We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing stay at the Alam KulKul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2014

After much research and discussions with a travel agent we booked the Alam KulKul (Oct 2013). I had read tripadvisor and it seemed to be positive. We had to book a family room for 2 adults and 3 children. It wasn't cheap but we wanted in Legain and on the beach.

When we arrived it was across from the beach (very busy road to cross with a terrible footpath). Being taken to our room all the villas looked lovely but when we got to the back of the resort and up the stairs it was dark and dingy & reminded me of my backpacking days 20 years ago when I had no money! The room was small, dirty and smelt. The bathroom was so dirty that I had to ring and ask for them to be cleaned. The amount of hair sitting on top of the drain in the floor was awful.

I can cope with the room being old but dirty was another thing.

We were with another family and they felt exactly the same way. After 2 nights our husbands complained and we were upgraded to a suite (additional cost of US$100 per family each per night extra $US700 total). We had 3 rooms that interconnected. The mosquitoes were horrendous in the room. We slept under mosquito nets which is not my ideal holiday situation.

On the 3rd day my son got something out of his suitcase and a rat jumped out and ran across the floor. We complained to reception immediately.

One positive is that the breakfast is good and the hotel is quiet around the pools. The restaurant at the front on the street is nice too.

It is basically the 1st hotel in Legian so if you want Legian/Seminyak stay more towards there.

We ended up spending a lot of money for a family of 5 and stayed at an awful and disappointing hotel. We could of stayed at a 4* - 5* hotel for the money we spent. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: Maybe the villas are nice but do not stay in a family room you will be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jacob0604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear jacob0604

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Hello, hope you are doing well and healthy. We would like to thank you for your comments and feedback. It will certainly help us to further improve our products and services delivery for our guests. We are sorry if your stay with us did not meet your expectations. Your comments has been followed up to ensure it won't happen again.

Once again, thank you for your comments and feedback. Hope we will have a chance to make it up and to see you again in the future.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (979)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

530 - 536 of 979 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Alum Kulkul. We booked a villa double room and it was beautiful. It was actually 3 room with a small semi enclosed veranda. It consisted of a large bed sitting room with a large 4 poster bed covered with mossie netting, a separate dressing /vanity room and an enclosed outside sunken bath/shower area. It was spotlessly clean and the towels were white! t
The staff were just lovely and couldn't have been more obliging. The resort had a lounge area for guests only with free coffee/tea/variety of cold drinks and nibbles......all for free ........all day!! They also had a free happy hour everynight, as well as a free cocktail party on friday night.We also found the pool area very pleasant and clean however, the pool itself could do with an upgrade. We would not hesitate to recommend and return again to this delightful traditional boutique resort!!

Room Tip: Villa room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin and Jane... R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear Martin and Jane… R,

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Thank you so much for your compliments. We are glad that you enjoyed your villa and our services. Hope you had a great holiday with us!

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are looking forward for your return to our hotel


Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We got a cheap room in this hotel when browsing the internet. Though it is located in 2nd floor and seems that there are some ex water leakage on the roof but still OK. The room is quite big equipped with all required amenities.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank budi_haryanto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear budi_haryanto,

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Hello, how are you? hope you are well and healthy. We're happy that you enjoyed your stay.

We apoligize about the stain on the roof, and it has been followed up. Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor and we'll be waiting for your return to our hotel.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

My family and I recently stayed at Alam KulKul and we just loved it. We were looking for good value, right next to the beach and wanted a traditional style setting. Alam Kul Kul exceeded our expections and the staff were so nice and friendly. My little son was fussed over and loved the hotel pool. Its in a great location to enjoy not only the beach but some great shopping nearby as well as beachfront restaurants. We really didn't need to venture far for anything. Alam KulKul had real Bali character which seemed to be missing from a lot of other places we looked at. We'll be back again for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Dear JohannaH500

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

Hello, how are you? hope you are well and healthy. Thank you for staying with us and we are glad that we exceeded your expectation. We hope we will see you again soon and we'll be waiting for your return to our hotel.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This Hotel is old and the rooms are run down, needs a re-vamp ASAP,
The pool is very small and not the cleanest the rooms and bathrooms are old fashioned, the towel where grey in colour and I think they were supposed to be white. The Hotel backed on the local accommodation and the smell of the look are area was of sewerage, I think the hotel are aware of this as they tried to disguised this with bleach etc on a daily basis, To add the poor quality the room safe was robbed of some of our goods leaving all the paper work and credit cards and only taking the cash, this was definitely an inside job just removing cash and travellers cheques, the place the packets and paper work back as though nothing had gone missing... The hotel tried to blame my fellow travellers interesting way to cover things up.
PLEASE BEAWARE ...

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mr.EEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights recently, hotel at the price seems below value for money, smell of sewage in room was quite bad and swimming pool could have been cleaner, restaurant food is vastly over priced for below average taste.
Stay here at your own risk as I had my money and personal belongings locked in hotel room safe and after check out when I checked, I had £1,000 in sterling stolen and £1,900 in travellers cheques taken,
My ipad, passport and other stuff was untouched,
There had be no forced entry into room or safe,
The hotel on reporting this theft were very unhelpful along with the local police,
The customer care of the management to this theft report was disgusting.
You have been warned.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
4  Thank iancooper22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear iancooper22

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

We are very sorry to hear of the loss of your money and do understand how
this would mark the holiday experience of you and your friends. We only wish
that you had notified us of this matter before checking out of our resort;
we would then have been able to conduct a proper investigation with our
security and local police who would then have issued a report. Without your
presence to make a statement there cannot be a case filed with the police
and subsequent report issued.

We regret that your room had an odour , in January we will be modifying our
drainage system to eliminate this problem.

We are sorry if our services could not lived up to your expectation, but we thank you for your feedback to ensure that we can improve our product and services.

Again, We would like to thank you for your comments and hope we could have a chance to meet again in the future.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel is close to the airport but because of traffic an hour is needed. The beach across the street is filthy. The rooms are small,dark and with poor access to electrical outlets. The restaurant is over priced and the portions are very small. The gala Christmas dinner was absurdly expensive and the quality of the food was mediocre. Check in was not allowed until 2 which is a real pain after a long flight. Get early check-in or do not stay here.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scubamikeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Feonie F, Corporate Marketing at Alam KulKul Boutique Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear scubamikeb

Greetings from AlamKulKul Boutique Resort!

We would like to thank you for your stay with us . We are sorry if our services could not lived up to your expectation, but we thank you for your feedback to ensure that we can improve our product and services. Your input has been followed up to make sure this won't happen again.

Again, We would like to thank you for your comments and hope we could have a chance to meet again in the future.

Regards
Alam Kulkul Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.2 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#12 of 88 in Legian
2,458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Beach
0.2 mi away
The Magani Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
0.3 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alam KulKul Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alam KulKul Boutique Resort

Address: Jl. Pantai Kuta, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#11 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#13 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#16 Spa Hotel in Legian
#17 Family Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $63 - $104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alam KulKul Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Across the road from Kuta beach and handy to some great shopping spots, AlamKulkul Boutique Resort Bali is a refreshing, unique and tropical getaway possessing the ambiance of a Balinese village. The boutique resort is newly refurbished and looking wonderful with a simple yet stylish entrance and lobby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Alam KulKul Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alamkulkul Boutique Hotel Kuta
Alamkulkul Boutique Kuta
Alam KulKul Boutique Resort Bali/Legian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing