We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach
Ranked #57 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2013

For anyone booking 2 bedroom apartment - don't. We booked via Expedia.com.au and upon arriving on the 25th we're told 2br not available due to maintenance. After being totally upset at being given 1br apartment we discovered the next day that at the time we booked months prior the 2br were under maintenance back then and still not done when we arrived due to materials not arriving. I asked why they were advertising something they didn't have at the time and why we weren't notified by email prior to travel this was the case? I guess it still Bali ways. The Balinese don't understand that side of service yet unfortunately and while we love the country, this was a bitter disappointment. The 1br were smelly of sewerage and while we didn't care for wi-fi, we were told during the course of our stay that it was being 'fixed' and would only be an hour - needless to say it never got fixed.
We are now in Amed and nice to have genuine hospitality that we know the Balinese people are known for.
Give Club Bali Suites a miss. There are better same affordable places to stay. I'm very reluctant to use online like Expedia and Booking.com as well for a family - it just doesn't seem to be a priority for them when checking in.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dragica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
There are newer reviews for Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

75 - 81 of 134 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed for 7 nights in a 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom suite/apartment with Club Bali Suites which is located within the grounds of the Jayakarta resort in Legian. With this accommodation you get what you pay for, we were initially quite disappointed with the accommodation but go used to it after a few days.

They offer free wifi as part of the accommodation, unfortunately the wifi did not work at all, the signal was too weak in our room. I spoke to reception and they basically shrugged their shoulders and offered no help at all, I think the wifi has never worked in some of the rooms.

The apartment feels like a big cave, there are no windows in the living/kitchen/bathroom areas only towards the back in the bedrooms, a slightly claustrophobic feel to the whole place as the ceilings were also low. The accommodation was not exactly dirty but I would not say it was clean either. There were layers of dust under the beds and the main bathroom with the shower was smelly and looked unclean. We did not use this room at all except for the toilet as it just looked dirty. Face washers were not provided and half the time either were hand towels (a shortage in the laundry apparently) when they were provided they were often brown from overuse.

There is a good size fridge in the apartment, toaster, kettle, plates, glasses and bit’s and pieces. Free water is also provided. We cooked breakfast a few times but it is just as easy to go out to one of the many affordable restaurants along the beach, Blue Ocean was our breakfast favourite.

There is a TV in the lounge room and one in the bedroom, it would have been great to see some more channels to watch as the selection was very limited. DVD players can be hired from reception at the overpriced cost of 50,000 rp a day ($5 AUS) you could buy your own for a week and it would still be cheaper.

Pool towels must be obtained from Club Bali Suites reception and not from the pool which was ok most of the time, although a bit inconvenient when coming back from the beach or a walk and having to go all the way past the pools to reception and then back again. Most of the pool towels had seen better days and were faded and threadbare although clean.

Room service is not easy to access while staying here as nothing can be charged to your room, it must all be paid for in cash. We found it easier to get take away from one of the many near by restaurants.

The Jayakarta grounds are huge with three different receptions and many, many rooms. There are three pools on site, the pools could do with a bit of work, there are missing tiles and some sharp bits on the bottom of the pool that cut my toe. Sun lounges around the pool were the main problem at the pools as there never seemed to be any vacant ones, even at 7am in the morning. There was however plenty of space in the shade overlooking the beach, the better & quieter place to sit in our opinion. The chairs are a little old and tired and mats for the wooden sun lounges were at times hard to find. Food and drink service can be a little hard to find around the pool, I think they may be a little short staffed. Overall the pools are clean and great place to a swim.

The location is great with everything you could need in close walking distance, mini marts, money changes, spas, restaurants etc.

I’m not sure we would stay here again, although after our initial disappointment we did get used to the place. If you want a budget place to stay and don’t expect much then you will be happy with this accommodation.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovtohol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Club Bali is situated by Legian Beach, and surrounded by lots of restaurant. We stayed in a single room apartment from 3rd to 6th September. Convenient to travel around from here as well they do have a daily shuttle service to Kuta. The little problem that we faced here is the unstable WiFi service in the room, other than that its a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Depends on the number of people traveling. If more than 2 its good to choose a two room unit. All co...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shashin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Great location on the beach at Legian. We stayed in a 2 bed ground floor apartment at the front of the complex which was nice and quiet despite being school holidays. Apartment itself was very roomy, clean and had an enormous bath with jaccuzi. WiFi in room was slow and sporadic. Décor was probably late 70's and is looking a bit tired and dated but considering the value of this place it shouldn't be took much of a problem. There are a couple of downsides. We found the food quality was poor and overpriced and was pleased that we hadn't paid for the in-house breakfast because local restaurants do it much better and cheaper. Avoid the option for vouchers at Gula Gula as that was even worse. The swimming pools are in dire need of repair as they have many broken tiles with sharp edges. I managed to cut my foot twice and once was in the kiddies pool where my granddaughter pointed out the pretty red water. Nowhere near enough sunbeds around the pools and many are broken and as they are wood there is the problem with splinters. Guests tend to reserve beds by 7am with their towels and then go off for the day shopping etc and come back later afternoon for a dip so a lot of beds remain empty all day but can't be used by others so perhaps some kind of system should be put in place if no more beds are going to be purchased. Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpclubbali, Executive VP Product Development at Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Dear Paul B, thank you for making time to share your review of your recent stay with us in Bali. Whilst overall it is obvious you enjoyed your stay, the points of disappointment raised concern us greatly and our property General Manager, Agung is taking up the issues with regards to the pool and pool beds with the management at the Jayakarta Hotel. Additionally we are discussing options with regards to food services offers at local restaurants and aim to relocated this service in the very near future.

Please accept our sincere apologies for these issues and rest assured that we will act to the best of our abilities to ensure that we correct the short falls. Once again thank you for making the timer and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future

Regards

Brad Shennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here in April 2013 in a one-bedroom apartment (2 adults, 2 kids). The room was really quite nice, and the king sized bed SUPER comfortable. i think I actually slept better in this bed than I do in my own at home!

The hotel is on Jl Padma Utara, which is a great street - lots of small merchants around, and great eating places nearby. Buddha Face Tattoo is also on this street for those wanting a great tattoo.

We ate breakfast at the Jayakarta one day, which was nice, but overpriced for bali. The staff here were extremely lovely - always smiling, always willing to help. It was a welcome sight when we arrived 'home' at 12am to see the smiling staff waiting with our key ready to go. I particularly liked the night staff =) At one point one of the kids locked the in-room safe, so we didn't know the code, and the staff were up within 3 minutes to unlock it and giggle about their prowess as a locksmith. Awesome place, awesome people. I'd stay here for that alone.

A note on things that I was looking for in some of these reviews: There were no mosquitoes, the bathroom was nice and had both a shower and bath available (in one), the kitchenette was well equipped, the hotel felt VERY safe - they even checked the boots of the cars as you came onto the lot!, great for kids too - you can use the Jayakarta pool, which we did a number of times - the restaurant/bar area at the Jayakarta overlooks the pool too, so we could sit and relax while the kids swam.

About the only drawback for this hotel was that breakfast wasn't included in our package. If I were to stay here again, I would either shop around to see if any of the sites had breakfast included, or buy a loaf of bread and some spread so that I could make toast before heading out (there's a toaster and kettle etc in the kitchenette); that way we wouldn't have to make finding brekkie our first priority - that said, it was also good to discover the surrounding wayan's etc and Puri Raja always has wonderful food too!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zeekles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vpclubbali, Executive VP Product Development at Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Good Morning Zeekles

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Thank you so much for sharing about the experience. With regards to your point on the food charges at the hotel, yes we certainly understand that there is a substantial difference in charges for food and drinks inside the hotels to the Warungs & Restaurants in the surrounding areas. Personally I always recommend exploring a bit and you will find some great value, clean restaurants with in a couple of minutes walk both on the beach front and in the streets just behind the property.

Thank you once again for making the time to share this review and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back to our hotel soon

Regards

Brad Shennan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Club Bali Suites is part of the Jayakarta Hotel complex. That means lots of people using the pools, the restaurant and just coming and going. Keep this in mind, maybe not the place for you if you are looking for "exclusive" or "private". However, it was fantastic value and in a great position!! The room was immaculate, with TWO balconies, and everything you could need for your holiday. The staff were helpful when needed, but you were largely left to your own devices, which suited us! Even though the food is ok at the complex, you will find cheaper and better outside.
I have seen reviews about small bathrooms, ours was a 1 bedroom suite and the bathroom was fantastic!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank walters_clan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Although facilities are a little dated, the location, the cleanliness of the rooms and the exceptionally helpfull staff made this all for a very enjoyable stay. Unlike normal hotel rooms where you only have just a bed, club Bali has a seperate combined lounge room and kitchen with modest facilities. It was great should you want to entertain back in your room after a hard day at the beach or by the pool. Located within the Jayakarta hotel complex Club Bali suites shares all the facilities this complex has to offer. However it unfortunately does not allow bills from the Jayakarta to be charged to your room. We had breakfasts in the Jayakarta every day and had to pay cash each and every time. This was the only issue we experienced during our stay of 10 days and would have no hesitation in recommending Club Bali Suites/Residence to anyone. You would be hard pushed to find better value for money anywhere else.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PerthTony60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Legian hotels
0.1 mi away
The Jayakarta Bali Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#14 of 87 in Legian
2,362 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Camakila Legian Bali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
AQ-VA Hotel & Villas
#21 of 87 in Legian
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baleka Resort Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Sing Ken Ken Lifestyle Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach

Address: Jl. Werkudara no. 526, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Legian
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
#36 Spa Hotel in Legian
Price Range: $59 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach is independently owned and operated by Club Bali Hotels & Resorts. The resort is superbly adjacent to beautiful Legian beach within The Jayakarta Bali Hotel complex in Legian, Kuta Bali. Set in its own lush tropical gardens, it features 52 spacious One, Two, and Three Bedroom Suites which have been recognized as one of the best family accommodations in Bali. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Club Bali Family Suites at Legian Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Bali Hotel Seminyak
Club Bali Family Suites At Legian Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing