We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really do get what you paid for ...”
Review of Hotel Bali Subak

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bali Subak
Ranked #38 of 64 Legian B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Well my wife and I are staying the first of 6 nights at the Hotel Bali Subak. Although the beach is very close, the beach is quite littered with trash and as to the other comment provided on Tripadvisor, I agree, the street was a bit of a narrow road and not the best for walking down. We chose this as its close to the beach for a very cheap price, however you get what you paid for I guess!

As for the rooms ... well there was a huge cockroach (dead thank god) under the pillow of the bed, there was many dead flies in the corner of the room and near the balcony. They did come and change the bedding in about 10 minutes which was quick but honestly with a huge dead cockroach under a pillow in a room they should have offered us a different room especially when we are here in the low season and the hotel is not busy at all. There is also what appears to be mouse droppings in the room but I have not seen a mouse (yet!?!). Our balcony faces a nasty back lane so we only go out there to have a smoke and dry our clothes.

The people here are nice, however I would only recommend this to young surfers that just want to have a cheap trip and have more money to party on the beach.

Room Tip: Check under your pillow and around the room for signs of insects and other unwanted guests!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDN_PhD_Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (25)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 25 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2013

We booked our NY celebration trip in Bali at last minute. At the peak of holiday, it was almost impossible to find an affordable hotel. Price went up to $200 per night even for some 3-star hotels.
And we found Bali Subak at usd40/night for double room (no breakfast). With that price, we don't expect much. The rooms are clean, basic furniture. But as the price suggests, furniture are not of good quality… seems quite old. The pool is small, we don't bother to check out… the hotel is an extension of a previous established hotel by the owner (forgot the name though). The service is rather slow. Anyway they try to be helpful and we wouldn't complain for the price we paid. There is a restaurant, offering so-so food. Don't eat there for dinner (at 6-7pm) because waiting time is very long and you are actually being served to way many mosquitoes…

What I don't like is actually the location. On one side, it appears to be well located, near Legian beach/ Double six club… But it is actually not convenient to visit other part of Bali. Legian beach is certainly not the best so we had to hire a bike to visit other locations for party/ clubs, shopping and dining. Walking to the main road will take around 20 mins... The hotel is at the end of Jalan Arjuna road, imagining at dead-end of a narrow 1 car road. We almost missed our flight because taxis just don’t want to go there to pick us up. It was raining and we had to carry our luggage, walked all the way to the main road to find a cab. Once there is a jam on Jl Arjuna road, it simply takes ages to get out.

I believe there are better options in Bali… but it doesn't hurt to stay here.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bubbly1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

For only $40 a night in the July school holidays this was brilliant.Fantastic location,only 200 metres from the beach.Great staff,nice grounds and 2 clean swimming pools.Included breakfast was lovely with a choice of western or Indonesian.The rooms are spotlessly clean,quite large with aircon and fridge.rooms have balconies and are quiet.
Plenty of money saved to spend on bintangs!!Could be a great choice for families with older kids....cheap enough to get 2 rooms!!

Room Tip: not sure about other rooms,but ones facing the pool have a balcony...1st floor up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank emuplains
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Анна П
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Wij zaten BG heerlijk rustig, voor mindervaliden is er altijd hulp!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank wspoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2016, traveled with friends
Thank Omed K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgio358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.8 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 88 in Legian
2,433 reviews
0.6 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 88 in Legian
6,013 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.9 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
0.7 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bali Subak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bali Subak

Address: Jl. Arjuna, Legian, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Legian
Price Range: $36 - $43 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bali Subak 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Bali Subak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Bali Subak Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing