We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Ranked #21 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Had a few nights here in a Java Villa that has its own plunge pool,Room ok but Mozzies are bad,but plenty of spray available. Bathroom outdoors need a roof cover to keep mozzies outside..opposite. Beach ,Nice Gardens,Friendly staff,Renovations happening so site will improve. Jim and Brigette. Wallaroo,South Australia.

Room Tip: Java Villas large,with a plunge pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JimBriigette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (988)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

487 - 493 of 988 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2014

We stayed there 18 days and booked a a familiy room. The hotel is tucked between larger hotels on Legian front beach road and is a nice oasis in local style. the Villas and rooms are located amid a lush and well cared garden, giving a relaxing feel away from busy Kuta. The room was spacious, well organized, so you can arrange a "kids" corner there too. Amenities are fine, and there is plenty of storage space too. The hotel has 2 swimming pools, though the larger one was under renovation during our stay, we used a bit the smaller one located closed to our room. The staff is very friendly from gardeners to the front desk. The beach is just in front of the hotel and you can rent 2 chairs there for approx. 10 usd a day, and enjoy nice lunch, fresh fruit and drinks at very low price. You can also go for a massage (look for Dewi she is just great and she operates on the beach in front of the Pullman hotel). Of course you have some beach sales but they accept a firm no without further discussions. Around the hotel you will find many eating places too. We liked a lot staying in Legian as it turned out a much quieter place than Kuta or neighbouring beaches.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2014

This resort is located on the Beach Road in between The Pullman Hotel and The Stones entertainment centre. We stayed in the Alam Villa, room 123. The room is large with a big, comfortable bed with mosquito nets around it. The bathroom is outdoor and is in two sections, basin and wardrobe area and through another door to the toilet and the two showers and sunken bath. A good thing when two people are trying to get ready. Both showers have even pressure when they are being used. There is also an outdoor to enjoy the balmy nights. The only drawback of the room would be that it is quite dark as it is in the corner of the hotel, but this was ok as there was no passing guests making noise. Mosquito's are a problem, but hey this is Bali and they are everywhere. We sprayed the room every day before we went out and made sure the lights were off at night before we went out and had no problems.

Breakfast was included in our room rate and was upstairs in the restaurant. There was a great variety that changed daily, Indonesian favourites, cereal, fruit toast and danishes were available. There is also a fresh egg chef who makes everything to order for you. The staff in the restaurant were very friendly and always smiling and making sure you had everything. One of our favourite staff members was Andriani, she always had a smile on her face and was very happy when we started saying good morning and thanking her in Indonesian. Each day she would try and teach us something new to say.

The only downside to our stay this time was that the main pool was closed for renovations/repairs and that only left the smaller pool to swim in. It was quite busy with lots of kids, so we did not utilise the pool as much as we would have liked to. It was not very peaceful with the kids running around and jumping in the pool.

We also had access to the Alam Club which was a very nice touch, a separate room set up with complimentary tea and coffee, soft drinks, water and juice and also a selection of snacks. we used this facility regularly as the internet connection was not very good or reliable in our room. A lovely retreat to get out of the heat after a day of shopping or walking before we went back to our room.

Overall this hotel represents good value for money and has survived being surrounded by larger hotels. We would not hesitate to stay here again or to recommend this beautiful Balinese inspired hotel. Nothing was to much trouble for them to assist us. My sister in law stayed here in 2003 and it has not changed and is still in good shape.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank SampaiJumpaLagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Stayed 5 days after recommendation from friend who stays regularly. Staff were all very helpful, from reception to room cleaners and everyone in-between. The room was large but a bit run down and after other people's comments on this site about mosquitos I sprayed the room and had no problems at all. The main pool was being renovated during our visit so the small quiet pool at the back was noisy and too full. Breakfast was good and squirrels came down to snack every morning with us. Good access to the beach and Kuta and Legian shopping.
The pizzas and pasta from the front restaurant were excellent. I don't normally eat at hotel restaurants but this place is different. The volcano pizza is special.

Room Tip: Back rooms by the small pool are normally quieter, but only if the large pool renovations have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CurlymikeT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

We have stayed 3 times, with both friends and family at the very Balinese style hotel which we just love. The staff are wonderful and always helpful
Nothing is ever too much trouble, the breakfast is great and changes are made to the menu every morning. Rooms are traditional and always clean.
The resort is quietly tucked away from the noise of the street and is directly across from the beach. We so far have found no faults with this beautiful resort
Fantastic location, 2 minute walk to Malasti Street markets, close to fabulous Restuarants on Padma Street or along the beachfront, Beachwalk, Poppies Lane and even Legian Street if you like to walk
Pools are fabulous, prices to stay at Alum Kulkul are very reasonable and you are truly living in Bali when you stay at this hotel
We will be back there in November and look forward to seeing the staff again
As most regular travellers to Bali know, "they never forget a face"
Murray & Julie W.A.

Room Tip: We normally stay in the Alum Room Even though you need to climb stairs to access some rooms, let th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank mjjmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2014

My 2 friends and I stayed in this hotel for 2 nights before we headed back home. Turns out my parents had stayed here a few years earlier too (which I didn't learn until I was home)!!
The location is great- less than a 10 min walk to the shopping centre, right opposite the beach, a good walk (or close and cheap in a taxi) to get anywhere else you needed to go.
One of the pools was closed while we were there and I think it's because they were renovating it. Needless to say, the smaller pool area was always busy and full of families swimming.
The room was very clean and spacious. Wifi access was very good.
We stayed in a family room, located at the back of the resort which you needed to go up stairs to get to, which I found difficult (as had a very bad knee) and odd considering families using these rooms with strollers, so there were often prams parked at the bottom of the stairs.
Shower and toilet would sometimes have the "Bali smell" after being used and that smell would thankfully just stay in the bathroom until it settled.
We were able to securely have our luggage stored after checkout until we needed to leave for the airport mid-afternoon.
But overall, a very good hotel and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ErinL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night in a family room - excellent value, exceptional service & decent food. The room would get a bit cramped for a long stay, but fine for a week or less. The beach across the road is awesome. I'd stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NellyTho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 87 in Legian
2,488 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Rama Residence Padma
Rama Residence Padma
#3 of 87 in Legian
196 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
0.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#11 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#14 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#16 Spa Hotel in Legian
#17 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $63 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing