We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream Holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Ranked #20 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dream Holiday”
Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

My family and I travel to bali every year and have stayed at so many different resorts every time but this year we stayed at the Alam
Kulkul boutique Resort For the first time. Our stay was fantastic and the staff couldn't do enough for us the manager was always on hand for any question we had. We have booked our flights for 2014 and wouldn't consider staying anywhere but at the same resort it's like no other we have stayed at in the past 12 years. We have recommended the Alum kulkul to all our friends who regally travel to Bali . Congratulation to all the staff and thank you so much for all your hospitality see you all in June 2014 . Michelle Smith and family .

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Chitch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Chitch1,

Greeting from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Thank you for your stay with us. We are happy you found us for you recent holiday in Bali and that you had a great time with us.

Thank you for recommending us to your friends and we will be waiting to see you again this year!

Kind regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    355
    122
    33
    27
See reviews for
265
346
37
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

We stayed in the Alam Kulkul in December for one week. This was the first time my Fiance had been to Bali. It was fantastic from the start. We arrived at the hotel late at night and from then on a great holiday pursued! We had daily buffet breakfast with omlettes made to order. Daily room clean and tidy. All staff would say hello as you walked pass and go out of their way to make sure you are enjoying your stay.

They also held an "International Buffet" night which was great - traditional Barong dancers for entertainment. We also got free cocktails between 6pm and 7pm at night - very delicious! We purchased a dodgy watch (as you do) from the local shops and one of the staff fixed it for us for free!

Very close to some great restaurants (uncle Norms, Sheppys and more). Close to Kuta. Right on the beach. Very traditional style hotel. I would recommend to all! Only thing that was wrong (and was not really the fault of the hotel) but on the last three nights of our stay, we had noisy people upstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for near the second pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hammy1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear hammy1990,

Greeting from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stayed last year in December. We are pleased that you have enjoyed the Barong dance performance and the free cocktail we provided for our dear guests. On the other hand, we are sorry that on your last 3 nights, you had noisy people upstairs. We will follow this up with the management.

Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again .

Kind regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

On a holiday with friends, we chose to stay here due to cost and location. The hotel is older and the 2 rooms we had both smelt mouldy. When asked to move they said that they didn't have any rooms available. The 2 pool areas were small and not really what I was expecting. The pool bar wasn't processing orders, so they had to take the order and the money and then go to the main bar. Took a while for orders to arrive. The breakfast that was included was fantastic and the welcome cocktails were great. Hotel was clean and the beds were comfy. The restaurant out the front was great. Staff were mostly helpful, however we had a problem with how much was actually due and felt a bit ripped off in the end.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel are noisy when guests are above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gkloosterman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear gkloosterman,

Greetings from Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort!

Thank you for staying with us on your last holiday. We apologize about the room and the processing orders. It has been followed up to the management. We are planning to have a small renovation soon to renew rooms that are old.

We are happy to know that you enjoyed the hotel breakfast and Papa's Limoncello Restaurant located in front of the hotel.

Once again, thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We stayed at alum kulkul twice in November, staying 8 nights, then heading to Amed for 5 nights, then returning to Alum kulkul for a further 8 nights.
We enjoyed both our stays, & would like to say the staff were wonderful,especially Natih! & the location being close to the beach & the restaurants & shops in Melasti St & Garlic Lane was very convenient.
We also liked that the resort has remained traditional Balinese, when a lot of resorts are getting more modern. My only complaint would be that I think the pools could do with a bit of an upgrade.
I have read a previous review which mentioned dishonesty, & I would like to say we found the complete opposite.When we arrived in Amed, which is 4 hours drive from Legian, my son & I realised we had left all our unlocked luggage behind in the foyer at Alum kulkul, my son is a scuba diver, and his bag was full of his expensive diving gear and lights for his underwater camera,when our bags arrived at Amed the next day,thanks to our wonderful driver bringing them for us, nothing had been touched.
On our arrival back at Alum kulkul we were welcomed back like an old friend & even given a complimentary dinner!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DBLBjbcb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear DBLBjbcd,

Greeting from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stayed last year in November. Your input on the pools are much appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed the complimentary dinner and had a great time with us. On the safety issue, Alam Kulkul would like to assure our guest that It is our pleasure to make sure all your belongings are secure and safe on our premises.


Once again, thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again .

Kind regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After much research and discussions with a travel agent we booked the Alam KulKul (Oct 2013). I had read tripadvisor and it seemed to be positive. We had to book a family room for 2 adults and 3 children. It wasn't cheap but we wanted in Legain and on the beach.

When we arrived it was across from the beach (very busy road to cross with a terrible footpath). Being taken to our room all the villas looked lovely but when we got to the back of the resort and up the stairs it was dark and dingy & reminded me of my backpacking days 20 years ago when I had no money! The room was small, dirty and smelt. The bathroom was so dirty that I had to ring and ask for them to be cleaned. The amount of hair sitting on top of the drain in the floor was awful.

I can cope with the room being old but dirty was another thing.

We were with another family and they felt exactly the same way. After 2 nights our husbands complained and we were upgraded to a suite (additional cost of US$100 per family each per night extra $US700 total). We had 3 rooms that interconnected. The mosquitoes were horrendous in the room. We slept under mosquito nets which is not my ideal holiday situation.

On the 3rd day my son got something out of his suitcase and a rat jumped out and ran across the floor. We complained to reception immediately.

One positive is that the breakfast is good and the hotel is quiet around the pools. The restaurant at the front on the street is nice too.

It is basically the 1st hotel in Legian so if you want Legian/Seminyak stay more towards there.

We ended up spending a lot of money for a family of 5 and stayed at an awful and disappointing hotel. We could of stayed at a 4* - 5* hotel for the money we spent. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Maybe the villas are nice but do not stay in a family room you will be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacob0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear jacob0604

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Hello, hope you are doing well and healthy. We would like to thank you for your comments and feedback. It will certainly help us to further improve our products and services delivery for our guests. We are sorry if your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your comments has been followed up to ensure it won't happen again.

Once again, thank you for your comments and feedback. Hope we will have a chance to make it up and to see you again in the future.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Alum Kulkul. We booked a villa double room and it was beautiful. It was actually 3 room with a small semi enclosed veranda. It consisted of a large bed sitting room with a large 4 poster bed covered with mossie netting, a separate dressing /vanity room and an enclosed outside sunken bath/shower area. It was spotlessly clean and the towels were white! t
The staff were just lovely and couldn't have been more obliging. The resort had a lounge area for guests only with free coffee/tea/variety of cold drinks and nibbles......all for free ........all day!! They also had a free happy hour everynight, as well as a free cocktail party on friday night.We also found the pool area very pleasant and clean however, the pool itself could do with an upgrade. We would not hesitate to recommend and return again to this delightful traditional boutique resort!!

Room Tip: Villa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin and Jane... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Martin and Jane… R,

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Thank you so much for your compliments. We are glad that you enjoyed your villa and our services. Hope you had a great holiday with us!

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward for your return to our hotel


Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We got a cheap room in this hotel when browsing the internet. Though it is located in 2nd floor and seems that there are some ex water leakage on the roof but still OK. The room is quite big equipped with all required amenities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank budi_haryanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear budi_haryanto,

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Hello, how are you? hope you are well and healthy. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We apoligize about the stain on the roof, and it has been followed up. Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and we'll be waiting for your return to our hotel.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.4 mi away
Padma Resort Legian
Padma Resort Legian
#2 of 87 in Legian
5,674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Property: Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#11 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#11 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#15 Spa Hotel in Legian
#18 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing