We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely place but beware renovations!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Ranked #7 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“lovely place but beware renovations!”
Reviewed April 18, 2012

I booked this place as I read the reviews and they seemed pretty good and plus as I was travelling alone (recently separated and in my 40's) thought it would be a safe and sociable place to stay! Arrived quite late at night and was surprised that there is no hotel lobby reception area as you usually find and have to walk through bar and restaurant etc. Was promptly shown to my room which was lovely, recently renovated with huge bed and an even bigger shower and lovely decor! Room had large flat screen tv and dvd player, mini and snack bar and 2 bottles of water free of charge each day. Unfortunately when it was time for breakfast this was when things started to go down hill. The choices were very limited. There was an egg station but no chef around to make your omelettes etc and one toaster which didn't work all the time. I was one of 4 people who were eating breakfast and if there were more people I don't know how 1 toaster would be sufficient!
As travelling on my own I was looking forward to relaxing by the pool, read a book and maybe chat to other holidaymakers. How wrong was I? It is impossible to relax by the pool as they are basically demolishing 1 part of the hotel which happens to be right next to the pool. One side is boarded up whilst the demolition is going on. It is noisy and dusty and of course not relaxing and no one to talk too as no one is using the pool because of the noise!! I had a swim and stayed around for a bit but was only greeted by workmen and hotel workers who decided watching me was better than working!! I decided that my well earned holiday was not going to work out and was feeling quite depressed that I decided I needed to say something. Explained to them that I was travelling alone and did not want to sit in the bar all day and came to Bali to relax and swim and read a book etc. The manager could not be found at first but I was offered an apology and a free lunch. I said that was fine for today but what about the rest of my holiday?? In the end the lovely lady Anis (not sure of her position) came and helped me out and they transferred me to their sister hotel The Ramayana in Kuta, a 5 star hotel. She did this very promptly and with little fuss and was quite apologetic and explained that the hotel needed to be renovated but they couldn't close the hotel down as they have so many workers who rely on that wage which I quite understand there predicament! So I was transferred and she drove me to the hotel herself.
The Rama Gardens is in a great location, near shops, markets, bars, restaurants, massages etc and the rooms are lovely. The place will be great when it is all finished (hopefully in July) and I would sure like to give it another try in the future. I did have a meal there on my first evening and it was fine and tasty. The Ramayana was great (had some faults too) but I still preferred the location of the Rama Gardens.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank perthmum66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    259
    52
    18
    8
See reviews for
140
260
44
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
darwin
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We arrived at Rama and had 2 rooms one for teenagers and one for mum dad and child. The new rooms are great. big bathrooms and all have own balcony. We were happy with service from staff. Bed was huge and rooms very clean. Great location. close to beach and shopping and you can find many a cheap eats close by. I would stay here again for sure. make sure renovations have finished as this can be very noisy.

Room Tip: elderly choose ground floor as steps to second floor steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank schumanpownalls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a few days. Rooms were wonderful, all staff great. However, the restaurant is a disaster in every aspect. Breakfast was disgusting. Fruit juice was cordial,plus coffee empty, and toaster VERY old and dangerous. All staff with the exception of 1 are students, and with no idea or supervision. Bain marie food was same every day, and greasy and inedable. Most tables had no cutlery or condiments. Not many people eat there at night due to extremely high prices,and shocking service.Restaurant manager just sat and smoked plus continuous alcohol consumption. The only other thing that he did was to socialise with lonely young ladies.With a new manager and some supervision, this could be a good restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank spotcat53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Stayed at the Rama for the last couple of visits (mini breaks - 4 days) last being early Feb 2012 - Renovations being carried out on the right hand wing - but being the wet season - you expect this to happen this time of year. Noise was very limited and at the end of the day - apart from the hammers, expected noise. We had a comfortable room - bed maybe a big hard but clean room and linen. Breakfast was ordinary and limited - plenty other sites available for this meal around if you are wanting the full tourist breakfast. Beach and bars close and plenty of transport. BEST SUN LOUNGES in BALI ...Staying again ...ofcourse - booked my next 2 rooms already for June and Oct 2012.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kazma61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2012

Even though Rama Garden is going through extensive renovations we still had a great time there (6th-16th March). There is so much more to RG than just a bed. As i have said before the staff there are above and beyond what they are paid to do. We discovered a couple of years ago that the staff put aside a small portion of their wages each month to support orphanages in more out of the way villages , basically orphanages that don't get much support. We now try to help them by having donated a couple of collection boxes from visitors and guests at the hotel. Whenever we see a good amount accumulate we add it to the R.G staff donation and then head to an orphanage armed with noodles ,rice ,soap ,toothpaste and other necessities.. A good few of the Rama Garden management and staff take us on these outings which are very enjoyable.
Sports coverage is excellent and the restaurant staff really join the fun. Meals at Rama Garden are delicious . The chef knows how to cook.
Last few visits we have has a newly renovated room which is very stylish and comfortable.Love the place and the people

Room Tip: Rooms on Rt hand side of pool , top end and Left side bottom end all newly renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EllyLaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, the food it great. The rooms are a little bit old but still very comfortable and clean but the hotel is being renovated so all the rooms will be new soon. The hotel is nice and quiet and the restaurant in the front has great food and entertainment but is far enough off the street so as not to get too many hawkers. We enjoyed the breakfast every morning. It is a very short walk to the beach and there is a mini mart right next door. In all a very enjoyable stay and would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colejt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2012

Recently stayed at Rama Graden for a week with my Dad.

The hotel is still a good small hotel with a sports bar out the front. That being said, you don't hear the noise at the back where the rooms are. The hotel is in a great location, close to beaches, restaurants and entertainment.

The breakfast was a small buffet which was perfect for a quick light breakfast before we headed out for the day. Breakfast buffet normally consisted of Mie Goreng, Nasi Goreng, Sausages, Bacon and Eggs.

The rooms were cleaned daily, clean towels provided daily. Towels were always presented with an artistic flair. The pool always looked clean and free of leaf litter etc, which is remarkable given the beautiful tropical gardens which surround the pool area.

The hotel has progressively been doing some upgrade works to the hotel. They have been refurbishing blocks of rooms. The north sector has been completed, and the fascade looks great and a noticable improvement on the others. Whilst we were there, they were working on the east block of rooms. Their was a little noise associated with this, but I didn't find it bothersome and I look forward to the completion of the renovation works.

The staff, as you expect in Bali, are friendly and helpful. I enjoyed many interesting conversations with the staff.

I would happily stay here again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Immortal_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#16 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
0.2 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,409 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.4 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
0.3 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rama Garden Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rama Garden Hotel Bali

Property: Rama Garden Hotel Bali
Address: Jl. Padma, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#6 Spa Hotel in Legian
#8 Family Hotel in Legian
#12 Romantic Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rama Garden Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A petit boutique hotel with 4 star facilities and friendly staffs located on Padma street - Legian, a convenient location that is only a stone's throw away from the beautiful Legian beach. The centerpiece of our hotel is the attractive pool area and this jewel in the crown is surrounded by 30 spacious rooms providing both a soothing view and easy access. All 30 spacious rooms completed with Air Conditioner, Hot & cold Water, Shower, Mini Bar, IDD Phone Call, International TV Channel, Coffee & Tea Maker, In Room Safety Box, Hair Dryer, DVD player and other modern facilities. Rama Garden Hotel is close to a plenty of interesting shops selling handicrafts and boutiques with fancy, elegant, and fashionable clothes. Alternatively, you can enjoy visiting the famous art market in Legian, where you can browse away a whole afternoon. Rama Garden Restaurant & Sports Bar is serve cocktails, exotic tropical fruit juice, simple a pint of cold beer, fine selection of pastas and pizzas , exquisite local and international cuisines with live music every night, a combination of intimate dining and great food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Rama Garden Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rama Garden Hotel Bali Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing