We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great loction and great hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
perth
1 review
“Great loction and great hotel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2010

Stayed for 14 nights. Great hotel and wonderful staff. Ate several times at hotel and had no complaints. I do think they need stairs into the pool. The location was perfect as we normally stay down the end of Legian. Would definately stay again as it was quiet and only having 32 rooms suited us.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maz052Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    253
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
138
252
42
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2010

The room we were given on our first night smelt musty and the bathroom flooded overnight. We asked for a different room when we returned in four days and this was confirmed, and the price confirmed at the same rate (or else we would have gone to a different hotel). On our return we paid the agreed price, which was taken out of my credit card, and then asked to pay more. I said no that we would move to a different hotel if we were put back in the dark musty room, and was told that the money I had just paid for the two more nights would not be refunded. The Manager who had done the booking was on a day off, and they spent a lot of time ringing him. Meanwhile we could not check into the room, and after three hours in the car coming from Lovina we were hot and tired. Breakfast was ok, but the same thing every day.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustraliaDebra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2010

Arrived for 3 nights recently, requested a queen bed and was given a room with 3 singles.. asked if i could move to a room with a queen and was told to ask again in the morning. Room was average for what I was expecting.

Staff at front desk spoke less english than I was expecting.. however I only speak one language so I'm not that critical.. Breakfast was average and dinner was expensive and not that good. Staff were "very friendly / overbearing" at times.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelindustries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2010

We stayed here with my husband,daughter and husband and 2 small kids. Great location,had read some bad reviews but disagree with them,linen looks like it has all been upgraded, nice and clean,great bed, small and friendly hotel, even though it has a sports bar when you get to your room and close the door the noise is completely gone. I feel that this hotel is a bit pricey for what it is in comparison to others but overall a great stay,also friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chilloutPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2009

We have just returned from a very enjoyable trip to Bali and stayed five nights at the Rama Garden Hotel. First impressions were good. Check in process was speedy and friendly, plus we were greeted with a welcome drink and a cold towel as we went through the paperwork.
The hotel is a cosy property of small buildings around a well kept swimming pool with architecture and decor that is typically balinese. The hotel staff are friendly and seem to be fairly efficient without being "in your face".
There were a few downsides however. The information folder in the room lists the usual stuff, including room service and the contents of the mini bar. Our fridge, however, was completely empty. I wouldn't have minded paying the mini bar charges, but the room service charges for the same drinks are double the price (as one would expect), so it seemed a sneaky way to force you to order room service and thus pay more. We bought our own drinks from the MiniMart a few doors down from the hotel which wasn't a big problem, but it would have been more convenient not to have to think about a ready stock of drinks we may like to have in the room. I asked for the fridge to be stocked and quite efficiently, one of the staff turned up at our room a few minutes later. He didn't seem to understand why I wanted it stocked as I didn't want a drink right there and then, and in the end it was never stocked, although we were assured that it was noted that the fridge was empty and we wouldn't be charged for anything (which, to be fair, we weren't).
There is a high-tech electronic safe in the wardrobe, which didn't work so I asked for this to be rectified as we did want to leave our valuables and passports in the safe whilst we were away from the hotel (which was about 95% of the time we were there). We were told that the engineer wouldn't turn up until the evening and that it would be fixed then but no one came and the safe was never fixed. Again, not a huge issue in itself (we locked our valuables in our suitcase) - but still.
There was no lightbulb in the standing lamp in the room, although they did come quickly and fit a new one in. Generally the lighting in the rooms is very bad with an overuse of fluorescent and energy saving compact fluorescent bulbs. I have nothing against the energy saving ones of course, but using "warm white" bulbs instead of "cool daylight" would have made the room feel much more friendly and welcoming.
The rooms are in need of some attention. Overall it was clean, although the bath could do with a good bleach & scrub and the shower head was fixed to the wall at such an angle that water literally hit the opposite wall and water got everywhere. The bathroom was tiled in very dated dark green 70's tiles and in general the whole room is very dark. Quite unusually, whilst the bathroom is fairly large, the sink is in the room itself.
They thankfully supply a kettle and tea & coffee, but the kettle is too big to fit in the sink to fill it up, so you have to fill it either from the bath or filling up cups of water and pouring the contents in to the kettle.
The bed in the room was HUGE, and very very comfortable, so we were pleased with that. Sheets were clean and the bed beautifully made everyday. There were a few tears to the top sheet, but I only noticed this as we were leaving!
The biggest complaint I have is that breakfast was AWFUL. We booked Rama Garden through Octopustravel.com and it stated that "American Breakfast" was included. The breakfast consists of a very limited range of Indonesian / Asian foods - which are not all that good quality, and the only thing "American" about the offering is that there is an egg station, but then no consideration of what you can have with the eggs. So if you don't want an Asian breakfast, then you can only have eggs - or toast (made via an old, barely working toaster) and coffee. It does annoy me when you book a hotel which includes breakfast and then they made a minimal effort to provide it. I would have still booked Rama Garden without breakfast being included and would have happily paid for it provided it was good. Instead, the breakfast was less than half hearted. It wasn't Rama Garden that stated "American Breakfast" so it could have been an incorrect description by a third party. Even so, if the hotel is going to provide breakfast, it should make a decent attempt to provide it.
We asked for milk, and after lots of scurrying around, a carton of milk was given to us and then passed around the restaurant to other guests - again, a bit of planning would have seen to it that there were was plenty of milk available. Passing around a carton of mllk seemed a bit "canteen" !. The restaurant itself is fairly pleasant - but nothing exciting. It shows live sports in the evening and there is a live band too. We didn't spend any time in the restaurant apart from the first morning. When we returned to the hotel in the evenings, the restaurant was almost empty every night. We only had breakfast there once and for the rest of our stay, ventured out of the hotel to find a restaurant (of which there are many in the area of course).
Generally speaking, Rama Garden is a pleasant hotel. We booked it very last minute in a very busy period so we didn't have much choice and the rate was excellent, so I shouldn't complain too much. The complaints I have are fairly minor, but at the same time, so minor that it wouldn't take much to fix them. The exterior is in good condition, but the rooms need attention and overall I got the impression that quite a few things just hadn't been thouht through carefully enough.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marshallh80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south eastern suburbs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2009

Morning staff have limited english- couldnt understand when we were asking for hot water, bowl or spoon, Brochure states American breakfast but it is Indonesian style food and it is AWFUL! Flys were all over pancake mix and eggs! Guests were not eating breakfast at hotel instead walking up to 'Wayan and Friends', cleaning of the rooms was minimal-our used towels were used to wipe out the hand basin and coffee mugs, rooms small and old, needing much needed renovations,coffee was split down the wall in our room, hand basin were in with beds and sitting area not bathroom, everyday I had to see the reception staff members because items were left out of my room such as towels, bath products, tea, coffee etc., the first two days we stayed at this hotel the towels we were given to dry ourselves with were BLACK!, the pool towels werent much better either!, Once a complaint was made to reception-the following days we had the whitest towels ever!, you shouldnt have to complain this should be a given!!, the shower in the room was very dangerous-the water went from boiling/burning to freezing cold the next!, the pool was very small, minimal banana lounges and the oldies reserved their chairs every morning and didnt give anyone else a chance to lay by the pool, and if you like furry friends around the pool (RATS) this is your place!- we saw several on our stay! Dont order service by the pool-it took 45 minutes for a jaffle to turn up after two complaints and once I got it you wouldnt feed it to your dog, It was AWFUL! Overall, you are paying for the LOCATION, it is in a great spot close to everything but all the money has been put into the front of the building but sadly the rest of the hotel needs a good make over including rooms, staff and management! To be fair, the beds were very comfy and the air con worked really well! I am a regular to Bali and I have paid alot less for accomodation and got alot better room and service!
The pictures on the internet are very glammed up! Meeting a lady at the pool, she was saying that when she had arrived they had doubled booked her room and she was expected to pay another nights accom elsewhere and then return to Rama Garden,-she later found out her room was given to a bunch of oldies that have been going to Rama Garden for many years!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frequenttravelbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,327 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Garden Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Garden Hotel Bali

Property: Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Address: Jl. Padma, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#6 Spa Hotel in Legian
#8 Family Hotel in Legian
#12 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rama Garden Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A petit boutique hotel with 4 star facilities and friendly staffs located on Padma street - Legian, a convenient location that is only a stone's throw away from the beautiful Legian beach. The centerpiece of our hotel is the attractive pool area and this jewel in the crown is surrounded by 30 spacious rooms providing both a soothing view and easy access. All 30 spacious rooms completed with Air Conditioner, Hot & cold Water, Shower, Mini Bar, IDD Phone Call, International TV Channel, Coffee & Tea Maker, In Room Safety Box, Hair Dryer, DVD player and other modern facilities. Rama Garden Hotel is close to a plenty of interesting shops selling handicrafts and boutiques with fancy, elegant, and fashionable clothes. Alternatively, you can enjoy visiting the famous art market in Legian, where you can browse away a whole afternoon. Rama Garden Restaurant & Sports Bar is serve cocktails, exotic tropical fruit juice, simple a pint of cold beer, fine selection of pastas and pizzas , exquisite local and international cuisines with live music every night, a combination of intimate dining and great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rama Garden Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Garden Hotel Bali Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing