We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs down for the Jaya”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #54 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Reviewed July 17, 2008

Worst hotel experience ever!

We arrived to a run-down hotel that was not maintained and filthy. No courtesy drink as advertised when booked. We were placed in a room near the front of the hotel/road and it was a dump. In room movies made the experience slightly better but besides that we stayed out of the room as much as possible.

The pool was an exception. Families with kids will love it, quite large and nice. There are two pools from memory (possibly 3).

Staff were helpful...however didn't know much when it came to setting up bed.

Overall a dissapointment but hey..bali bali bali! I suppose

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Trish_Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,551)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,389 - 1,395 of 1,551 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2008

Well I visited the Jayakarta in August of last year...apologies for the delay in the review. only get round to reviewing last years holiday when i am researching this years ;)

Ok down the review:

The grounds/entrance: very beautiful and green. There is a nice flow from the rooms, through the gardens and either through the main reception (open ends) and into the pool area or round the side of the gardens to the pool area.

The rooms: Basic but comfortable. the walls are quite thin tho- my gf and I came in from the clubs at 3.30am- the guys in the next room came in shortly after and never went to sleep until 7am. this was a little bit annoying as we were really tired. however they are on holiday and it didnt happen every night.
The AC worked really well. Bathroom was all good and everything worked as it should.

The balcony was probably the best part of the room- nice and big and comfortable. Nice area to spend whilst waiting on the lady get ready...spent most of my evening there ;)

Pool area:there were 2 pools. One large and a smaller more private one. Very clean and tidy.

Food: we only eat the breakfast. Wasnt great to be honest. Very basic but it did the job.

Location: Great. right on the beach. Far enough away from Kuta that it wasnt in your face, but close enough that it was a 20min walk or 5min taxi ride. Also because it is in legian it falls between kuta and seminyak so you are close enough to walk into either during the day and night. If you fancy something a bit special please try Ku de Ta in semiyak(more about that later).

Beach: stunning. The hotel is right on the beach. You do have to cross a small pedestrian road were the hawkers hang but just be firm and they get the message.
There are plenty of loungers and the guy that owns them is very helpful and the drinks are reasonably priced.

Staff/Service: In general the staff were great. very friendly and happy but as everywhere you get a few grumpy people. The lady at the main reception (works in shifts) was lovely and could not be more helpful.


Additional comments:

Ku De Ta

Before we went, we had looked at this as a night to go all out and experience the 5star dining in bali. It will not disappoint. For 2 of us it was under £100 (UK pounds) or ($200 USD) for 3 courses, 1 btl of wine, 2 additional alcoholic drinks and a coffee. Now I dont know how much things cost were you come from but here in Scotland a meal of that standard will set you back at least £150. The food was amazing and the setting was just perfect. After your dinner you are offered a bed to lay on. All the beds face onto the ocean and are very comfortable to relax and end the night with a few drinks. You can go to Ku De Ta for a few drinks and just hang and experience it but i fully recommend this for dining. In addition, the beds are in high demand (think there is only 5 or 6) and they are prioritised for diners over people just in for a drink.

Apologies if the review is all over the place...just trying to remember things as they were last year.

I think reviews are helpful, but I definetly think the holiday is what you make of it. Some people will never be happy as they are looking for faults.

Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank travellingcelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel twice now and love the location for the heart of Legian and being close to Double Six Beach. Our first stay was April 2006 and then this time Dec 07 – Jan 08. It was during the peak time however we did not feel over crowed. This was the last of 4 hotels for me as it was a 4 week stay in Bali and we had the budget one last which is probably not the best way to do it as you compare everything so it took a couple of days to settle in after being in a 2 bed luxury beach pool villa. We stayed for 9 nights only had buffet breakfast 2 mornings then ate out the others, one of favourite breakfast spots is just down the street beach exit called Lani Bar and Grill or Lani Café (one of the 2) in fact all the food there is great, we would take the lap top as I had to do a little work being away for 4 weeks and stay breakfast through to lunch, there is a great upstairs section with a nice view, all the food is great and good price. If you head down there on a Sunday late afternoon and into the night a lot of locals hang out and they have drums and fire throwing on the beach it is great.

We were also at the hotel for New Years Eve and thought it was funny that you HAD to pay top dollar and be at the hotel for the New Years Eve party, however we had a great night, they had a good bad but would have liked more dance time.

The rooms are basic; it is a great budget hotel good for families with older children that can entertain themselves or teenagers. Great spot if your surf or body board but not December as waves are usually good then, are great in April. It had a lot of Aussies (us included) with a very casual relaxed feeling. Staff are great, and helpful. We buy dvd player and take it with us from hotel to hotel and then give it away at the end, you can get them top floor of discovery mall, it’s great to relax late at night watching some of the movies just bought

If my budget did not allow for a better hotel (we stayed Hard Rock, Novotel Benoa and Sofitel Seminyak as well this trip) I would most defiantly stay there again as it has everything you need for a good holiday

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Shazeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

Arrived received a welcome drink and booked in a few hours early, great. A family holiday had 3 rooms all were dirty and smelt musky. Complained and was changed to other rooms (immediately no problems) that were clean and no smell. 1 room the air con did not work had to shift again, another room the fridge did not work. It took 3 days to get the fridge repaired. Rooms were cleaned daily to a good standard. Grounds, swimming pools and location on the beach all great. The breakfast was average, (toaster never worked properly) egg counter was great, staff were a bit slack on serving coffee, tea. Staff were very pleasant right throughout the hotel. The poolbar was not open at all in our 12 day stay. The waiters walked around very occassionally to serve drinks. We really enjoyed our holiday but felt the hotel were only interested in filling rooms. Room service was o.k a little pricey but not too bad, like all resorts drink prices rather expensive.Our family would not return to the Jayakarta. We met many people who have stayed at the Jayakarta for years and love it. Each to their own I suppose.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thor47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2008

I love the location of the Jayakarta, beachfront and near lots of great seaside restaurants.
Rooms are basic, clean and comfortable. Staff are friendly and helpful. I prefer the hotel rooms over the apartments. Interconnecting rooms are available.
Breakfast is buffet style with an egg station and food is fresh and varied.

  • Stayed: March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindat44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2008

The Jayakarta Resort uses the ironical Email address of ....@bali-paradise. Its realy not at all a PARADISE environment. Beside in a distance of few meters only since 2 years heavy construction work is going on. A hotel of huge size build in only a distance you can actually jump over from the apartment balcony to the open air corridor of this new hotel and viz versa. Here in AUS or NZ we would never get a permit to build such close to a existing building, facing in so closed distance hunderts of existing apartment balconies. This is shurly no pardise like anymore. BUT the worst thing on all is that any complaint to the Resort Management is totally fruitless and ends up with a ignorance of first class. This Resort Management forget that some years ago Bali was totally empty and only peoples like us, yearly making twice vacation in Bali have come still for vacation in this Resort and we got ALL TIMES BEST SERVICE and ATTENTION because of very few Bali Visitors have been in Bali, That times most of the Staff has been sent of to a forced vacation because of empty hotels. Now after Bali has recovered, it seams that any complaint which needs high attention from the Top Management to sort out unhappiness of guests due to bad environment created by the Neighbouring Hotel Owners Construction, of dusty works until late nigth. even also on sundays, even you can not dry a towel or a paint on the balcony without having it after a few minutes full of cement cutting dust. Our Guest as well we got the feelings and the impression that guests putting complaints to the resort management are not much welcome and rather considered as a disturbant factor to the peacefull day to day life of the Managers in charge.
Presently we do not at all recommend this Resort until the Jayakarta Residence Management will publically confirm that all construcion works are over and normal Hotel Operation has started at the neighbour hotel. But we will also test the new build hotel and compare with the old Jayakarta facilities to find out if in future where we will make our annually twice vaction at this hotel rather than again in Jayakarta Resort.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank Balivaccation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2008

I stayed here with two girl friends for 10 nights. We had a great time. The rooms are clean but I would recommend a delux room over the standard rooms. Originally we were in a standard room with leaky air con. The delux rooms seem cleaner, are bigger and have nicer balconies. The air con worked really well. The food at the hotel was fairly poor. Breakfast was the same every morning with limited choices. This didnt bother us much at all since you can get great meals for great prices within a 2 minute walk from the hotel. There is also a great internet place right outside the hotels gates. We went out alot and found the bars along legian beach to be the best- nicer atmosphere and less crowded compared to those in Kuta. You can walk to kuta from the hotel it takes around an 1hr. Otherwise cabs everywhere are cheap and usually us a meter. Legian beach is not clean at all and we were recommended by a local not to swim there. Personally I would not recommend this as a romantic place to stay. The staff at front desk were generally unhelpful, and at times rude particulary on depature. However I would stay here again as the location is great and so cheap.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank Elle42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.6 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#13 of 87 in Legian
2,393 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.2 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 87 in Legian
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#24 of 253 in Kuta
808 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.2 mi away
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort

Address: Jl. Werkudara | PO Box 3244, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#34 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $64 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Ctrip TA and Hotwire so you can book your The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayakarta Bali Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Residence
Bali Jayakarta
Jayakarta Hotel Bali
Hotel Jayakarta Bali
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing