We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away during schoolies period”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #55 of 86 Hotels in Legian
1 review
“Stay away during schoolies period”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great place to stay,had a lovely time, highly recommend!!!HOWEVER strongly advise not to go in schoolies period....if you are not a schoolies!!noise was not controlled during the night and I didn't get a decent nights sleep for the week we were there.i left feeling more tired than when I arrived.they were nice enough to move us,however it did not make a difference!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejlegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    526
    380
    198
    146
See reviews for
531
416
57
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

This is by far the worst hotel I have stayed at in Bali in the 7 times I have travelled here. The service was appalling. They will not help you at all! The hotel drinks are expensive for Bali, as is the food for what you receive in return. I made the terrible mistake of coming over the new year period at my peril. We could not get into our room without at least an hour and a half of waiting on arrival as they lost the booking. We could not get a transfer to the airport, despite being payed for, and almost missed our flight. The rooms where okay, the cleaners didn't clean our bathroom on numerous occasions. There was pubic hair in our soap holder and the water was often not even warm. There is wires hanging underneath the water in one of the pools and a drain on the bottom with no cover. On several occasions the pool attendant didn't give my family towels dispite being before 6pm. The staff where often asleep or not willing to help! There was a lady held up just outside the hotel for her jewelry and the security could have helped however they where getting a good bit of kip, too bad for the lady that lost all her jewelry including her wedding ring! I found the hotel discussing as did the other 21 family members who stayed there! I highly recommend avoiding this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nickmcgill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Legian hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Great hotel thats about a 15 mimute walk from busy Kuta. I stayed in one room with my mum and brother. it was a little squashy but we had our own beds,it was really clean, the aircon was great, had a balcony, was quiet. There are two pool areas, one more for the kiddies and the other has a poolbar and music great for us to chillax to (25-30yrs old) The beach is right out the front of the hotel which is brilliant, straight across a lane. There are plently of local dudes with their minibars set up onthe sand to see the sunset. There are beautiful resturants surrounding the hotel on the beachside but also a couple onsite. Some very funky bars also. The breakast buffet is just brillaint.Such variety from omlette to fruit to toast to pastrys, all with a sea view. Had a massage inhouse and wasnt that great so id reccomend to save your money and get one somewhere. Definately one for the family but reccomended to anyone that isnt out to party really hard.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank superkyles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My Boyfriend and I stayed at the Jayakarta for 12 nights between the 17th-29th of November and were to be honest a little disappointed.
Our main issue we had was that we were staying at the Jayakarta around the same time as schoolies. Every single night we were woken up by young people running up and down the corridors, blowing whistles, banging on our doors, screaming out to each other and running from room to room. We spoke to management 3 times about this and they told us that there was also other people staying in the same area as us that were having similar issues, but nothing was done.
We were essentially told by management that they were trying to keep the noise down, but there was nothing much they could do. It was only after our travel agent wrote them an email about how disappointed we were that we were rang by the manager on our last day and offered two free nights accommodation because of the bad experience that we had. The manager was very apologetic and kind to us but it would have been nicer if the problem could have just been fixed through increased security and a tougher attitude towards the people on schoolies.

The room we stayed in was fairly average and we had multiple occasions where our hot water ran out. The pool area and gardens on the other hand were wonderful, really clean and comfortable. Also the location was defiantly 5 star as it was close to heaps of great restaurants and shops, also it was very easy to get a cab from that area and all taxi drivers knew where the hotel was.

All in all, if you are looking for a cheap but still nice hotel to stay in then you can't go wrong with the Jayakarta. But under no circumstances would we recommend staying there over schoolies times!!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALEX C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012

The first room we got was a pool view next to the lobby. The electrical wall plugs were hanging out of the wall, we had NO hot water, the room was tired and dirty. We wanted to upgrade to a better room and we were told that there were no better rooms. Only after having threatened that we would leave did they give us a different room. This one was upstairs. It looked way better and cleaner with a pool view, however cats had made themselves a home in the ceiling and were running around and pouncing for prey in the middle of the night. We called reception and nothing was done about it. This continued the second night and third night. The cats got into the roof through the neighbouring service room. The door was left ajar by staff every night so that the cats could get into the roof.
On the third night the air conditioner stopped working so we had to call reception at two am. They moved us into another room so we could sleep and promised to address the problems the next day.
Both swimming pools had pooh in them and most people vacated them. The remaining swimmers were left unwarned about the problem..
The reception called a cab for us from blue circle cabs. This was the first rip off we've had. These cabs have a meter on them. We were charged two hundred thousand for a ride that we discovered later only cost fifty thousand.
The Internet connection always drops.. Really annoying.
I would say that we would not choose this place again. Do not come here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angelflab123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 15, 2012

I was at jayakarta with five of my best friends for our schoolies trip. I had so much fun and would recommend it for any schoolies people, with a cheap taxi ride from kuta and a relaxing poolside by day. Thoug I sympathized with the families who forgot what time of year it was, it would be unfair to say that the partying was anywhere near out of control. The rooms were well maintained though the reception staff were unfriendly and lacking in communication skill. I would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abbyrebecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location....close to good restaraunts and right across the road from the beach.We have stayed here before so knew what we were in for except for 1 thing SCHOOLIES didnt realise when we booked they have migrated to Bali and most of them in the Jayakarta....So dont go in November...The hotel is huge well set out with beautiful gardens...as has been previously stated the rooms can do with a bit of a touch up but you are only in it for a little bit and the bed was comfortable and the staff were always very helpful and cheerful...Give the breaky a miss very ordinary go to one of the many eateries out the front or the back...For a cheap stay it is good ...it also has 3 great pools

Room Tip: The apartments are too far from the pool...Stay in the 200 rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank russianwharfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.6 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 86 in Legian
2,226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#27 of 86 in Legian
597 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kumala Pantai
Hotel Kumala Pantai
#30 of 251 in Kuta
784 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melasti Legian Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort

Property: The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Werkudara | PO Box 3244, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#34 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayakarta Bali Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Residence
Bali Jayakarta
Jayakarta Hotel Bali
Hotel Jayakarta Bali
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing