We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location & very friendly staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Ranked #57 of 84 Hotels in Legian
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Location & very friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

We stayed here for 3 weeks in early January with our 3 children. we originally booked a 2 bedroom apartment through our travel agent and requested a garden view but when we checked in and walked onto the balcony we had a view of the roof from another building in the hotel premises which was very dissapointing as the apartment itself was very spacious, bathroom much bigger and nicer, we had already unpacked but after a few hours of been there the thought of us having to put up with the view of the roof for the next 3 weeks was not so great so we called reception to see if we can change this. The staff were very accomodating and gave us the keys to check out 2 interconneting rooms with a garden view ( they informed us that they dont have 2BR apartments with a garden view) which was smaller but we weren't planning on spending much time in our rooms so that worked out fine for us. The bathrooms could definitely do with a update and the water from the showers emitted a terrible odour which we complianed about daily for a good 8 days before giving up as every time we spoke to the duty manager he advised us he will send someone to fix it but it never did get fixed.

The gardens are gorgeous and we stayed on the 1st floor in the 500's block and apart from the aussies behaving like animals until 2-3am everything was ok. the breakfast is average with them serving the same food everyday and after a week we'd had enough and couldnt eat there any longer even though we had paid to get breakfast included. The prices of the meals at the restaurant were a bit steep and next time I would probably use the restaurants & cafe's along the beach a little more.

The pool and pool bar was great and a special mention goes out to Andy who was extremly freindly and such an entertaining barmen who was always willing to help with any questions we had.

We have stayed in a lot of different hotel's over the last 18 years and all in all you really get what you pay for and we had no meajor issues with the Jayakarta, we would probalbly stay here again but truly hope that they give the bathroom's a face lift.

Extremely freindly staff that always went our of their way to help.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BaliHolidayLove... B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    512
    372
    190
    144
See reviews for
518
399
55
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

its hotel no too expensive ..and we stay for 2 days with all facilities...you can walk around legian street with much cafe and bars around there..and much restaurant with good food too..and you can find dress and clothes store also ..so dont take much dress if you want go to Bali..you can buy dress there and not very expensive for you wear to spend day there..its good also for family not only couples like me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VJEMoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbounre
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2012

I stayed during early december period with a group of 5 friends.
Check in was a slow process as there are 2 lobbys and we had gone to the wrong one and check in staff couldnt find our reservation and didnt speak the best english to explain to us what had gone on! We had booked interconnecting rooms which were fine! rooms could do with a refurb, and we had an issue with one of the showers but staff fixed this once we made them aware.
We all loved the staff in the sunset bar especially Andy and ended up there almost every evening to say hello, they were all so friendly and helfpul, if we hadnt met these staff i think our whole experience would have been alot different!
We were at Jayakarta during schoolies period and still found the hotel to be good! I can Guarantee there is better but this was good for what we paid for.
Location is fine and only short taxi ride to Kuta.
We organised a late check out before we stayed at Jayakarta (which we should have reconfirmed at checkin) and were shocked when cleaners came into our room and told us we needed to be out in an hour! We still had all day until we were due to check in at the airport, we checked out of our room as asked to withihn the hour, where staff allowed us to keep our luggage as we had no where else to go and allowed us to still use all ammenities. We hadnt paid for a late checkout so werent annoyed by this.
Aside from the my overall experience at Jayakarta was good and I would be happy to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stacey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

I stayed at the Jayakarta for Schoolies in 2010. There was a large group of us travelling and Jayakarta accomodated us all and put our rooms nice and close to each other. The rooms were nice but the balconies looked out onto the hotel next door and didnt give us much privacy unless we had all the curtains shut (we actually had an incident were people in the hotel next door were taking pictures of us!). The pools and common areas of the hotel were all amazing. Great location walk straight out onto the beach. The restaurant was a little pricey for what you got but the swim up bar was great! Rooms bathroom was a little shabby but you definitely get what you pay for.

The staff were all extremely friendly and the buffet breakfast was fantastic! They were able to organise scooter hire and order us delivery McDonalds!

I am going back to Bali in June and have already booked to stay at the Jayakarta again! Would recommend it to anyone.

Also if you are travelling with a family try The Jayakarta Apartments (same hotel but managed by different people as the apartments are not near the hotel rooms).

Room Tip: Try and get on the ground floor as they do not have lifts and you will have to walk up 2 flights of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2012

I have stayed at the Jayakart In January 2011 & 2012 and would return. Fantastic location, safe & secure, beauutiful gardens, friendly attention staff and great facilities. Short walk to fabulous restaurants and central to Kuta & Seminyak. Rooms are not flash but comfortable. Be sure to ask for 300 block - best location in the resort. Great resort for families, children can wander with safety. Love the Jayakarta !!

Room Tip: Book a deluxe room in block 300. Handy position to pools etc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank margie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunbury, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Jayakarta for four nights in January 2011. We booked a 1 bedroom apartment, as the price wasn't much different to the other rooms. Upon arrival at the main lobby, they looked for our booking then told us we needed to go to a different lobby, half way across the hotel. When we arrived at that lobby, they were eventually able to book us in to our room. We were shown to our room, which was near the front road entrance to the hotel, pretty far away from the pool and restaurant.

The room itself is large, but not very nice. The decor is in desperate need of an upgrade, the fridge didn't get very cold, the tv's are tiny and the bed was hard. There was electrical sockets and wiring hanging out of the wall where the tv was plugged in, and mould in most corners of the apartment. There was a dirty dress hanging on the chair on the balcony, and it didn't belong to us! The bathroom is pretty bad, fairly disgusting on the floor around and behind the toilet, and the door wouldn't slide open all the way. The toilet flusher would get jammed and keep flushing constantly if you didn't notice. The layout of the bathroom was really poor, with next to no spare space. I have heard that some privately owned and rented apartments are VERY nice, but we booked direct through the hotel and I wouldn't recommend them. Our first morning was pouring with rain, and we had no umbrella in our room. We went downstairs to the little lobby below, and they said to go ask main reception for an umbrella. When we asked at main reception (after having run through pouring rain to get there), they tell us they will have one sent to our room with the cleaners... in the mean time, they didn't even have one in reception that we could borrow to get to breakfast. Luckily a security guard offered to walk us over there using his umbrella.

The pools are nice, with the large square pool (attached to the kids pool) being warmest, and the pool with the bar being quite cold (in January it wasn't very hot during the day, so that pool was too cold). The restaurant is ok, not too expensive, and meals were adequate. Breakfast has a reasonable selection, though they need more drinking glasses (there was always people waiting for glasses to be washed).

We were travelling in a party of around 20 people (extended family). Almost every single person got sick on this trip to Bali. While they may not have gotten sick from stuff they ate or drank at this hotel, I don't think the conditions of the hotel helped at all. Mouldy rooms and dirty hallways can't help your immune system when it's trying to fight off a bug. One morning I noticed cat poop and a puddle (most likely cat urine) in our hallway, and it was still there late into the day. I got sicker than I've ever been in my life, and we had to extend our trip by a night, as I couldn't fly home. The doctor wasn't available until 12pm, and was very expensive, though the hotel were easy to deal with when it came to extending the trip by one night. I was glad to check out and go home the next day.

Overall, it's an average to below-average hotel. The pool is nice, but that's about it. The staff weren't all that helpful, and their english wasn't very good. We stayed at the Padma in November, and while this is half the price of the Padma, it's less than half the quality. If we ever return to Bali, we will not be staying at the Jayakarta.

Room Tip: Tip for a good room - stay somewhere else. Otherwise, the pool view rooms weren't as bad as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieGal88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Legian hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2012

Have stayed at the Jayakarta hotel 3 times in 2011 for the price it is pretty average hotel, but the location is excellent. It is right on Legian beach and has quiet a few restuarants and warungs only metres away. The rooms are standard and the buffet breakfast is ok but they have alot of little white ants in the restaurant. We chose not to eat there and would go to the cafes on the beach. The hotel has 3 swimming pools and free wifi around the pool area. yes I would stay again coz I love where it is and I only need a room to sleep in so it doesn't worry me that it isn't that flash. About 100 metres down on the beach walking towards Seminyak there are about 4 - 5 warungs right on the beach and they have huge bean bags and you can sit there all day drinking and eating, it is especially great watching the sunset and most nights they have bands playing and fireworks and the food and drinks are cheap.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daphne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puri Raja
Puri Raja
#29 of 84 in Legian
4.0 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Ossotel
Ossotel
#6 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,032 reviews
0.0 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#3 of 84 in Legian
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort

Property: The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
Address: Jl. Werkudara | PO Box 3244, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#36 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jayakarta Bali Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Legian
Jayakarta Hotel Residence
Bali Jayakarta
Jayakarta Hotel Bali
Hotel Jayakarta Bali
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing