We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”
Review of The Akmani Legian

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Akmani Legian
Ranked #25 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2014

It took us an hour and a half in a taxi to get to the hotel even though it is only about 7kms away from the airport. Jl Legian is a really busy street, both with traffic and lost of shops/restaurants/clubs. This was a good hotel for our overnight layover in Bali before travelling on but i wouldn't recommend it for extended stays. The staff are all very friendly with good basic english. Our ground level room was nice but the smell from our bathroom was disgusting. We think it may have come from flushing the toilet, if we stayed longer we would have asked to be moved as it was gross. Breakfast was average, not really memorable for anything.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erry89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmani-Legian, Management at The Akmani Legian, responded to this reviewResponded January 7, 2014

Dear Erry89,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us.

We are most concerned to read your disappointment stay with our hotel. Please allow us to express our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay with us. Please be assured that we are committed to correct our shortfall and we are pleased to inform you that some refurbishment has been planned to improve our current facilities.

Rather than giving you excuses, again please accept our sincere apology and we hope you will give us another chance to welcome you back to Bali in the very near future.

Thank you again for taking the time to share.

Kind regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

717 - 723 of 976 reviews

Reviewed January 1, 2014

The problems this hotel has are all written down,
So is the standard cut and paste answer from the staff.
I stayed with 2 family members in this hotel for 8 nights, the rooms smell very musty when you arrive, no towels at the pools, 8 deckchairs!!!!!! So we never managed to get one.
Dronken people arriving in the early hours banging on doors and making lots of noise.
And everyday from the afternoon until very late at night the Rap Crap coming from the rooftop bar that makes the windows shudder and keep you awake all night.
Staff very friendly, but very poor in English, I'm on my way home now and look forward to a good night sleep on a half decent mantras.
Martine Perth

Room Tip: There aren't any!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Martine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmani-Legian, Management at The Akmani Legian, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Martine2014,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a constructive review on our hotel through TripAdvisor.

We are really sorry to hear that your overall experience with our service and facilities was not up to your expectation and you faced such issues.We did have a delayed in receiving the towels delivery from our affiliate laundry company which result in short of towels provided to all guests.

The numbers of deck chairs on our rooptop pool are limited due to minimalist designed as we also put some lounges with cushions at the areas near the bar. The music on our rooptop pool is to enhance the fun spirits of our customers which only on from 10 am to 11 pm everyday.

Please be rest assured that our hotel is located in most of happening area of Legian as you can read other reviewers that they rate our hotel’s location in a great location. There are plenty bars, restaurants, shops and night clubs around our Hotel. All of rooms in our hotel are designed carefully to ensure the maximum enjoyment of our guests. We have taken necessary actions to address these issues where required to avoid future occurred repeat.

Once again thank you for being our guest and we hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back in near future.

Kind regards,


Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Ron and I stayed at the Akmani and I would have to say it was the best experience we have had so far in Bali, the staff were fantastic, friendly and so accommodating to our needs, the roof top bar is fabulous and those that whinge about the loud music the bar closes at 11.00pm and for us oldies we loved the music, be it rap or techno....I loved the fact that I could go shopping or just for a stroll for us to find one of the many fabulous eating places around the area, we went there to relax and that we did, we will be back in Bali hopefully in the next six months and we will be staying at the Akmani just regret that we didn't stay there for the new year celebrations!!!

Room Tip: If you want a great room, book the ones on the bottom floor as they lead straight to the pool and sp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmani-Legian, Management at The Akmani Legian, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Leanne D,

Thank you so much for sharing your recent stay at The Akmani Legian.

We are pleased to read your feedback and so glad to know that you felt our service was excellent. We are always trying our best to ensure our guests have the best experiences when staying with us. We have shared your thoughtful review with our team here.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest holiday season.

Kind regards,

Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

After looking at the reviews we were pretty excited about staying here, however we are not having the best time. The staff are friendly but few seem to understand English. The rooms are small and have no drawers and the clothes cupboard has no door. I have stayed at places in Bali for the same price with much bigger rooms.
The service for the downstairs pool is disgusting / non existent. Acknowledge that there is no bar on the ground floor pool but there are no staff to ask if you want anything to eat or drink. But the real shocker is the towels. We asked on at least FIVE occasions for a towel only to be told to wait by the pool and someone would bring it down. We waited for two hours in which we went back up to the lobby (dripping wet) to try and get the point across but to no avail. I ended up heading back upstairs to use my bathroom towel.
Also when the rooms were cleaned they didn't replace toilet paper or tissues, or clean the bathroom.
I saw one employee clean the same piece of glass for at least 20 minutes while I was waiting for a towel/ drink.
We leave later in the week and I hope someone at the hotel reads this and sorts it out because the 7 other people we spoke to in the pool said they wouldn't be back. And neither will I. This is my first Trip Advisor review as I don't normally worry but I am so appalled with my experience I must let everyone know.
Sorry guys but lift your game!

Room Tip: Small and no storage space or drawers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SteveGeraldton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmani-Legian, Management at The Akmani Legian, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear SteveGeraldton,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to drop your reviews on TripAdvisor.
We are very sorry that your stay experience at our hotel wasn’t quite up to your expectations. Your feedback has been well shared with The Department Heads in concerned to be reviewed and to take necessary improvement and an immediate action.

You might have aware that we don’t have pool bar on our main pool at the ground floor, however during peak season we have assigned 2 pool attended staff on main pool areas to serve or taken the order for food and beverage but we have to admit that we failed in delivering fast service to all customers due to the busy time.

With towels stocks, we did have a delayed in receiving the distribution from the laundry company that we affiliate with, which result in no towels for an hour and a half when it was very much in needed.

We did learn from the above experiences which will encourages us strive for betterment. Once again thank you for being our guest and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again to The Akmani Legian on your next trip to Bali.

Thank you so much for sharing.

Kind regards,


The Akmani Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We stayed at Akmani over xmas in a pool access room. The staff were really nice and accommodating, the location was perfect for shops and restaurants and rooms were nice and new. The hotel is set back from the main strip, so there was no street noise, however the roof top bar could be heard until late. The pool was a little murky when we first arrived, but it was fine to swim. By the third day the pool turned green and was closed for maintenance, which was pretty poor considering we payed extra for the direct access room and couldn't use the pool. Overall the hotel was "very good", however for the amount of money I've rated it average.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Finity2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmani-Legian, Management at The Akmani Legian, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Finity2013,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent holiday experience on Tripadvisor and glad to hear that you have enjoyed most of your stay with us. Thank you also for highlighting that the hotel's staffs were nice and our location was perfect. We truly want to provide a warm and attentive service to all of our guests.

Regarding the pool at ground floor which was green and closed for maintenance, this happened due to heavy rain all day and there was also technical problem with our pool pump, but it had been fixed by our team within a day and back to normal at the following day.

Thank you for your review and we do offer special benefits to repeating guests so kind check our website for details on this when you are next planning a holiday to Bali.


Kind regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

Was the second time that we have stayed in Bali and the first in Legian... We loved how attentive the staff were every morning in the restaurant and reception they were all so friendly 'Good morning' from everyone. We felt really well looked after and the room was cleaned well every day. Good location too in the middle of the action but not loud or invasive. There was one particular waitress in the restaurant who was really lovely and asked lots about the baby we are about to have, she has a small baby too and was giving us tips! Thanks so much for a lovely stay will definitely recommend! Charlotte and Adam! (Room 214) x

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie_Ineson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmani-Legian, Management at The Akmani Legian, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2014

Dear Charlie Ineson,

Thank you for sharing your kind review of your recent stay at The Akmani Legian.
We are truly glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for highlighting that the hotel's staffs are great and super friendly especially the restaurant's staff. We would share it to all of our team and it will definitely make them very happy and always encourage to provide an excellent services where possible.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to welcoming you back for another relaxing and enjoyable stay.
Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel was truly a quiet oasis in the rather hectic Kuta Beach, located around 5-10 minutes outside the city centre. It also takes a 5-10 minutes walk to get to the beach. The hotel staff at Akmani is among the most attentive I have ever experienced during a hotel stay. They are utterly helpful in every way. The rooms are pleasant, the cleanliness could have been better, but no great complaints. The hotel also has a wonderful roof top bar with a nice swimming pool.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akmani-Legian, Management at The Akmani Legian, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2013

Dear Marianne E,

Warmest Greetings from The Akmani Legian, Bali.

Thank you for taking the time to share your fabulous holiday with us and we delighted to learn that you found our staff always provide an excellent service. Please be assured that this wonderful comment would be an encouragement to all team to continuously provide an excellent service and would be able to interest other guest in spending holiday with us in future.

We would be very happy to provide special benefit for your return stay with us and delighting you again with an excellent experience. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the nearest holiday season.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind regards,


Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
Sun Island Hotel & Spa
#19 of 87 in Legian
570 reviews
0.1 mi away
The ONE Legian
The ONE Legian
#35 of 87 in Legian
2,432 reviews
0.9 mi away
Swiss-Belinn Legian
Swiss-Belinn Legian
#17 of 87 in Legian
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.3 mi away
Bliss Surfer Hotel
Bliss Surfer Hotel
#18 of 87 in Legian
1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#7 of 87 in Legian
1,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Akmani Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Akmani Legian

Address: Jalan Raya Legian No. 91, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#16 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#18 Spa Hotel in Legian
#18 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $36 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Akmani Legian 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Akmani Legian is a hidden retreat Bali Boutique Hotel in Legian, Kuta strategically located within the multitude of lifestyle boutique shopping and dining venues of Bali's most favorite area. The hideaway is comfortably secluded, yet within close reach to all the upbeat and excitement of Kuta and Legian. The chic hotel is veiled by a small access and facade from the main Legian thoroughfare, which leads into an expansive oasis within. Designed to allow in ample sunlight, the resort perfectly caters to sun seekers and beach resort lovers. Featuring a unique hotel concept with sustainability in mind, The Akmani Legian radiates a modern-minimalistic, chic design with a blend of natural elements, using matured 80 year-old ulin ironwood from an East Java port. Upon arrival, guests are welcomed with warm tones of natural elements and Balinese icons. The Akmani Legian offers 70 Classic Rooms, 60 Grand Deluxe Rooms, 20 Poolside Grand Deluxe Rooms, 3 Villas and 1 Grand Villa. All rooms and villas are fully furnished with soft mattress beds, shower or bathtub and equipped with internet access. One of the One-Bedroom Villas boasts 63sqm of space, while the other two are 81sqm and feature a 76sqm roof garden. The two-bedroom Grand Villa offers the largest space at 87sqm. All rooms feature coffee and tea-making facilities, free Wi-Fi connection, widescreen LCD television and personal safe deposit boxes.The Akmani Legian is an approximate 15 minutes drive from the airport, and the sands of Kuta a mere five minutes' walk away, as guests enjoy extra convenience with dedicated beach access via Benesari lane. Leisure is routine at The Akmani Legian's rooftop, with integrated features of a lush garden, dip pool, bar and lounge. Kuta sunsets have never looked so stunning from aloft, making for a perfect venue for memorable events and an overall memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your The Akmani Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Akmani Legian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing