We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of Baik Baik Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Legian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baik Baik Villas
Ranked #57 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Recently spent a week with our family, teenage daughters. Found the accommodation to be great, traditional open style living, with ceiling fans in living area. The fact that the pool is so large and next to the living areas meant it stayed rather cool using fans. Rooms are big and airy, beds comfortable. Kitchen is well equipped with plenty of dishes, glasses, pots, pans, sharp knives, etc. Tiles are cracked in some places, but have been sealed so not noticeable to the feet. Staff cleaned daily, doing very detailed job, pool cleaned each day. The staff took great care of us and met all our needs with enthusiasm. Safe worked fine and security staff always just outside. Location Central with easy access to shops, bin tang supermarket and bars close by. We would stay here again.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank 65carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 28 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2014

My ninth trip to Bali travelling with 5 other females,Stayed at Baik Baik Villa for nine nights 27th of december until 5th of janurary The villa is in need of some TLC the owner should be fixing the problems with doors that dont lock and rooms that flood during rain and the other problems in the villa this didnt really concern us to much.Staff did put towels near doors and windows to soak up the water
Water was supplied which was great our washing taken to laundry and returned next day that to was great
One of the girls was returning home so the safe was opened (the only safe in the villa) money was missing from her wallet we all then removed our items from the safe to check and yes all of us were missing australian dollars my passport was also missing
I spoke with staff several times about my passport they acted like they didnt understand one of them looked under a few lounge cushions
We removed everything from the safe left the safe door wide open .We searched every inch of the villa and used a torch in the safe as the lighting wasnt very good
One of the staff asked if we had reported it to police she told him yes (we hadnt we had cancelled it on line) then i had to apply in Denpasar for a emergency passport (which is a drama taxis new photos more money) The trust had gone along with the passport and money we no longer felt safe at the villa
On the morning we were checking out i was doing a last minute check before leaving and i saw in the open safe on top of the mat which we had removed several times my passport. my passport was wet The staff never mentioned anything about finding the passport
I would strongly advise not to stay at these villas but if you do dont use the SAFE
Im sad to say because we dont know who did this we no longer trusted any of the staff whom i sure most we unaware
But i will be visiting Bali again as i love the people and the culture (maybe i wont be as trusting next time)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaikBaikVillas, Manager at Baik Baik Villas, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review and give us your feedback. As always we will take your response onboard as we are determined to improve what we can. However I think some of your issues are beyond our ability to fix.

After reading your review (as this the second review for us for the same period of stayed even some statement has been answered on the first review, We asked all of our staff again about the same statement that you wrote on tripadvisor. Even we did investigate them when your friend’s review was posted on tripadvisor.

We recall the situation during the rainy days, it was extreme weather conditions therefore water was dripping under the door of your room. The best that the villa staff could do at the time was anticipate it with placing towel to avoid water run through the room.

Regarding the door which is made from wood was soaked with rain water giving result of wet door and a little bit hard to lock. The water soaked in the front door because of the extreme weather, usually there would not be water in that area. we have a full-time maintenance staff available to look at any issues. Our technician has fixed the door after our staff reported to him. We apologize for any inconvenience happened during your stay at our villa. This situation also out of our control because it was really big rain and windy. But the management has report to the owner and tried to find the solution how to stop the water dripping under the door when a heavy rain with strong wind occur.

Regarding your statement about missing money, honestly this issue surprised us. As while you were here you just reported to the staff that you lost your passport and was not sure about where you lost it. The staff said they had tried to help by looking in the laundry but couldn’t find it. As you yourself are not sure where the passport is. And the staff wasn't given access to your room to check . They did their best to help.

We deeply regret that you did not report losing or misplacing money while you were still staying at the villa. We could have reported it to the police. All of our staff believes that you were all happy staying with us in the villa. Since we told them that you made a review on tripadvisor stating lost money in the safety box, they were quite shocked as it doesn't reflect the way you seemed appreciating your stay.

We will follow up your comment and ensure that we can improve our service in the future. We are looking forward to welcoming you again at Baik Baik Villa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our group of six females stayed at Baik Baik Villas over the New Year period for a total of 9 nights. We were all generally happy with the locality of the villas and the villa itself although, the villa bedrooms leaked water around the doors and windows badly when it rained. At times villa staff was hard to find and on many occasions were found resting on beds in other villas when we went to find them.

Only one of the three bedrooms in the villa was able to be locked securely which was also an issue as the safe was accessed and money went missing as well as a passport. We reported this to the villa staff although they were not interested in helping us with this matter. We told the staff that the missing passport had been reported to authorities and cancelled.

Surprise, surprise, the morning we were departing the passport had been placed back into the safe (very wet) without any mention from staff of finding the passport. This was my 8th trip to Bali and my first bad encounter of this kind. I will not let this experience hinder my love for the Island and its people although, I must warn other travellers to be aware of Baik Baik Viillas security issues

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirrandandy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have been travelling to Bali with my family for several years and this was the worst experience we have ever encountered.
The main reason that we love Bali is the people; the Balinese are very lovely and extremely honest.
Unfortunately this was not our experience at this Villa. Our safe (the only one in the villa) was opened by staff obviously on a daily basis and they proceeded to help themselves to our cash and passports. We stayed for 9 nights and two nights ago we realised that a substantial amount of money had gone missing from each of the 6 wallets in the safe and my mother’s passport was gone.
We cancelled the passport yesterday and asked the staff if they had seen the passport. They replied that they had not seen it. Last night before heading out for dinner we all took our belongings out of the safe as this was obviously not a safe option and didn’t want to risk getting anything else taken. On returning from breakfast this morning the missing passport was back in the safe that was left open from last night. This is extremely dodgy and who knows what they did with it so we will now need to get a new passport issued before returning to Australia this week.
We will not let this experience spoil our love for Bali but I would strongly advise against travellers staying at these villas as this type of untrustworthiness is unacceptable and spoils the beautiful reputation of the Balinese.
Baik Baik management and staff you should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jodie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaikBaikVillas, Manager at Baik Baik Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to The Baik Baik Villas.

After reading your review, the management of the villa immediately investigate the villa staff and asked their version of the incident described during your stay at Baik Baik Villa. All of our staff got the impression that all of you were very nice, charming, happy and enjoyed staying with us.

However, on the 4th Jan 2014 at 13.30pm our cleaning staff recall the situation that you lost your passport and you asked them to look for it on the floor or within the towel to be sent to laundry. But the search didn't give any result , none of them saw the passport.

At 13.45 pm your driver came along and you instructed him to check in the car, and the driver also could not find the passport.

Apparently you weren't sure about the place you could have left it .

During all this missing passport issue , we did not recall any money missing from your safe, as none in your group (6 persons) did mention it at that time.

Which afterwards sounds a bit strange as money was supposedly missing from all of your wallets .

We are very sorry that your passport was missing but eventually you found it back in the safe as you mentioned in your review, we certainly would have done do more investigation with the police if we knew that money was missing at that time.

We do not really understand why a thief would steal a passport than put it back in a safety deposit box which you only had the code .

Our management is deeply concerned by safety within BAIK BAIK VILLAS premises , there is only one key to the safe deposit box which is retained by the Manager and stored in our offices 5 km away .

To open the safe deposit box you must set your own code , so it's most unlikely that any of our staff would have been capable to open the safe deposit box without breaking it. We did notice after reading you review that the deposit box is in good condition , no tentative of break in was detected .

Please be advised that the negative review would result bad image to our villa and we certainly would not accept it as we have given you the service as well as assisting you with honesty and responsibility during your stay with us.

On behalf of our management and staff Baik Baik Villas will always welcoming you back to stay and enjoy the beauty of Bali in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here with Family and friends in 2 Villas, was perfect for us all (11 of us ).The Villas could open up to one big villa. Ketut and the staff were very friendly and always happy to help. The lane way in front of the villa has all been paved. A short walk to the end of the laneway and there is a cafe where you can have all meals, there is a Bintang shop and markets, also only 10 minute walk to the beach. Only thing to pick is the pool being close to the living areas if water gets on the tiles when someone is swimming it is very slippery, our friend slipped over, so Ketut put towels along the walkways which helped.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank We_Loves_Cruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for 1 week with my family in April. This is a perfect little location for a holiday with a few extra people. It is close to everything, but set back from the main road so it is super peaceful. Having a private pool is definitely a plus and worth that little bit extra.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bianca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The things I will remind about this villa is inflexibility and dirt.
The villas are very old, badly kept (cockroaches, traps for mice under the beds, mosquitos everywhere), under equipped (no furnitures in the bedrooms except the beds, not even a chair..., no coffee maker, no napkins, etc, etc...), the pool is dirty, the garden is sad, the paint is mouldy and the location is very bad and very noisy because of all the constructions going on in the surroundings.
And the management does not help... I asked for coffee maker, paper napkins and one other deckchair because we had only two for a three bedroom villa and everything was refused.
Very bad service.
Don't recommend this place and I will never go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaikBaikVillas, Manager at Baik Baik Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us. We are a professional unique villas offering the classic style of life and true Balinese. Therefore you find the place as it is.

However, we still keep the cleanness of the place by periodic pest control (fogging), regular cleaning of swimming pool and all villa area.

There should not be rat trap under the bed as the bed frame is made from solid concrete. This flapping season between wet to dry allows more mosquitoes in the outside area which is already anticipated with insect repellent and fogging.

We are sorry that you have such a bad experience with noise, as our neighbor doing renovation in his premises. This is something we could not forbid.

In regards to our service being called “bad service” I could personally say, we have our standard operating procedure for it and we ensure in every way our staff assisting the guest with hospitality. We hope you could give a fair judgment to this.

Furthermore, We are very pleased you staying with us and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.0 mi away
Bali Cosy Villa
Bali Cosy Villa
#6 of 87 in Legian
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,393 reviews
0.0 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.0 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.0 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baik Baik Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baik Baik Villas

Address: GG Baik Baik, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 87 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range: $240 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful BAIK BAIK VILLAS are nestled close to the Legian Seminyak Villas private area, just footsteps away from the Indian Ocean at Seminyak Beach, restaurants and shops. This luxury villas complex offers three villas three bedrooms, each with a private entrance and a private pool, presenting guests with a three, six or nine bedrooms renting option. BAIK BAIK VILLAS has been created with a nice finishing of the designer choice of carefully selected furnishings, mixing European style with a contemporary Asian flavor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baik Baik Villas Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing