We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the Jayakarta - will be back!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Dayboro, Queensland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved the Jayakarta - will be back!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2010

After reading many different reviews and slightly worrying about what to expect we were pleasently surprised - i honestly don't know what everyone was whinging about!!! the staff were all friendly - we got our standard room (225) and initally it had two single beds and a flickering light - within 5 mins we had a new light and our beds made up as one giant bed - fantastic!!! the location is great being right on the beach with many great restaurants heading north along the beach (Goodys does great pizza & Pasta!!) out the front you had all your shopping needs, Circle K for all your snacks and Drinks (anyone drinking anything but bottled water deserves a belly ache - use your brain and spend the 30cents across the road for bottled water!!) cheap internet to the Left, Jenny at "Lisa's Spa" to give great massages and manicures/pedicures - she even did our laundry cheap cheap!!! The pool was great and we never really had trouble getting a lounge, great place for kids also with a play area - breakfasts were great with a good varity (better than other bali hotels) eggs made to order, pancakes and waffles, cereal and pastries - the usual fried food as well!!! we honestly couldn't have asked for more from a 3 star hotel - some aussies are obviously too fussy!!!! in saying this we went on to spend a night at the Bali Gardens - highly recommended "nice" hotel - that we would never return to - full of obnoxious drunk aussies that made us hang our head in shame!
Definitely be back to stay at the Jayakarta!!!!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sweetcharlott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    512
    372
    190
    144
See reviews for
518
399
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

Arrived at 10.00pm 13th May. We had paid extra, for an upgrade via our travel agent for a Cottage Pool View Room, only to find out our room was not available until the next day (Seem's to be a typical occurance at this hotel). A standard room was offered which we refused and asked for an equivelent or better room. We were given a 1 x bedroom Apartment, located at the front right hand side of the complex. My partner and I stayed in the room for an hour but couldn't put up with the damp smell which was overwhelming, the cupboards were also covered in fungal growth, we have stayed many times in Bali before and all hotels have a certain dampness in them from the humid climate, but this was fowl and just breathing was difficult. We once again went back to the lobby and asked for change of room. We were now shown a deluxe room (317) located on the left hand side of the main lobby. This was just an average room with double bed, the room smell wasn't bad, reasonably clean and the aircon worked fantastic. We were to be shown to our upgraded room the next afternoon, but this never happened, so we just opted to stay where we were. As we only stayed in our room for brief periods during the day and for sleeping at nights.
The buffet breakfast we found only to be of average standard compared to other 3 star hotels we have stayed at. The usual bacon, eggs made to order, toast and juice were all available (Although the bacon is frequently empty as they dont replace the full tray's of bacon instead just supply a heaped plate of bacon at a time, which doesnt go very far at a big hotel) There was also rice, noodles, chicken porridge and potato wedges, but this menu didnt change at all with the only variation being egg noodles to glass noodles, and potato wedges to potato balls..
The lobby roof was being replaced during our stay and the noise of the air nail gun was a bit annoying during the day, but it was also very amusing to watch the local work habits.
Room service was prompt although expensive for what was being supplied, the 21% gov. tax/surcharges apply throughout.
The grounds are neat and tidy, pools clean and not over crowded. A few guests would come back in the early hours of the morning and have a swim and yahoo, but nothing that disturbed us.
We found the staff to be friendly and courteous, although maybe a bit slow in attending to request's. The room was made up daily and floors mopped.
Be aware that this hotel does not supply 2 x free bottles of water like most hotels, but instead have a water bottle in the mini bar which is refilled with TAP! water. DO NOT DRINK THIS WATER!!!! Numerous people we spoke to felt ill drinking the so called "Bottle water" that was supplied. You will be charged if you use the water bottles stocked in the mini bar - so beware!!
Would recommend others to look at other hotels before staying at the Jayakarta, there are a lot better 3 star hotels available in Bali for the same if not cheaper price.
P.S - Any day in Bali is a good day! politeness, flexability and smile is all that is required for a great holiday in Bali.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WestAussiesmandurah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2010

we just got back from the jayakarta a week ago after staying in thailand for a week and passing through to Bali. We loved it we were dropped off to the wrong reception but however the staff were very friendly in showing us in the right direction. The reception staff were lovely we had our welcome drink and they showed us our one bedroom apartment it was massive for the two of us it included 2 tvs and aircorn's big bathroom bed and a lounge. The reception staff even remembering our name every time we walked passed. The breakfast was amazing also being very busy however didnt swim in the main pool aswel as we thought it was to busy for our liking. The beach was just out the front of the pool my partner being a surfer was great. Taxis were really cheap (blue bird taxis) to kuta but the walk wasnt to bad a friend telling me it was 10 mins along the beach but it was more like 20 to 25mins. Out the front of the hotel to the left their was an amazing aussie resturant it was great really cheap too and it didnt charge 21% tax or service tasks. We ate their 3 nights loved it. Overall id stay at the jayakarta again was in a perfect location and would be ideal for a family.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tegan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Level Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

I am mid 60s, first trip to Bali, but have travelled extensively to other countries. This trip for one relaxing week with a friend who has been to Bali numerous times. After three hours getting through customs (highly unusual, I'm advised) we were happy to see Jayakarta hotel with it's welcoming staff with fruit drinks to refresh us. Book in was very efficient with a safe at reception organised for our valuables. The hotel is Balinese style, not new, but immaculate with extensive gardens, three pools that never seem crowded, & lots of loungers both around the pools and facing the beach. Our standard twin room was not large, but had all the required room with a small fridge, coffee making facilities and ensuite. And the bed was very comfortable. Buffet breakfast had good selections. Staff are friendly and always greet one with a smile. On a number of occassions we used a driver from the hotel, Norman, to do day trips. Lovely man and great value. The hotel's proximity to the beach and other beachside restaurants was an added bonus. The pizza from the hotel restaurant was pretty good too. Although Jayakart is at Legian, taxis are very plentiful and cost about AUD$2 to central Kuta. Also a leisurely 20min stroll up the beach will get you there. Also can highly recommend Raisha Fish Spa in Kuta for great, cheap massages. Ask for Eko (magic hands) or Wira. A number of families staying at Jayakarta while we were there and enjoyed their stay. I most certainly will return and would like to take my grand children with me. My only complaint was the ugly people (often Australians) who treated the Balinese as something less than them. These beautiful friendly people deserve so much more.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quitosmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2010

We thought this was a great spot.
Lots of shopping close by and great restaurants on the beach.We did book it thinking we could see the beach from the resort but there is a brick wall at the front of it blocking the view.
We ordered a deluxe room and it was no where near deluxe it had two single beds.We are a couple. In saying this we did not bother saying anything because we were hardly in our rooms at all. So if you want a great spot in Legian stay here. We paid AUD $100 A night. There is alot cheaper places to stay that are on the street behind that would be just as good to relax by the pool and a bed to sleep in(The 3 brothers)
One problem we did have was the Pool. People put all the belongings on the sun chairs at breakfast time and leave them all day. At one pool there was 30 chairs and only 2 people using them. Everyone must of been out for lunch at the time.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank qwertyjess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2010

we stayed at this hotel for 18 nights the water in our room which was in a jug was suppose to be bottle water,
we both had slight stomach ache every day (not serious) but the last few days we bought our own water for drinking and coffee making and our stomach ache disserpeared at once.
Just dont trust the water jug they fill up every day as i am sure its from the tap

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flexfitness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2010

Walking through Jayakarta you will see rowdy Aussie football teams, the worst of the worst 'dials-into-the-Kylie-and-JackieO-show-type' bogans, it's like the anti-luxury. I couldn't think of a place I would least like to spend my holiday.
The hotel was gross, dirty, needs a new paint job. The restaurant was over priced and sub-par. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who was tossing up between a holiday to Legian or "Penruff".

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RicheleE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Legian hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.0 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort

Property: The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Werkudara | PO Box 3244, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#36 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayakarta Bali Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Residence
Bali Jayakarta
Jayakarta Hotel Bali
Hotel Jayakarta Bali
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing