We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wouldn't rush back”
Review of Champs - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Champs
Cuisines: International
Restaurant details
Geelong
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wouldn't rush back”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

For a Western owned bar I was quiet disappointed that the owner didn't introduce himself or make himself known for chit chat. Food was average but service was great and prices were great. As a regular to Bali I thought it could have been better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Runaway Bay, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“One opportunity only”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We were a party of ten who attempted on two separate occasions to have a family meal at champs. The first approach they had a band singing that were worse than a group of karoake singers. Extremely loud and not enjoyable. Tried a week later and had to sit below a speaker that was blasting out an afl football match, when we asked if it could be turned down the young Balinese waitress asked who we assume was the owner who was sitting at the bar but he just shook his head and did not even acknowledge our issue. The only people who were slightly interested in the match were sitting at the bar yet the speaker was some distance away in the restaurant? area. Extremely poor service and obviously not interested in customers. Both times we left the restaurant. So if you want a loud meal where you cannot hear yourself speak this is the place to go.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank peter e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Bring Back The Flying Piano”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Didn't have a good vibe.Went on a Friday night and staff seemed on edge.Did a bit of people watching and it looked like the owner was watching every little thing the staff did.Didn't have time to greet his customers though.
Same kitchen staff from when this was the Flying Piano so food is still ok.
Place looks a bit more modern now all the paintings and prints have gone and it has a good selection of sport on its big screens.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldBoyBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point Cook, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little pub, plenty of entertainment”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Food was great. When staying at the Jayakarta hotel and you don't wont to walk far, Champs bar is just around the corner.
Girls are excellent and very friendly.
Recommend the steak!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good pub food”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Checked this place a couple of times, food more than acceptable, chefs do a good job, appears to be very clean, as you can see the kitchen area! My misses reckons excellent mashed potato!!!
Had a fun night with some local talent, have different entertainment most nights, just ask if Elvis was a recent guest,......LOL....good spot behind Jayakarta Hotel Legian.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigfella0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing