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kitsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 88 in Legian
2,436 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.2 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 88 in Legian
6,015 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#7 of 88 in Legian
1,206 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Bali Legian
Mercure Bali Legian
#24 of 88 in Legian
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Magani Hotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Magani Hotel and Spa

Address: Jl. Melasti, Legian Kelod, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#2 Business Hotel in Legian
#2 Family Hotel in Legian
#4 Spa Hotel in Legian
#5 Luxury Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $63 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Magani Hotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on lively Melasti street in Legian, Bali, The Magani boasts 108 rooms including 67 deluxe rooms, 7 deluxe suites, 20 premier rooms with private plunge pool, and 14 Magani suites with private outdoor Jacuzzi. All rooms are equipped with chic décor, king size bed, plasma TV, walk-in shower bathroom, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities and safe deposit box. The Magani is equipped with international hotel facilities.The Magani Hotel & Spa is meticulously designed to indulge the mind, body and soul of the hectic-living urban travelers This city boutique resort concept accords the highest level of service of its kind by offering a chic lifestyle transformation.THE MAGANI affords a fine urban product of its style on a smart location. A personalized genuine friendly service by its amicable staff is proven to be the paramount asset in sustaining client’s patronage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your The Magani Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Magani Hotel And Spa Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing