We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Horrors of the Baik Baik Villas”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Baik Baik Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Legian
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Baik Baik Villas
Ranked #59 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Horrors of the Baik Baik Villas”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

My first experience of the Baik Baik Villas was arriving with their driver who had picked us up at 12pm and being informed that we couldn't enter the villa until 2pm. Note, they were the ones who sent the driver to pick us up. So, there we were, standing in the heat with our luggage, several bags of perishable food and my friend's highly pregnant daughter. They said that the villa wasn't ready yet as it needed to be "cleaned". They wouldn't even let us leave our bags there.

My friend spent some time on the phone with the Villa Let people who we had rented through, explaining the situation, including that we had been happily ensconced in a nice little boutique hotel before they sent their driver to drag us away. In the end, the Villa Let lady hung up on my friend. Eventually someone took pity on us, and allowed us to leave our bags at the villa, while we went for some lunch.

As several people have pointed out, the villas, are in major need of an upgrade. Most of the floor tiles are cracked and broken, which is made worse by the fact that I don't think they were mopped on a regular basis, making the cracks even more apparent. The swimming pool was also rather dirty, with built up scum around the edges and a thick layer of pollen (?) floating on the water the day we arrived.

As another reviewer mentioned there were problems with the doors not closing, even after a couple of guys had spent some time supposedley fixing them. This was actually quite a major issue for us, as our safe wasn't working and we were forced to try and hide our passports and cash in the lining of our suitcases. This was to no avail, as my friend's daughter had $250 go missing. After this, we felt uncomfortable about staff coming into the rooms and so we asked if they could just clean the outside areas and leave us some fresh towels. The end result was that they stopped cleaning the villas altogether.

Luckily for us, we had a Balinese friend who came and rescued us and took us to a hotel as we no longer felt safe at the Baik Baik Villas. Just when we thought our experience was over, the Villa threw up one final horror. While we were packing to leave the villa, my friend's daughter found a "going away present" from the Baik Baik Villas, a used condom, stuck between the top of her mattress and the bedhead. So much for making us wait while they "cleaned" the room. It appears they hadn't even bothered to change the sheets before we moved in or they would have found the condom.

A lot of people like to say that "you get what you paid for". That's true up to a point. But basic cleanliness isn't going to break the bank, and good customer service is no more expensive than bad customer service. I like to try and say something positive in my reviews, so that I don't come across as a "whinger" and hard to please, so, here it is; the air-con in my room was quite pleasant and we got to see some beautiful cows and calves walking in along the road just outside the villa :-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mojos_mamma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BaikBaikVillas, Manager at Baik Baik Villas, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Mrs,

Thank you for your review regarding your visit to Baik - Baik Villas.

We would like to add some facts regarding our villa services, we are a management company hospitality since years now and we focus on offering the best to our guests. About your check in day, we never meant to keep you waiting. The situation was that you booked through a different agent who was in charge for your check in and check out. As you can read on our policy website, check in time is 2pm as usual in all accommodation complex in Bali. Please refer to your booking agents on this matter.

We are very proud of our Unique Balinese style villas which has wooden door in open areas , which of course may move regarding temperatures , however our technicians check regularly to maintain them at standard. We are sorry for the tiles cracks on the floor even though the style was meant to be like that, eggs shell style tiles.

The safe deposit box was not broken, it was proven by the next day , we could easily open the safe deposit box with our villa's manager and the guest being there to see how the key works. I hope this safety problem could not be an issue anymore as both parties has solved the problem at that time.

We could not open it on the previous day because our villas manager was not available at that time and only her got the spare key. We believe on the same day you are able to open , close and lock the safe deposit box, therefore we strongly believed your precious belongings were already stored in the safe deposit box.

In regard to the humiliating issue of the condom found, we are really sorry and really surprised about it as it is very odd that our room maids didn't notice this when they changed the bed sheets. Our cleaning service follows standard steps which is to remove the mattress before re-do the sheets. Our staff should have seen it. Deeply sorry that it was found in the pregnant teenager room.

We also have a strict policy of giving our guest their privacy to enjoy their time at the villas, therefore on Thursday the room boy did not clean the room as per the guest's request.

Once again thank you very much for your review and we believed some of the supposed issues were solved.


Regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    2
    5
    6
See reviews for
19
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

we stayed at the villa from 24 nov - 3 dec. took 2 villas as there were a few families with kids staying together..

negative points:
- one of our kids got a nasty cut from one of the pools which has a broken tile and it was not fixed throughout our stay.
- pool was not cleaned frequently. water turned dirty after 2 days and need to remind the staff to clean it.
- frequent power trips in one of the villas.

positive points:
- bedrooms and attached bathrooms are spacious
- no rats
- friendly housekeeping services (the cleaning ladies did extra by arranging the kids' stuffed toys neatly in our room)
- plenty of towels provided without requests
- prompt & reasonable-priced laundry service
- location of the villa is great. abt 10mins walking distance to the nearest bintang supermarket (seminyak area)

so far, despite some minor hiccups, our stay was a pleasant one. and it was indeed value for money and will definitely recommend the place to my friends and family

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JuSaLisFiaYah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

we stayed here a group of eight of us we only booked for one month in advance, the rooms are nice and HAVE GOOD AIR CONDITIONING, the bathrooms are open air with hot water, there is most of the time someone out the front in a security hut who can organise anything for you from a van to scooters and even 3:00AM McDonalds delivered!, the pools where a bit cloudy and very chlorinated one had a broken tile in it which they tried to charge us for!! the location is close to most areas in Seminyak and about a 30min walk to Kuta depends what you are after there are plenty of options in the area including a supermarket.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kint
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Never again.
Not impressed with the mice in the cupboards and mice running across the kitchen benches and in the bedroom.
Not good vakue as the building is run down and needs maintenance.
Only a dusty track to the Villas.
Very little lighting on track.
Saw much better value closer to the beach.

Room Tip: Rooms at this price with mice do not appeal and are not value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Legian hotels

Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

We had a 10 night stay at these villas traveling in a group of 6 adults and sharing a 3 bedroom villa (Villa Satu), my report would say that they were "adequate".

Service was excellent and staff were very responsive to any requests, pool was excellent, however for a complex of their age, being a little over 1 year old, it was already showing some serious wear and tear.

Cracked tiles, broken tiles at the edge of the pool, doors that are exposed to the elements were hard to open/close and we did have a resident mouse that scarpered through (being an open air living area it is difficult to keep them out occasionally....so we did not mind so much).

The manager emailed us before our arrival to let us know that there were some road works going on leading into the villas from GG Baik Baik, so we entered from JL Seminyak, again no big issues with noise or dust or anything like that.

I believe that if the owners got a couple of good tradesmen in to go through the place it would come up to scratch quite well.

Having said all of the above, it is Bali and it did not stop us from enjoying our stay or holiday one little bit. Would I stay there again?.....we do like to try different places but probably would, being good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Browndog181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed in August there were 5 of us in Villa 3. I have to say after reading other reviews I don't know what people expect for their money. These villas are excellent value for money in a really good location. Yes it's down a track type road so what! Most villas are down a little side road. You are only a few mins to the main street where you can get cabs. You will always flag a cab there are many. Tip: ask them to put meter on. The villa itself was a great size. People complaining about lack of towels but we all had a large towel each & a hand towel & they were changed daily? Maids very helpful as were management. Some tiles maybe broken, the standard of the workmanship might not be to Australia standards..........because you aren't in Australia you are in Bali! The kitchen it basic I agree but why would you want to cook on holiday when it's so cheap to eat out! Yes there are only 2 sunbeds plus a beanbag to lay on but there is a grassed area plus a seating area in the shade. You won't feel cramped in these villas, there is a tv if that's what you like & a dvd player. Just one word of warning to give, if you are going to get silly & throw yourselves in the pool be warned the tiles around the pool will obviously get wet which makes them slippy. If you slip & fall it won't be the tile that breaks. Enough said! Yes there maybe nicer villas but you will pay more, so with what you pay for these villas we all thought it was excellent. We have all stayed in 1-5 star accommodation throughout our lives so we are pretty good judges! There is security near the door all the time & we could lock our bedrooms. There is also a safe in one of the bedrooms. I read the bedrooms are basic? Not sure what people want in a bedroom, there are big comfy bed & plenty of space for clothes! It's only about 5 mins to Seminyak in a cab or 5 mins the other way to Kuta. It's about a 10 min walk to the beach straight down Double Six. Top tips: Potato Head beach club. Sarong restaurant. Zuccini's for breakfast on restaurant rd. Anatara roof bar for sunset cocktails. Go & enjoy, you are in Bali!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

We Have just come back from baik baik villas after 9 days of beautiful weather in my favourite place bali!! I love villas and I would never stay in a hotel after I stayed here!! Nice staff and sercurity beautiful villa, comfy beds,Perfect set up. Only thing was the lane street wants finished but that didn't bother us! You do need taxis to take you to the villa at night coz its pretty dark. There was everything you needed to cook,the towels were changed daily and cleaned the villa and pool and made bed everyday after you had left the villa! It's in a perfect location in seminyak and there is a beautiful cafe with the best coffee up the road 3mins taxi ride called the coffee house towards canggu not kuta.

WE LOVE BAIK BAIK VILLAS
And will be back :) :) hopefully next year

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessgalbraith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.0 mi away
Downtown Villas
Downtown Villas
#47 of 412 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.0 mi away
Anakula Villas
Anakula Villas
#51 of 79 in Legian
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baik Baik Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baik Baik Villas

Property: Baik Baik Villas
Address: GG Baik Baik, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 79 Specialty Lodging in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Delightful BAIK BAIK VILLAS are nestled close to the Legian Seminyak Villas private area, just footsteps away from the Indian Ocean at Seminyak Beach, restaurants and shops. This luxury villas complex offers three villas three bedrooms, each with a private entrance and a private pool, presenting guests with a three, six or nine bedrooms renting option. BAIK BAIK VILLAS has been created with a nice finishing of the designer choice of carefully selected furnishings, mixing European style with a contemporary Asian flavor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Baik Baik Villas Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing