We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing!!!!!”
Review of Baik Baik Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Legian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baik Baik Villas
Ranked #57 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Our group of six females stayed at Baik Baik Villas over the New Year period for a total of 9 nights. We were all generally happy with the locality of the villas and the villa itself although, the villa bedrooms leaked water around the doors and windows badly when it rained. At times villa staff was hard to find and on many occasions were found resting on beds in other villas when we went to find them.

Only one of the three bedrooms in the villa was able to be locked securely which was also an issue as the safe was accessed and money went missing as well as a passport. We reported this to the villa staff although they were not interested in helping us with this matter. We told the staff that the missing passport had been reported to authorities and cancelled.

Surprise, surprise, the morning we were departing the passport had been placed back into the safe (very wet) without any mention from staff of finding the passport. This was my 8th trip to Bali and my first bad encounter of this kind. I will not let this experience hinder my love for the Island and its people although, I must warn other travellers to be aware of Baik Baik Viillas security issues

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirrandandy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (28)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 28 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have been travelling to Bali with my family for several years and this was the worst experience we have ever encountered.
The main reason that we love Bali is the people; the Balinese are very lovely and extremely honest.
Unfortunately this was not our experience at this Villa. Our safe (the only one in the villa) was opened by staff obviously on a daily basis and they proceeded to help themselves to our cash and passports. We stayed for 9 nights and two nights ago we realised that a substantial amount of money had gone missing from each of the 6 wallets in the safe and my mother’s passport was gone.
We cancelled the passport yesterday and asked the staff if they had seen the passport. They replied that they had not seen it. Last night before heading out for dinner we all took our belongings out of the safe as this was obviously not a safe option and didn’t want to risk getting anything else taken. On returning from breakfast this morning the missing passport was back in the safe that was left open from last night. This is extremely dodgy and who knows what they did with it so we will now need to get a new passport issued before returning to Australia this week.
We will not let this experience spoil our love for Bali but I would strongly advise against travellers staying at these villas as this type of untrustworthiness is unacceptable and spoils the beautiful reputation of the Balinese.
Baik Baik management and staff you should be ashamed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jodie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaikBaikVillas, Manager at Baik Baik Villas, responded to this reviewResponded January 13, 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for posting your review on TripAdvisor after your recent visit to The Baik Baik Villas.

After reading your review, the management of the villa immediately investigate the villa staff and asked their version of the incident described during your stay at Baik Baik Villa. All of our staff got the impression that all of you were very nice, charming, happy and enjoyed staying with us.

However, on the 4th Jan 2014 at 13.30pm our cleaning staff recall the situation that you lost your passport and you asked them to look for it on the floor or within the towel to be sent to laundry. But the search didn't give any result , none of them saw the passport.

At 13.45 pm your driver came along and you instructed him to check in the car, and the driver also could not find the passport.

Apparently you weren't sure about the place you could have left it .

During all this missing passport issue , we did not recall any money missing from your safe, as none in your group (6 persons) did mention it at that time.

Which afterwards sounds a bit strange as money was supposedly missing from all of your wallets .

We are very sorry that your passport was missing but eventually you found it back in the safe as you mentioned in your review, we certainly would have done do more investigation with the police if we knew that money was missing at that time.

We do not really understand why a thief would steal a passport than put it back in a safety deposit box which you only had the code .

Our management is deeply concerned by safety within BAIK BAIK VILLAS premises , there is only one key to the safe deposit box which is retained by the Manager and stored in our offices 5 km away .

To open the safe deposit box you must set your own code , so it's most unlikely that any of our staff would have been capable to open the safe deposit box without breaking it. We did notice after reading you review that the deposit box is in good condition , no tentative of break in was detected .

Please be advised that the negative review would result bad image to our villa and we certainly would not accept it as we have given you the service as well as assisting you with honesty and responsibility during your stay with us.

On behalf of our management and staff Baik Baik Villas will always welcoming you back to stay and enjoy the beauty of Bali in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed here with Family and friends in 2 Villas, was perfect for us all (11 of us ).The Villas could open up to one big villa. Ketut and the staff were very friendly and always happy to help. The lane way in front of the villa has all been paved. A short walk to the end of the laneway and there is a cafe where you can have all meals, there is a Bintang shop and markets, also only 10 minute walk to the beach. Only thing to pick is the pool being close to the living areas if water gets on the tiles when someone is swimming it is very slippery, our friend slipped over, so Ketut put towels along the walkways which helped.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank We_Loves_Cruising
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for 1 week with my family in April. This is a perfect little location for a holiday with a few extra people. It is close to everything, but set back from the main road so it is super peaceful. Having a private pool is definitely a plus and worth that little bit extra.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bianca h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The things I will remind about this villa is inflexibility and dirt.
The villas are very old, badly kept (cockroaches, traps for mice under the beds, mosquitos everywhere), under equipped (no furnitures in the bedrooms except the beds, not even a chair..., no coffee maker, no napkins, etc, etc...), the pool is dirty, the garden is sad, the paint is mouldy and the location is very bad and very noisy because of all the constructions going on in the surroundings.
And the management does not help... I asked for coffee maker, paper napkins and one other deckchair because we had only two for a three bedroom villa and everything was refused.
Very bad service.
Don't recommend this place and I will never go back again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaikBaikVillas, Manager at Baik Baik Villas, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your feedback about your stay with us. We are a professional unique villas offering the classic style of life and true Balinese. Therefore you find the place as it is.

However, we still keep the cleanness of the place by periodic pest control (fogging), regular cleaning of swimming pool and all villa area.

There should not be rat trap under the bed as the bed frame is made from solid concrete. This flapping season between wet to dry allows more mosquitoes in the outside area which is already anticipated with insect repellent and fogging.

We are sorry that you have such a bad experience with noise, as our neighbor doing renovation in his premises. This is something we could not forbid.

In regards to our service being called “bad service” I could personally say, we have our standard operating procedure for it and we ensure in every way our staff assisting the guest with hospitality. We hope you could give a fair judgment to this.

Furthermore, We are very pleased you staying with us and look forward to your return in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Thank you ot the team at Baik Baik Villas. Our group of 4 had a three bedroomed, 3 1/2 bathroom spacious villa with WONDERFUL AIR CON, so sleeping was an absolute pleasure. Open air bathrooms were great. Comfortable open air lounge and kitchen area with ceiling fans. Staff were regular and helpful. Never had to ask for towels or service. Nothing was too much trouble. Laundry was well priced and quick return. Jero and Ketut and the other lady (sorry forgot her name) were fantastic. Really made out trip pleasant. The Villa has been around a while, it is Bali and so it comes with the things that are the usual in a tropical climate, Yes there are midges - the staff spray daily and while there were there were did not have any problems . There were no cracks in tiles around the PRIVATE POOL- it is chlorinated. It was safe and very clean. The staff skimmed at least every second day. We had one trip of power only in 10 days. It came back straight away. Security comes on duty late in the afternoon and is there overnight. There is always someone outside at the staff site that you can seek advice from. The road is fully paved up to the main street. It has street lighting, is frequented by a lot of tourists staying complexes along the lane. We felt very safe charging up the street for a late evening massage. Close to supermarkets and plenty of shopping options, And the best part was the price, for a family of up to 6 people to be able to stay for under $A300 per night is good value for money. Private pool, facilities to prepare breakfas and meals,full size refriderator, filtered water, TV, DVD, air con bedrooms, could not be happier. A great location for a family holiday. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClockmakersWife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

My first experience of the Baik Baik Villas was arriving with their driver who had picked us up at 12pm and being informed that we couldn't enter the villa until 2pm. Note, they were the ones who sent the driver to pick us up. So, there we were, standing in the heat with our luggage, several bags of perishable food and my friend's highly pregnant daughter. They said that the villa wasn't ready yet as it needed to be "cleaned". They wouldn't even let us leave our bags there.

My friend spent some time on the phone with the Villa Let people who we had rented through, explaining the situation, including that we had been happily ensconced in a nice little boutique hotel before they sent their driver to drag us away. In the end, the Villa Let lady hung up on my friend. Eventually someone took pity on us, and allowed us to leave our bags at the villa, while we went for some lunch.

As several people have pointed out, the villas, are in major need of an upgrade. Most of the floor tiles are cracked and broken, which is made worse by the fact that I don't think they were mopped on a regular basis, making the cracks even more apparent. The swimming pool was also rather dirty, with built up scum around the edges and a thick layer of pollen (?) floating on the water the day we arrived.

As another reviewer mentioned there were problems with the doors not closing, even after a couple of guys had spent some time supposedley fixing them. This was actually quite a major issue for us, as our safe wasn't working and we were forced to try and hide our passports and cash in the lining of our suitcases. This was to no avail, as my friend's daughter had $250 go missing. After this, we felt uncomfortable about staff coming into the rooms and so we asked if they could just clean the outside areas and leave us some fresh towels. The end result was that they stopped cleaning the villas altogether.

Luckily for us, we had a Balinese friend who came and rescued us and took us to a hotel as we no longer felt safe at the Baik Baik Villas. Just when we thought our experience was over, the Villa threw up one final horror. While we were packing to leave the villa, my friend's daughter found a "going away present" from the Baik Baik Villas, a used condom, stuck between the top of her mattress and the bedhead. So much for making us wait while they "cleaned" the room. It appears they hadn't even bothered to change the sheets before we moved in or they would have found the condom.

A lot of people like to say that "you get what you paid for". That's true up to a point. But basic cleanliness isn't going to break the bank, and good customer service is no more expensive than bad customer service. I like to try and say something positive in my reviews, so that I don't come across as a "whinger" and hard to please, so, here it is; the air-con in my room was quite pleasant and we got to see some beautiful cows and calves walking in along the road just outside the villa :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mojos_mamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaikBaikVillas, Manager at Baik Baik Villas, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear Mrs,

Thank you for your review regarding your visit to Baik - Baik Villas.

We would like to add some facts regarding our villa services, we are a management company hospitality since years now and we focus on offering the best to our guests. About your check in day, we never meant to keep you waiting. The situation was that you booked through a different agent who was in charge for your check in and check out. As you can read on our policy website, check in time is 2pm as usual in all accommodation complex in Bali. Please refer to your booking agents on this matter.

We are very proud of our Unique Balinese style villas which has wooden door in open areas , which of course may move regarding temperatures , however our technicians check regularly to maintain them at standard. We are sorry for the tiles cracks on the floor even though the style was meant to be like that, eggs shell style tiles.

The safe deposit box was not broken, it was proven by the next day , we could easily open the safe deposit box with our villa's manager and the guest being there to see how the key works. I hope this safety problem could not be an issue anymore as both parties has solved the problem at that time.

We could not open it on the previous day because our villas manager was not available at that time and only her got the spare key. We believe on the same day you are able to open , close and lock the safe deposit box, therefore we strongly believed your precious belongings were already stored in the safe deposit box.

In regard to the humiliating issue of the condom found, we are really sorry and really surprised about it as it is very odd that our room maids didn't notice this when they changed the bed sheets. Our cleaning service follows standard steps which is to remove the mattress before re-do the sheets. Our staff should have seen it. Deeply sorry that it was found in the pregnant teenager room.

We also have a strict policy of giving our guest their privacy to enjoy their time at the villas, therefore on Thursday the room boy did not clean the room as per the guest's request.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we believed some of the supposed issues were solved.


Regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
1 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 88 in Legian
2,438 reviews
0.8 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 88 in Legian
6,018 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
1.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
0.9 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baik Baik Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baik Baik Villas

Address: GG Baik Baik, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 86 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range: $240 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful BAIK BAIK VILLAS are nestled close to the Legian Seminyak Villas private area, just footsteps away from the Indian Ocean at Seminyak Beach, restaurants and shops. This luxury villas complex offers three villas three bedrooms, each with a private entrance and a private pool, presenting guests with a three, six or nine bedrooms renting option. BAIK BAIK VILLAS has been created with a nice finishing of the designer choice of carefully selected furnishings, mixing European style with a contemporary Asian flavor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baik Baik Villas Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing