We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior Room ?????”
Review of The Sari Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sari Beach
Ranked #65 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed May 27, 2011

Stayed at Sari Beach late May. Booked last August in a superior room. Upon arriving last week we were given a standard room unrenovated with airconditioning not working properly. The room towels were disgusting and the taps were rusted and pitted. Upkeep and maintenance seemed to be non existant. The pool needs repainting and cleaning, tiles were mouldy. The breakfast was Ok. If you book in this hotel make sure you do not get rooms 101-104 which are not fit for anyone to stay in. We will never stay in this hotel again and we have had 25 trips to Bali and this is the worst hotel room over this time. The older reception person did not seem to care or listen to any requests. The rooms near the pool are Ok would have been happy to have been allocated one of these as they are also classed as Superior or deluxe with only a $10 price difference. Upon checking out 2 lots of other guests were also complaining about their rooms, no hot water and leaking airconditioning unit.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank swift1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 108 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2011

After a wonderful stay at Villa Sonia in Nyuh Kuning at a lower room rate level, we were initially quite shocked by the huge difference in service, room comfort, and especially the friendliness of the staff. The hotel's beachside location and it's proximity to a range of nice restaurants were perfect, and it's lush gardens were well maintained, but the grumpiness of most of it's staff was remarkable and unusual for Bali. Unfortunately we were booked into the one room that had no ground level private terras, actually it was on the first floor of the reception building, and it's only advantage for us was that it was relatively large in view of the many extra luggage we took with us for our baby.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Dennis_Rotterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2011

Please do not bother to stay in this hotel. Please do not even consider staying in this hotel. And do not believe the ratings and pictures by other travellers. We were ripped off, treated meanly and extorted by the hotel staff.

The AC didn't work and they refused to change our room.
We cancelled the airport transport 15 hours before we checked out. But when we checked out the next morning, the night reception told us that our transport was on the way. He forced us to pay 50,000 rupiah for the miscommunication, when we offered 30,000 rupiah as a form of goodwill. Then he cursed us in Balinese. We didnt understand him of course, but our Balinese friend did and told him off.

We really had a horrible stay at Sari Beach Inn or The Sari Beach. Dirty and old towels, dirty sheets and smelly pillows. Pool water was murky and had human poo in it. The bathroom smelt like alcohol as the chambermaid forgot to clear the beer bottle under the sink. We only found out when our 18mth son broke the bottle. The American Breakfast was a rip-off. The hotel staff were very rude and all of them had attitude problems. The hotel was supposed to have wi-fi but the hotel staff refused to give us the password as they told us the wi-fi reception was bad in the room. We can only use the wi-fi in the restaurant.

The only attraction about the hotel was the close proximity to the beach and the massage ladies (mother and daughter team) were very good and friendly. The rest of the hotel was HORRIBLE. HORRIBLE. HORRIBLE. Save your money and save the trouble.....better to stay in another hotel. Seriously. Customer is never right at Sari Beach Inn.

Room Tip: If your not happy with your room, CHANGE IT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Silvano_Tucum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2011

A beautiful, small hotel. After 6 nights at the Sari beach we were booked with famiky at the Bali Padma (5 star) We wished we had stayed at the Sari Beach. The Sari Beach epitomises the Bali of former years. Entering from the beach front through antique balinese gates was like entering another world. Peace away from the hustle and bustle. We had a room with its own private courtyard. The rooms are simple but clean. A lovely big four poster bed (sheets were clean, but a little grey) a large spa bath. The gardens beautiful. The staff were friendly and attentive. The pool was lovely and often you had it to yourself. Breakfast is simple but adequate. We will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank patti6281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

The traditional antique gates that allow you to enter into your own private courtyard, was the drawcard for me personally at this well kept and perfectly located establishment. The Sari Beach hotel is located right on the beach at Legian gridlocked between Melasti Beach Hotel and Pura Raja Hotel. I booked 5 nights and would have been happy to stay a few more but after almost a month, I was holding up the production line back in Oz, so it was time to head home. One of the impressive attractions was that the restaurant food did not include the additional extra tax that most of the hotels along this strip enforce, and the prices of food and drink was affordable. Often the downside of staying in a prime location, you pay a penalty price for food and drink. This was not the case at Sari Beach. The gardens and ground here at this hotel are simply stunning. There is a colourful temple centered adjacent to the swimming pool reflecting the harmony and balance of the Balinese beliefs. It is certainly relaxing reading your book on the sun decks. Minor downside of the hotel was the hot water takes ages to warm up, but hey, we are in Bali, can't expect miracles. Also not all the staff had their "happy" faces on, and I found that a little disappointing. But, certainly, I would love to stay here again even though you need to walk up a long gang to get to the shops, but good daily exercise. Having the beach at your doorstep is a buzz, just got a bit worried during some heavy downpours that maybe I was a bit too close!! Cleanliness in the rooms was pretty good although there were a few days when they took nearly all day to come and service the room. But, overall, my rating would be an 8 out of 10, and yes, I will be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank tinaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2010

We stayed at Sari Beach for the first time & were pleased with the staff & level of service we were shown. The rooms are a little dated but hey for the price, what does one expect ??
Very small & intimate, gardens are a pleasant change from concrete & stone at other places.
Please don't change the Sari Beach, we love you just the way you are !!!
If you want fancy then don't stay here ... we will be back.
Thank You Sari Beach.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kathybeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

As a solo traveller, this fairly budget accommodation was booked on the recommendation of various reviews read prior to travel. I paid $65US for a deluxe garden view room, including breakfast via the hotel direct. (Various websites offer the same room a little cheaper, but none were available at the time of my booking).

Wedged between the Melasti Beach Resort & the Puri Raja Hotel, the Sari Beach Hotel (formerly Sari Beach Inn) is well positioned on the Legian beachfront.

The hotel is small (maybe 20 rooms) with typical, well-manicured tropical gardens. A long, narrow laneway leads down to the hotel entrance from the road. A low wall & gateway run parallel to the beachfront at the back of the hotel.

The Deluxe Garden View room I stayed in was room 112 & situated next to the kitchen. As a result, kitchen noise could sometimes be heard in the bathroom of a morning. More affecting however, were the whining cats & kittens who nightly would invade the roof space of my room & wake me.

The room consisted of a large canopied king size bed, dressing table & stool, small table & 2 matching chairs, TV unit housing TV & DVD player. (The DVD had a whirring noise, which required the volume of the TV to be increased). From the main room, you enter a small dressing room with cupboard/shelves & room safe. This area opens to the bathroom. In it’s day, the bathroom was probably quite glamorous with a large spa bath (no longer working) with a wood surround. The wall has shelved lights, which look like candles. There is a shaving mirror attached to the wall beside the vanity.

The spa jets are in need of bleach since they have ‘greened’. The smell of mould is slight, whilst bathing. There is a hand-held shower nozzle only so bathing & holding the shower nozzle over you are the only options. The mirrors are tarnished, worn & chipped. A connecting door is located from the dressing room/bathroom to the room next door. Conversations & safes opening can be heard between the bathrooms.

On several occasions, the WC would not flush adequately, the hand basin’s waste outlet would close & not reopen without manual intervention. This required the opening of the cupboard beneath the handbasin – one handle missing on cupboards & the area was damp, dirty & with the smell of mould. There was no hot water on one occasion (this was remedied after some time).

There is no phone in the room however they are available at Reception.

A walled garden in front of the room provided privacy, with a small balcony with table, chairs & towel rack overlooking the garden.

The hotel pool is clean & adequate for the size of the hotel. Two massage ladies frequent a corner of the gardens & are available to provide massages on the sunbeds in the lawns of the hotel. Music/noise from the adjacent Puri Raja Hotel could be heard at the pool area of an afternoon. Music could be heard from the adjacent Melasti Beach Hotel of an evening in the pool/dining area.

Breakfast is served between 7-10am daily. Eggs anyway, toast, fruit, ham, cheese, coffee/tea. Basic but satisfactory. Other meals are available throughout the day from the small hotel dining area however I cannot comment on other meals provided.

A freestanding ‘sheltered hut” bar within the grounds of the hotel has ‘Happy Hour” each afternoon with drinks at half cost.

The staffs were friendly & attentive, soon knowing me by name. The main clientele noted were German. The menu & room instructions were written in both English & German.

With refurbishments, this hotel could be a real gem, considering it’s location & the boutique size establishment that it is. Unfortunately, it’s lack of maintenance & dated furnishings let it down.

I needed a ‘period of adjustment’ before truly settling into this hotel & to be honest spent several hours on the internet in my first days seeking alternative accommodation, which did not eventuate during the Peak Period.

I would recommend this hotel as basic, (nearly) comfortable accommodation only if restricted by budget. Personally, I would prefer to pay more & stay somewhere a little more upmarket.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank RubyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 88 in Legian
629 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#7 of 88 in Legian
1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sari Bunga Hotel
Sari Bunga Hotel
#70 of 88 in Legian
48 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Beach Melati Apartments
Beach Melati Apartments
#31 of 88 in Legian
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sari Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sari Beach

Address: Jl. Padma Utara, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Price Range: $41 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Sari Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be awaken by the sound of waves. Within steps from the Beach. Have a lushful Balinese Garden right outside your window. Stay in traditional Balinese Rooms decorated with an authentic Balinese Taste. Home away from Home, only better. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your The Sari Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sari Beach Hotel
Sari Beach Inn
The Sari Beach Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing