We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Xmas & New Year at the Padma”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Padma Resort Legian
Ranked #2 of 87 Hotels in Legian
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Xmas & New Year at the Padma”
Reviewed January 4, 2009

Have just returned from a 13 days stay at the Padma.Would definately stay there again. The service was excellent. We stayed in the Garden Chalets which with the experience of the Garden Club Lounge was well worth the extra charge. Breakfasts at the Bella Rosa Restaurant was more superior than the large Buffet breakfasts, although without the vast choice. We had a ground floor room which wasnt anything 'special' but adequate. However, next time we would ask for a first floor room as the upstairs neighbours were not very accomodating in their noise levels throughout the day/night. The Hotel was full but we had no problems in finding a bed/chair at the pool. During the stay they managed to find extra beds so no-one had to do the towel reservation at dawn! The bar prices at the pool are the same prices as you would pay in Perth, so not cheap for Bali standards.We didnt spend any time on the beach as it was quite disgustingly dirty. Bottles, plastic and dead fish. The amount of litter was an eyesore. Cant understand why its not cleared or cleaned!
We can recommend a nearby Restaurant/Cafe/Bar called Indo-National on Jl Padma. Owned and ran by Aussies.The food was quality for a cheap price. Try the Garlic Prawns. Half a kilo for $10. We ate there a lot. Good service and clean,
Also, nearby is a good bar/club to go to is called Legends.
If your looking for handbags you wont get any better deal than buying from Instyle shop which is just outside the Hotels main entrance.The prices are good and the bags quality is good. Tommys bags are great if you want soft leather. They will make bags for you, just bring them a picture.
The beaty Salon called Lindas is just outside the main entrance. Can get a massage in air conditioned rooms for 50,000rp I also had my hair washed and blow dried for $10. They are just as good as anywhere and much cheaper than the Hotel.
The Hotel offered money changing. For the first time ever, the Hotel had the best exchange rate. We did not find anywhere else offering a better deal, and of course you wont get burnt!
We didnt get transfers from the airport but chose to use a Taxi. If you use the Taxi stand on r/h side as you exit the arrivals lounge you will pay a standard charge for the trip. We paid 55,000rp to the Padma. Did hear other Aussies saying they paid 180,000rp but they didnt use the Taxi stand and negotiated with the local 'transport' !! Be careful :-) The best cabs to use are called Blue Bird cabs. They use meters and are very reasonable.

  • Liked — Upgrade using Garden Chalet facilities
  • Disliked — noisy neighbouring guests
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank LynskyPerthWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,294
    1,052
    212
    57
    40
See reviews for
2,312
1,958
101
144
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,287)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

We normally stay at the Kartika Plaza but decided to return to the Padma 13 years after our first stay. The garden view room was expensive and we tried to move to something better - but there wasnt anything - the beautiful Junior Suite we had stayed in 13 years before was sadly very shabby now.

The pool area is so overcrowded that you need to get up at 7am when the towel counter opens to reserve a lounge. People put books on their lounges even earlier to reserve them. This was not a relaxing part of the stay. If you dont get up early you dont get a lounge!

The breakfast was fantastic! The location is great! Great DVD shop just up from the hotel on Jalan Padma and a good leather bag maker on the right.

This is a very very popular hotel and has almost doubled in size since we were there. Lots of Australians. But for my money - the Discovery is a better bet.

  • Liked — the buffet breakfast
  • Disliked — reserving a pool lounge at 7am
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 12thtriptobali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colac victoria
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2008

We arrived at the Padma after a fantastic week at the Laguna in Nusa Dua. It was a disappointment the resort was so busy the pool area is so small for a resort of this size people are nearly lying on top of each other if you can even get a pool chair . Lots of drunks around the poolbar ,screaming kids everywhere if you are looking for a relaxing holiday avoid the Padma. The breakfast buffet is great a huge selection of food. The rooms are ok .but are looking a bit tired as is most of the resort there are much nicer resorts in the area to stay

  • Liked — location breakfast
  • Disliked — pool area
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank darcyColacVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2008

The Padma is a huge secure resort right on the beach in Legian.

My wife and I stayed for two weeks in a Garden Club Chalet which is a ground floor spacious room. The bed is huge, good size plasma tv with lots of stations and a lovely huge shower in the separate bathroom. The ground floor access is ideal for those with bad knees and the chalet we had was only a few steps away from the main dining location where a fabulous breakfast can be had and the pool.

The Garden Club Lounge is the true winner with wonderful service and is a well appointed retreat with complimentary cool drinks from 10am and then lovely selection of cocktails and plentiful finger food from 5-7pm every day. The food and drinks flow and really you dont need to go out and eat dinner.

The Padma has the biggest pool and is ideal for those wanting to swim laps. The resort is beautifully maintained and you could stay here and never venture out. The beach is across the road and although the wet season had started we did get to see several lovely sunsets. The resort has a number of great spots to view the stunning sunsets.

Facilities that I didnt use but had a good look at were the well appointed gym and the two full scale tennis courts.

My daily routine was an hours walk along the beach followed by a few laps swim. Then shower and change for a huge scrumptious breakfast. You can eat in the Bella Rosa where it is more personalised small buffet meal or the main cafe with an enormous array of hot and cold food for every palate, with selections to please those from asia or europe/west were well catered for.

I never tried the Resort Spa as I saw the prices were quite expensive compared to the area just outside the resort. I had a daily massage for an hour at RP50,000( less than AUD$7) plus gave a tip of RP20,000.

The Balinese are wonderful people working extremely hard to give you a wonderful time. Just remember that when you start to bargain that the price is already low and that the vendor's livelihood is probably less than RP50,000 per day income. Be comfortable when you achieve a price that "you both are Happy with".

We have been to Bali before and on this trip stayed away from the more traditional sightseeing places. This time we explored Uluwatu Temple for a few hours, its about an hour away past Nusa Dua and is on spectacular cliffs. Then we went to Candidasa in east Bali. What a change of scenery and pace!!!This area is well worth a 2-3 day stay. Finally we travelled north to Lovina on the far north coast, travelling through the very centre of Bali. Stopped at Lake Bratan, fabulous locale before going to Git Git Falls, across the steep mist covered mountains to Singaraja then Lovina. Not many tourists here and as in Candidasa a glimpse of the old Bali. Both trips easily done in a day but really deserve much longer. We used the same driver, Tony and he was tremendous.

We loved The Padma, it is a great resort with lovely well kept gardens, great service and in a quiter part of Kuta away from the discoes etc. So impressed that we have already made enquiries to come back for a 3 week stay next year. Cant wait!!!!!

  • Liked — Spacious and clean with a lovely terrace facing onto the garden
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank cherbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2008

our flight landed at 10 and the customs/immigration is a mess at the denpasar airport, so by the time we made it out it was 11+. it's nice to have the hotel transport waiting and take usstraight to the room.

we booked the garden suite for the club house access. it is supposed to include a private check-in, but because we arrived later than 11pm, the private check-in counter is closed. ha. good thing is they upgraded us, but i didnt find the room big or luxurious. the garden was more like a small grass area at the small patio looking at the path to our room. compared to krabi/phuket/koh samui/vietnam, this is average. they also gave us free laundry coupons for 5 pieces of clothings.

room service is decent but expensive. food at the japanese resturant is good. we did the basic teppanyaki set and was too full to walk back to the room after. there are good local food nearby, check the lonely planet recommendations, quite reliable.

the clubhouse has free internet access 11-11 daily, 3 terminals available. they serve fruits, yummy ginger-lime-mint drinks and other juice/soda all day. between 5-7, they serve samosas, fish fingers, cheese, crackers, sushi and other nice little finger food. that's when it gets crowded in the clubhouse.

the hotel pool is nice and they even have regular water polo and other activities arranged. the beach is rather dull but the surf was good while we were there. there are plenty of surf board rental places and a few surf schools just outside the hotel on the beach.

location-wise, its close to the legian shops and stuff. but it was too far to walk to kuta square - cab is a better option, especially in the day.

all in all, i had a great experience there. but i think i would probably go check out other hotels the next trip.

  • Liked — clubhouse access
  • Disliked — long long walk to our room. was lost the first day try to get to our room!
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank loulou_in_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2008

I stayed at the Padma for 7 nights in November. Probably the main highlight of the Padma was the excellent buffet breakfast and the friendly service - I can't fault the service.

Dissappointly I arrived to find the Deluxe Chalet was not available for the first night despite having booked some months ago. I was changed to a superior room and compensated with massage and dinner for two. When finally moved to the chalet late the next day I was a bit dissapointed that it was located at the boundary to the property - some slight traffic noise. Room was nice, bathroom great but the outdoor area not particularly pleasant to sit in and lot's of mozzies.

The "free" dinner was a little dissapointing as we booked for later in the evening and the buffet was pretty much at the end - staff were very pleasant though.

If I had my time again I would not bother paying extra money for the chalet as I think the superior room (short of the bathroom) was actually nicer and probably represented better value for money.

The pool area is very nice and would be great for a family with kids with plenty of activities.

The hotel is well located in Legian.

Whilst I think the Padma was reasonable I am not sure I am would book again given the opportunity to try something else.

  • Liked — Location, Breakfast, Service
  • Disliked — Room type booked unavailable, large and impersonal
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank mnsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2008

We (2 adults and 2 young kids) recently returned from a trip to Bali, and had the pleasure of staying at the Hotel Padma for 8 days. Everything about this hotel was perfect, from the rooms, to the food, and the staff and breakfast. Could not fault it. The pool was huge and the grounds are immaculate. Would stay there again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussiefamily_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Legian
0.3 mi away
Legian Beach Hotel
Legian Beach Hotel
#15 of 87 in Legian
2,309 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bali Mandira Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Pullman Bali Legian Nirwana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Stones Hotel - Legian Bali, Autograph Collection
2.2 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 146 in Seminyak
3,339 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Padma Resort Legian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Padma Resort Legian

Property: Padma Resort Legian
Address: Jl. Padma no. 1, Legian 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Bali > Legian
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Legian
#1 Business Hotel in Legian
#2 Spa Hotel in Legian
#2 Romantic Hotel in Legian
#2 Luxury Hotel in Legian
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Legian
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Padma Resort Legian 5*
Number of rooms: 432
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Padma Resort Legian is previously known as Padma Resort Bali at Legian. Acclaimed as a five-star art sanctuary, Padma Resort Legian is a serene paradise under the dancing shadows of the renowned Legian sunset. Just steps away from the traditional art and fashion market of Legian street, the resort is a sanctuary at one with nature. Spaciously set within a romantic 6.8-hectare garden landscape, the resort provides comfortable accommodation, world-class facilities and the celebrated Balinese hospitality that promise wonderful stays for discerning travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Padma Resort Legian reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Padma Resort Bali At Legian Hotel Legian
Padma Hotel Bali Legian
Hotel Padma Bali
Padma Bali
Bali Padma
Padma Resort Legian Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing