We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Loved it"”
Review of The Sari Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Sari Beach
Ranked #65 of 86 Hotels in Legian
Sydney
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“"Loved it"”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I cannot believe some of the reviews on this place, we stayed for 10 nights and it was great right on the beach, nice small little hotel with great friendly staff, clean rooms a little old but great, I expected not much else for like $30 per person per night ( reviews on staff not friendly, maybe it wasn't the staff but yourself, ) We booked and paid again for next year. Hey people if you want 5 star then head up the road to Padma !!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank bev2502
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    42
    22
    12
    11
See reviews for
19
44
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We got back from here only last week. I loved the size, staff, pool and gardens and the great price. We only slept in the room so if you are planing to watch movies and be couped up in your room all day - don't stay here! If you are like me and go shopping, eat out and want to relax by the pool with a Bintang or cocktail, this would be perfect. There were not many children when we were here, everyone was quiet and it was mostly just couples of all ages. The driveway is long - out to the main street which has the traditional junky shops full of rip off brands, we hired a scooter which made it much easier. It was only $65 a night and right on the beach. There were plenty of pool chairs on the grass around the pool and nice gardens as well. We left for three nights to go to Nusa Lembogan and Bingen and they looked after our bags- (this was prior to our check in) I thought that was nice as there would not be many places that would hold your bags with out you even staying there yet.
The only faults are that it definitely needs a revamp,our room had thin walls and the shower was not brilliant a bit temperamental bad water pressure - everyday was different but it still worked. Air con was good, bed and linen big and comfy, plenty of space in our room. I will most definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Stay in a garden view room not near the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank becca28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuching Malaysia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2011

A great location on the beach, quiet area, old-style Bali grounds -- probably it was once a lovely place. Now the atap thatch buildings are patched with tarps, the plumbing stopped functioning properly years ago (shower heads leak and spray everywhere but down, hot water is usually cold), mold is rampant in the bathroom ceilings, no one has dusted under the beds or behind the TV, etc in months, the beds are really hard, the pillows uncomforatble lumps. the bed linens a dingy gray and fortunately, so little light in the rooms you can't see most of it. We ended up buying pillows and pillowcases to use. Most of the guests develop a hacking cough after a few days -- probably the mold. You can hear your niehgbors talking (and hacking) through the thin walls.
Note: Rates are quoted in US dollars. You are not told you will need to have US dollars in cash to actually pay that rate until you check out. Then the exchange rate to rupiah the hotel gouges you for is close to 10% loss to you, plus, if you use a credit card the hotel adds on an extra 3% -- all this is an unpleasant surprise at the end.
The staff (other than the desk checkout cheat) is generally friendly and helpful. They were especially nice to children. Unusual for an Asian hotel, there is no electric kettle to heat water for tea or coffeee or boil it for drinking water. A request for one resulted in a long negotiation resulting in being given an old one that needed an adapter -- fortunately I had one in my travel kit.
The breakfasts included get tiresome with little varierty -- the same hard cantaloupe and melon each day, the same tasteless pastries and brown fried eggs. The coffee and banana pancakes are good, however, and the bacon is pork, not halal turkey or beef.
It's a shame really, because the gardens are so nice, the building design is traditional, and it's really the kind of place that would make Bali different than just any beach party town. The pool is really nice. It would take so little money to fix the faults -- a few lamps. new faucets and shower heads, new linens and pillows, a mattress topper, and someone to supervise the cleaning staff and hold it to standards of clean.

Room Tip: The garden rooms provide a private porch and patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank birdswandtres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Legian hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed at Sari Beach late May. Booked last August in a superior room. Upon arriving last week we were given a standard room unrenovated with airconditioning not working properly. The room towels were disgusting and the taps were rusted and pitted. Upkeep and maintenance seemed to be non existant. The pool needs repainting and cleaning, tiles were mouldy. The breakfast was Ok. If you book in this hotel make sure you do not get rooms 101-104 which are not fit for anyone to stay in. We will never stay in this hotel again and we have had 25 trips to Bali and this is the worst hotel room over this time. The older reception person did not seem to care or listen to any requests. The rooms near the pool are Ok would have been happy to have been allocated one of these as they are also classed as Superior or deluxe with only a $10 price difference. Upon checking out 2 lots of other guests were also complaining about their rooms, no hot water and leaking airconditioning unit.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank swift1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

After a wonderful stay at Villa Sonia in Nyuh Kuning at a lower room rate level, we were initially quite shocked by the huge difference in service, room comfort, and especially the friendliness of the staff. The hotel's beachside location and it's proximity to a range of nice restaurants were perfect, and it's lush gardens were well maintained, but the grumpiness of most of it's staff was remarkable and unusual for Bali. Unfortunately we were booked into the one room that had no ground level private terras, actually it was on the first floor of the reception building, and it's only advantage for us was that it was relatively large in view of the many extra luggage we took with us for our baby.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dennis_Rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Please do not bother to stay in this hotel. Please do not even consider staying in this hotel. And do not believe the ratings and pictures by other travellers. We were ripped off, treated meanly and extorted by the hotel staff.

The AC didn't work and they refused to change our room.
We cancelled the airport transport 15 hours before we checked out. But when we checked out the next morning, the night reception told us that our transport was on the way. He forced us to pay 50,000 rupiah for the miscommunication, when we offered 30,000 rupiah as a form of goodwill. Then he cursed us in Balinese. We didnt understand him of course, but our Balinese friend did and told him off.

We really had a horrible stay at Sari Beach Inn or The Sari Beach. Dirty and old towels, dirty sheets and smelly pillows. Pool water was murky and had human poo in it. The bathroom smelt like alcohol as the chambermaid forgot to clear the beer bottle under the sink. We only found out when our 18mth son broke the bottle. The American Breakfast was a rip-off. The hotel staff were very rude and all of them had attitude problems. The hotel was supposed to have wi-fi but the hotel staff refused to give us the password as they told us the wi-fi reception was bad in the room. We can only use the wi-fi in the restaurant.

The only attraction about the hotel was the close proximity to the beach and the massage ladies (mother and daughter team) were very good and friendly. The rest of the hotel was HORRIBLE. HORRIBLE. HORRIBLE. Save your money and save the trouble.....better to stay in another hotel. Seriously. Customer is never right at Sari Beach Inn.

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room, CHANGE IT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Silvano_Tucum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2011

A beautiful, small hotel. After 6 nights at the Sari beach we were booked with famiky at the Bali Padma (5 star) We wished we had stayed at the Sari Beach. The Sari Beach epitomises the Bali of former years. Entering from the beach front through antique balinese gates was like entering another world. Peace away from the hustle and bustle. We had a room with its own private courtyard. The rooms are simple but clean. A lovely big four poster bed (sheets were clean, but a little grey) a large spa bath. The gardens beautiful. The staff were friendly and attentive. The pool was lovely and often you had it to yourself. Breakfast is simple but adequate. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank patti6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#27 of 86 in Legian
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 86 in Legian
1,103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beach Melati Apartments
Beach Melati Apartments
#32 of 86 in Legian
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 86 in Legian
2,226 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bandha Hotel & Suites
0.4 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sari Beach

Property: The Sari Beach
Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 86 Hotels in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sari Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be awaken by the sound of waves. Within steps from the Beach. Have a lushful Balinese Garden right outside your window. Stay in traditional Balinese Rooms decorated with an authentic Balinese Taste. Home away from Home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Sari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Beach Hotel
Sari Beach Inn
The Sari Beach Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing